We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect celebration”
Review of Hout Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hout Bay View
Ranked #27 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I celebrated my 40th birthday here and the hosts Andrew and Brian, could not have been more attentive. We just loved the atmosphere, the room and the friendly service. They also took the time to recommended places to eat and visit, which made our stay there just perfect. We also got to play with their dogs which made as feel quite at home as we were missing ours terribly! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adoreanimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

I booked a week at Hout Bay View on a trip down for a friends birthday. I had a room at the front, which had views over the valley to the mountains from the windows and there we also great views from the main sun terrace at the front over to the mountains and to the harbour.

The location is safe and secure and in a quiet area up one side of the valley. From arrival to leaving, the staff and management were very helpful with a really good knowledge of the area and capetown proper and had lots of information about where to go and what to see. The rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy, the beds very comfortable and Sku (the housekeeper) seemed to have a nack of being able to service my room without me ever seeing her do it - the whole experience was very restful and unintrusive.

The breakfasts were very tastey and a good start to the day and the owners/managers gave me good recommendations where to eat out for lunch and dinner. Overall, a great time in Hout Bay at a lovely guesthouse, I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: all rooms have something to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisWOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This guesthouse boasts a fantastic view over Hout Bay (the Atlantic ocean and the mountains)... The building is modern and situated in a peaceful suburb. The room is cosy (in opther words not very big) and the bathroom had a basin toilet and shower. No bath (which was unfortunate for my wife)... There was no aircon in the room, only a fan. we were also a bit dissappointed that breakfast only included cereal, toast and fruit in other words a continental oneof the public holiday (21 March '11) - apparently they normally do serve a full English breakfast, like we expected to get. Upon enquiry, we were informed that it was because There is also a stylish swimming pool. The price is reasonable for what you get - we paid R800 for the room per night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Wow, what an awesome trip to South Africa, with our final week guests of Andrew & Brian at Hout Bay view. Fantastic and friendly service. Comfortable rooms and exquisite views. They really added the cherry to our stay in South Africa. Thanks so much for everything.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobyMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We loved our stay at Hout Bay View, Andrew, Brian and their staff were very friendly and welcoming, the rooms and guest areas were very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. There is a lovely patio were you can light some candles and enjoy a drink overlooking the fishing village and bay. There is also a large spa with lounge chairs in a quiet, private and sheltered area, which was great for catching up on our reading. Our breakfasts were the perfect start to the day, with cereals, juices and fruit served on a small buffet and included a hot plated dish. The service was always so genuine and friendly. Thank you Andrew and Brian for looking after us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I discovered this B&B a couple of years ago and have stayed there at least 8 times now.
The location is ideal. All the rooms are meticulously maintained and the hosts and staff are simply fabulous. The breakfasts (included in the rate) are 5 star and the breakfast menu rotates daily. The facilities are outstanding and the gardens are beautiful. Even when I am on business and have meetings in Cape Town I prefer to stay at this B & B in lieu of a city hotel. 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antmat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

A large group of us stayed here for a few days - we occupied more than half of the guesthouse rooms. The rooms were disappointingly small, apart from the 2 main ones (ask for these if you stay there - number 1 and 2), and they were also very sparsely furnished and basic.

The views may be spectacular, but there are many other places in Hout Bay with nice views, and perhaps friendlier staff. We had issues with the bookings through the owner, and issues with the final bill - we were overcharged, wrongly so, with no apology. The computer systems seem to override rational reasoning here.

Breakfasts were standard, and the jacuzzi gave all of us electric shocks!

All in all, look elsewhere in Hout Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#28 of 59 in Hout Bay
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brightwater Lodge
Brightwater Lodge
#21 of 59 in Hout Bay
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#7 of 59 in Hout Bay
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chapman's Peak Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £65 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay View South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing