We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hout Bay Manor”
Review of Hout Bay Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hout Bay Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We've stayed at the Hout Bay Manor many times. Every stay is memorable. The hotel is beautiful. The staff are very warm and friendly and professional. The food is fresh and very good. What a special place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have not stayed in the hotel part but use their dining & bar facilities frequently. The staff are excellent & the décor is done with lots of authentic African pieces giving it a quality atmosphere & feel. Great place for sundowners & they usually have some sort of happy hour specials be it tapas or drinks. Pleasant courtyard to sit in the shade & enjoy good company. Lucas & Bruce are excellent staff & enjoy a good joke or wind up.... makes it even better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishIWasSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We “bought” a night’s stay at the Houtbay Manor Hotel at a charity auction event. With a hectic travel schedule it took us nearly five months to find a suitable date for our stay and in the end that date also posed a problem as we were invited to attend another event later on. I was under the impression that I changed the original booking to a day earlier (I planned to, but never did it!). So when we arrived at the hotel on Friday night, the friendly receptionist told us that they expected us only the next night. We were definitely not looking forward to driving back home and were delighted when she told us that it was no problem – they could accommodate us!
This welcome was a true reflection of the reception and hospitality you will get at Houtbay Manor. I can also add that it might get lost if you were so overwhelmed by the stunning decor and unique character of the hotel as we were. We could not stop looking around and “oohing” and “ahhing” during the short tour of the hotel.
Our room was upstairs and had a beautiful view over the pool and which we did not get to enjoy due to lasft minute Cape Town winter weather! We did however enjoy our stunning room. A wonderful combination of African elements mixed with modern art and special touches, like the colourful beach goodies on the walls. Of course, the huge jars filled with marshmallows and liquorice placed strategically throughout the hotel were seriously tempting and also added a fun moment of being naughty and risking getting caught with your hand in the jar!
Unfortunately, Pure restaurant was closed due to a wedding, so we opted for the Houtbay Food Market. However, when we got there it was packed to we decided to hang out with the Pirates, because we heard they made the best spare ribs in town. The Pirate Pub and Grill has no great views and is located in one of the busy streets, but it lived up to its reputation. The restaurant was fully booked so we had dinner in the pub with all the locals! The food was outstanding – huge portions at great prices. Loved the spareribs and my husband was defeated by the pirates because he could not finish his rib and steak combo!
We had a nice long run on the beach on Saturday morning – the hotel is just a block away from the beach and finished our stay off with a great breakfast. The continental buffet included decadent home made muesli (of which I tried to get the recipe, but apparently it is the chef’s secret!), huge slices of smoked trout, variety of great pastries and breads and exotic fresh fruit. After eating all of that we could not say no to the Eggs Benedict and it was worth every extra kilojoule!

Thanx to all at Houtbay Manor Hotel for a wonderful stay and thank you for supporting so many good causes and charities!

PS : Only disappointment was not being able to visit the spa. I sent an email to the spa address on the website earlier in the week requesting a couples treatment on our arrival. I did not get any response to my email and when I phoned the Thursday to check on my email, I was told that the spa was fully booked. Will have to come back for that special!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at your wonderful hotel for the weekend 12/13 October 2013 and had a wonderful stay. The receptionist and porter made us feel right at home with their friendliness and helpfulness. My husband and I loved the peaceful atmosphere of your hotel. Thank you.

Bella Bailey

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Although the weather was not on our side - we had an amazing stay at Hout Bay Manor. The staff were attentive, friendly and accommdating; and the rooms were unique and very well fitted out. The only thing I would change would be to remove the plates on the table at the top of the stairs, you felt you made a lot of noise walking by there as they clanged.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annike2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houtbaymanor, Manager at Hout Bay Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Annike,

Thank you very much for your review of our property! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you also for your constructive comments - we will certainly take this into consideration.

Best regards from Hout Bay Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Wow this hotel is in a league of it's own. The decor is out of this world, the attention to detail is wonderful. I lobbed the pool area sipping on drinks on the sun beds. The lady in reception wasn't very welcoming maybe having a bad day. The breakfast was great, nice hot English brekkie.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a very disappointing meal at Pure earlier tonight, The restaurant was deserted, (no wonder) the service was sloppy (we were pouring our own wine and waited an age) as were the staff uniforms, (hoodies??) the waiters too familiar, and the meal was far less than we expected - an entirely unsatisfactory experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rodtheway2pay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
503 reviews
12.5 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
307 reviews
6.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
352 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay Manor

Address: Baviaanskloof, off Main Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range: £138 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hout Bay Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Manor, built in 1871, is renowned as one of Cape Town’s most graceful landmarks. The recently restored Hout Bay Manor offers 20 individually designed en-suite rooms and a sophisticated fine dining restaurant named ‘Pure.’ Hout Bay Manor, protected by century-old oak trees, was built from stone (600mm thick walls) and in traditional Cape Colonial style by Jacob Trautmann on an unspoiled piece of land, which had previously been part of the Kronendal Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hout Bay Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay Manor South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing