We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tarragon
Ranked #3 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Beautiful setting, the perfect place to arrive on your first day.
Nicely furnished cottage and well equipped (including a good selection of DVDs). Great garden and pool. It almost seemed a shame to be out and about sometimes.
Mark very welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended, can't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
287
150
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our 2nd stay at The Tarragon (Silverweed and then Ivy) - we can't recommend the properties enough! The location is perfect for exploring Cape Town, Constantia, Cape Point, Hout Bay, Nordhoek, Chapmans Peak etc. Hout Bay itself is a great place to be based - lovely beach, great restaurants, World of Birds on the doorstep and easy to get everywhere else we wanted to explore. We have 2 children aged 7 and 10 and they loved The Tarragon - the pool, the hammock,the play area, lawn and gardens were all perfect and toys left in their bedroom for them were perfect for a bit of pre-bedtime play after all their exploring and adventuring. Mark was an excellent host giving us great recommendations on places to go - with Groot Constantia, Dunes and Harbour House at Kalk Bay all being well worth a visit. The cottage itself (Ivy) is lovely - stylish, beautifully clean and with everything you could need in self catering accommodation. If you are heading to Cape Town I would definitely recommend staying here - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchinson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were looking for accommodation for our wedding in Hout Bay on 21st March 2014. We found the Tarragon and what a find it was. The location was wonderful , peaceful and the rooms were of a high standard . We recommended it to our friends and family and it was fully booked out by them. Mark & Julia were extremely helpful in assiting our friends and family settle in and give tips on where to visit and eat in the surrounding area. We could have not been happier with the comments back to us about how comfortable our guests were made feel in the Tarragon. When we return to Hout bay we are definitely going to stay here for a few days.

Thanks Mark and Julia for making all our friends and family most welcome.

Barry & Nikki :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to stay, rooms are great and very clean. The staff is charming. They have a superb swimming pool and an amazing garden. Very quiet and super safe. We travel with three kids and they really loved it. We can only recommend this lovely place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geap64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had the most wonderful experience with our stay at The Taragon. We went there hoping we had chosen a nice location and we came away with a wow feeling. The location was incredibly beautiful, the facilities were excelent and the staff could not do enough for us during our stay. We couldn't be happier that we chose to spend our holiday to Cape Town at the beautiful Tarragon and cannot recommend it enough!

Room Tip: For up to 6 people Angelica is a stunning house with a large patio area and bbq facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadhbh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at The Tarragon for four nights in mid March. As it was our first time in Cape Town and South Africa, we were not sure what to expect, but we had no need to worry. As soon as we arrived we relaxed into our beautiful surroundings. Our house was spotless and really comfortable with everything we needed.

It was great to be able to swim in the pool after a day of sightseeing, and what a view.... stunning!

Huge thank you to Mark for making us feel so welcome and to all the staff for being so helpful and always with a smile on their faces. You really made our first (definitely not our last) trip to Cape Town very special. Hopefully see you all soon.

Room Tip: Pick any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDnumber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We loved the tarragon, the location was great, the rooms lovely and pool area was fab! The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. The staff cleaned our rooms every day and Mark and Julia were exceptional hosts. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuzzyBeeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
2.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
249 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Property: The Tarragon
Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing