We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Worldwide Hidden Gem”
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tarragon
Ranked #3 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Worldwide Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We have travelled extensively to many countries and many luxury hotels around the globe. To date, we have never found that special secret we felt needed to be shared with our fellow travellers. Until now.
Voted #9 Hidden Gem WORLDWIDE by TripAdvisor's Traveller's Choice Awards 2008, this place has a lot to stand up to. And stand up it does. We stayed in an elegant and contemporary three bedroom cottage – with outdoor BBQ and every amenity. Our two kids loved the swimming pool, playground, hammock and feeding the hundreds of koi fish in the pond. Mark was wonderful at taking time to unveil all the areas’ secrets, including a great Thai restaurant, the best beach café, baboon hikes, whale watching, gem hunts, a cheetah outreach center and loads of stellar wineries, farms and unique shopping opportunities. A week proved just too short. Ideally situated and nestled in the beautiful hills of Hout Bay, with friendly staff and owners which go the extra mile to help with your every need – there is nothing lacking.
At the end of our stay, we seriously pondered on selling our house and moving to this wonderfully relaxed treasure spot. The best value for money in the country. Certainly for us and even for TripAdvisor – it is truly one of the world’s best ‘Hidden Gems’!
The Blättlers, Switzerland

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
287
150
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Superb location, wonderfully relaxing and comfortable cottages.
Met by the owners and personally shown around, with recommendations for things to do and places to eat. Taxi ordered for us.
2 very well appointed double rooms en suite with doors onto terrace and fine views of the mountains.
20 mins into Cape Town.
10 mins to Hout Bay with beach and bars.
10 mins to wonderful restaurants in the Constantia area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

The Tarragon overlooking Hout Bay is delightful. Stylish, roomy, private and extremely well equipped. Owners, Mark and Julia Fleming and their staff are just great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilWragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Rooms a good size and nicely furnished - including DVD player for the teens :), lovely bathrooms. All very clean. Linen changed 3 times in the week we stayed!
Mark's restaurant tips were all super - and his advice to take the coast road back from Hermanus was the best. This drive easily rivals Chapman's Peak - and much quieter.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed for two nights at The Tarragon last September. The estate is wonderfully located on the hill slopes in a green environment. Ideal for relaxing and for discovering the Cape Town area. The cottages themselves are beautifully furbished and Julia is a most charming landlady. We would 100% sure return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno_DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I can only join in in the raving reveiws of the other travellers. The garden is beautiful, the view across Hout Bay and the mountains is fantastic. Mark and Julia were most welcoming, offering advice on good family-friendly restaurants and places to visit. The apartment is beautifully decorated, the stone tiled bathroom is luxurious, the little touches like milk in the fridge and a bottle of bubbly on arrival are great and the apartment offers everything you may need for a comfortable stay. The jungle playground, the fish in the pond and plenty of DVD’s in the office kept our four-year old well entertained. The drive down to the bay is about 5-minutes. There are plenty of restaurants and shops. We loved Dunes and its great playground right on the beach. Cape Town centre is around 15-20 minutes drive away. Constantia vineyards and Kirstenbosh gardens are just around the corner. It is a true retreat away from the hassle and bustle of the city, set in a peaceful and beautiful environment. I wish we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherwivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Tarragon, wonderful surroundings, friendly staff and beautiful pool area. The cottage was perfect with a lovely terrace. An amazing place and very reasonable for the standard, we'll definitely return.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank London_Calls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
2.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
249 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Property: The Tarragon
Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing