We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully renovated classic old Cape-stye property”
Review of Hout Bay Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hout Bay Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated classic old Cape-stye property”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Smallish hotel, old manor style Cape homestead that has been meticulously renovated to five star standards The rooms are thoughtfully done, albeit the standard rooms a little smaller than one would expect Lots and lots of attention to small details like hats on the recliners at the pool area and great attentive service all round The restaurants are very good ie one breakfast area and a fine dining one right next door Staff are genuinely helpful and eager to please with all kinds of local information, recommendations on hand etc Hout Bay is a way from the main action in Cape Town but is a destination village in itself You will need a car rental or chauffeur driven to get around as the location is stand alone and only the small town of Hout Bay and the local beach are accessible on foot. This is a great location for a Cape Town and environs base for daily sightseeing and exploration of all the amazing local sights and attractions

Room Tip: 2nd floor superior room or better as standard rooms are quite small Pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    26
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
75
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hout Bay Manor Hotel for the last two weeks. We had a fantastic time. The second you walk in, everything from the bar, to the hallway, is laid out to perfection. Very artistic, warm and instantly makes you feel at home. In addition to the esthetics of the hotel, the restaurant’s food is excellent and the staffs are wonderful. Starting from the guys that welcome you when you park your car, to the breakfast staff, and everyone else in between, nothing is impossible, they'll try to accommodate whatever demands thrown at them. A true 5 star. Just excellent. What a delightful find in beautiful Cape Town! Unfortunately I didn't use the spa but knowing the staff, i can be confident it's very good. As for fitness, i know 5 min walk there's a gym that one can use if interested.

Room Tip: Rooms are big so any of the rooms are excellent. My husband and I did some exercise in our room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed for one night for a party in the area. Was extremely impressed with the overall feel of the hotel. Very good, personalised service. Rooms were quirkily but tastefully decorated, as was the rest of the hotel. I could have spent the night in the bar (but alas were expected elswhere) as it's a gem of a room. Will have to try to find a reason, soon, to spend another night (or two) in this amazing hotel...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Many things an be overlooked when the service and environment are right.

Fortunately this is one hotel where everything is great, the service is excellent and atmosphere is warm and welcoming.

What really makes this hotel stand out for me is the unexpected extras that you just don't get at a commercial hotel.

The hand written welcome card, the greeting by name, the little chocolate Almonds in the candy jars in the halls.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Myself and two colleagues stayed at the Hout Bay Manor for 6 nights, using the hotel as a base for our meetings around the western cape.

Arriving at the hotel in the evening, we were made very welcome by all the staff. The hotel has style, charm and a very old Africa feel to it. My room was great and at the end of a corridor (so no passing traffic) which was perhaps far too peaceful to entice me out of bed in the morning.

The room had a very effective air conditioning unit, I also had a remote control for lights on my room key (once I had worked out what it was). The bed was large and comfortable, however note that many rooms are twin beds pushed together to look like a big four poster. Bathroom very nicely laid out and all essentials provided.

Every night there was a "bedtime story" and the next days weather forecast left on the bed, as well as a special treat.

The only struggle I had was finding suitable power outlets for my laptop / ipad etc, there is power but it is not necessarily in a suitable place. Internet is available and is free if you are a guest, however their internet provider is not too good and many mornings we struggled to get internet. I have still marked the hotel as excellent as everything else in the hotel was better than excellent.

Breakfasts were fantastic, great selection and your hot food is cooked to order and excellent coffee served.

We ate in PURE, the hotel restaurant and the experience was fantastic with an excellent menu, very well prepared / served food and wine.

Outside swimming pool is nicely heated to 25 degrees, it isn't huge but very nice. Outside showers by the pool, recliners, fresh towels and pool service.

As we were driving to meetings each day, it was nice the front of house staff cleared the road for us to leave and cleared the road and helped us park each night.

The Bar is small and stylish and we used quite a lot and went through Lucas and Bruce's cocktail menu often.

The hotel is in safe walking distance to the beach, bars and other restaurants as well as minutes from Chapmans Peak Drive.

Although we used the hotel as a base for business, I think it is far more a romantic retreat (somewhere I would go not for work!) and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, however when walking to my room I walked past room number 5 (onto a wooden floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneWayorReturnPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This was our third stay at The Hout Bay Manor where we are made to feel like remembered and treasured guests. The boutique hotel decor is exquisite (a mixture of colonial styling meets vibrant joyful African art and colours), as is the warmth, professionalism and friendliness of the staff.

The food is always excellent and beautifully presented, the wine list superb and the swimming pool is heavenly warm and inviting. All in all, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I've travelled a lot!

I can't wait to get back for our next visit......it feels like coming home!

Room Tip: Book a room with an outdoor alfresco shower on the tiny, enclosed and very private patio from your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazelm504221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

first contact was with Amanda, front of house, delightfully helpful and fun... booked for one night but ended up staying for 7!! Wonderful hotel, staff amazing. The hotel was quiet as it was October and we were treated like royalty. I had been ill the week before our stay and chef even prepared a special broth for me.. Everything about this hotel was first class. The jars of sweets, baskets of water and fruit and champagne for breakfast, all made for a restful stay. Nicholas was always on hand to help as were all the staff. Loved it!!

Room Tip: Recommend the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
6.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay Manor

Property: Hout Bay Manor
Address: Baviaanskloof, off Main Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hout Bay Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Manor, built in 1871, is renowned as one of Cape Town’s most graceful landmarks. The recently restored Hout Bay Manor offers 20 individually designed en-suite rooms and a sophisticated fine dining restaurant named ‘Pure.’ Hout Bay Manor, protected by century-old oak trees, was built from stone (600mm thick walls) and in traditional Cape Colonial style by Jacob Trautmann on an unspoiled piece of land, which had previously been part of the Kronendal Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hout Bay Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay Manor South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing