We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet piece of paradise”
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tarragon
Ranked #3 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet piece of paradise”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

'The Tarragon was a delightful piece of paradise for us to spend our holidays in Cape Town, a true home from home. Our hosts, Mark and Julia, were both generous and extremely hospitable, nothing was too much for them to do to make our stay both enjoyable and comfortable. The accommodation was exceptional. During our three week stay we were fortunate to have the opportunity to stay in two different cottages,the Ivy and Angelica .Each was different but equally well equipped, beautifully furnished and practically layed-out .The grounds were safe and lush with stunning views out over the valley. Our 16 month old daughter loved to amble in the garden, swim in the pool, and feed the Koi.The Tarragon staff were a wonderful asset- warm, friendly and efficient. And to top it all, the Tarragon is well located with restaurants, beach and all modern conveniences witin 5 to 10 minutes driving distance. I would highly recommend the Tarragon to anyone wanting to enjoy a fabulous hassle free holiday.'

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
287
150
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed with 6 friends at the Tarragon, Hout Bay, Cape Town and it was amazing! Very nice view and the best service during our stay at South Africa.
From the Netherlands we'll recommend the Tarragon and thank you Mark, Julia and staff for the great service.

Desiree and Hans
Haarlem, the Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at the Tarragon for 5 nights after reading Trip Advisor. No regrets at all. Excellent service. The hosts were gracious enough to even put their kids' toys in our room seeing our little kids! You need a car though to go around. There are markets etc nearby. We will stay here again next time.

Rooms were very clean. There were some minor problems that were immediately sorted out when we brought it to the attention of the hosts. There is also a wide amount of information available at the office on things to do in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiramits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We really enjoyed our time at the Tarragon. The setting is great being within easy reach of so many of the Cape's attractions. The accommodation is brilliant - comforatble, well equipped and beautifully serviced. Mark, Julia and their lovely staff made us extremely welcome and were so helpful. The whole place has a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. The apartments are lovely but the garden is a gem. We really enjoyed the pool and stunning views but also valued the convenience of nearby shops , beaches and restaurants. This is a great place and I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrecktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The Tarragon certainly lived up to its great reputation. My wife and I stayed in the self-catering Saffron cottage for a week. Everything was just perfect—nice kitchen, great bed and setting area, just the right size bathroom (big shower), and super outside patio (with a great view). It was quiet, the room was nicely made up everyday, and Mark was a super host. We really enjoyed being out of Cape Town proper in Hout Bay. It seemed country like, but there is plenty to do around and near Hout Bay. This is where we will be staying on our next visit to the Western Cape.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcquests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooran
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

What a magnificant place! If you come for a holiday to Cape Town and don't need the hustle and bustle of the inner city look no further than The Tarragon in Hout Bay. Having just had 30 hours travelling time under our belt coming from Australia, our cottage (Angelica) was ready before the usual check in time. Thank you! Our stay was a divine experience and I would not even bother looking anywhere else. Lots of space, cleaniness, tastefulness, comfort and great hospitality are all attributes that fit perfectly. I even enjoyed cooking during my holiday in that wonderful kitchen. The website does not lie, everything is exactly how you see it. Uli Odling & family, Cooran/Australia

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uli4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We spent six nights here and found it a fabulous, tranquil gateway.

The cottages are spacious and simply but elegantly decorated. There is plenty of storage space in the bedrooms and the huge beds are very comfortable. And there is wireless internet access.

The kitchen is well equipped to enable you to cook for yourself – and there are a few BBQ facilities around. The supermarket is not too far away. We even had some friends over for dinner on the terrace. The estate is located on a hillside on a private (guarded) road and we felt very secure.

The gardens and pool are well laid out and have a fantastic view over the village and the mountains behind. Even though you share these areas with other guests, there is plenty of space and you never feel too enclosed and we hardly saw anyone.

While Hout Bay is quieter than some of the other suburbs there are plenty of places to eat within easy driving distance. It is also within easy reach of some great beaches.

The hosts are very helpful and friendly – around if you need them, but they let you have your own space. We had our 3 month old baby with us and they were able to provide a cot bed for him. The office is full of lots of information on what to do in Capetown and beyond.

Overall this was a delightful, relaxing place to stay with a young family and I would love to come back here soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roving12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
248 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Property: The Tarragon
Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing