We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite accomodation!”
Review of Hout Bay Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hout Bay Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite accomodation!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is Simply one of my favourite places. The furnishing are truly beautiful and the realxing atmosphere adds to a great relaxing environment.
Friendly staff and wonderful food make this a must for anyone wanting to experience a little African Luxury!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    28
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
76
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jhb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The facilities are beautiful, the setting tranquil and the staff exceptional! Total value for money, thank you for an amazing stay, we will definitely recommend Hout Bay Manor to any travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I went with 2 friends last Friday to Pure for lunch. We couldn't find any fault, from the setting, the service, the food and the incredible value for money. The dinner menu is a bit pricier. It was a pity that they didn't have more guests. I tried to post a comment under Hout Bay Restaurant, but pure is not even listed there. Pure is a perfect place for locals and tourists for lunch, we will be back to taste the dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a one night stay at Hout Bay Manor Hotel as a special treat on my husbands birthday, and what a treat it was to stay at this stunning hotel!! The staff are excellent, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are beautifully decorated and a real effort was made by all to make our stay as comfortable as possible, and there's a lovely spa for relaxing :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A beautiful spot in leafy Hout Bay; nice and mostly spacious rooms, very nice restaurant attached ("Pure"), nice staff and interesting design features in the whole house. Would go there again anytime!

Room Tip: All are equally nice :) Town is quiet, so no difference whether out front or out back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prime01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Our one night stay in the beautiful Hout Bay Manor Hotel was a complete treat. We were greeted by a genial doorman in the car park, and led through the pretty gardens to the reception desk, where the staff couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful

The Hotel is nestled to one side of Hout Bay, a great location, and within easy strolling distance of the well maintained beach.

The eclectic African décor, a feast for the eyes, and the suite that we stayed in was beautifully appointed, and furnished with every possible comfort.


Highly recommended to anyone wanting a touch of elegance and class.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetown
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My wife and a friend stayed at this hotel and she was absolutely delighted and was raving about the hotel and staff. She nagged me to experience the joy of staying there as well. So I gave in and I can as such support her claim of it being one of the best hotels she ever stayed in. This hotel is also rated one of the 100 most beautiful hotels in the world.

So in closing we will be returning customers.

Feel free to view photos on the internet

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
469 reviews
6.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
6.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay Manor

Property: Hout Bay Manor
Address: Baviaanskloof, off Main Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hout Bay Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Manor, built in 1871, is renowned as one of Cape Town’s most graceful landmarks. The recently restored Hout Bay Manor offers 20 individually designed en-suite rooms and a sophisticated fine dining restaurant named ‘Pure.’ Hout Bay Manor, protected by century-old oak trees, was built from stone (600mm thick walls) and in traditional Cape Colonial style by Jacob Trautmann on an unspoiled piece of land, which had previously been part of the Kronendal Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hout Bay Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay Manor South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing