We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are much better places available in the area..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hout Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hout Bay View
Ranked #25 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There are much better places available in the area..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

From a three week trip all over South Africa, this was by far the worst accommodation!

It is very overpriced for what you get, we booked a room for 4 people and it was in fact a room with one double bed and couch which they extended so they they can fit 2 more! Unfortunately we had booked and paid in advance for several nights, so we tried to get a better room, but this was not possible..we only received an extra mattress for the couch..

Also, some of my friends staying there, as well as another group which was accommodated there, they got sick from the breakfast food...The jacuzzi was super dirty, and overall the location looks much less impressive than we expected based on the pictures on its website..

Management was also not too friendly, I would advise you to look for a better accommodation when in Cape Town!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Hello .
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hout Bay View. We are sorry that on this occasion your review was negative and we have closely read it to see where there are ,if any areas for improvement.

We note that some of your group who stayed in the same accommodation at the same time have also offered a review which is similar to yours. We have replied at length to these and refer you to them.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Very best regards

Bryan harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    7
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
51
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

My partner and I stayed at Hout Bay View for five nights, to celebrate our anniversary. We felt really pampered from the moment we arrived – a warm welcome and the best room we could ever wish for, with a view to die for, looking out across Hout Bay to Chapman’s Peak Drive. The bathroom was amazing – with a walk-in shower – and the king-size bed was enormous and very comfortable.

While we were out and about for much of the day, this guesthouse has all the facilities you might need – lounge area, internet access, terrace with magnificent view, and a small swimming pool when you fancied cooling off. And the room was spotless every day on our return!

We found Bryan’s attention to detail second to none, and were really grateful for all his advice and information on Hout Bay and the Cape Peninsula. The service provided by his staff was also very good – unobtrusive, but attentive.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would certainly recommend it to visitors to the Cape Town area. It felt more like a home than a hotel, and this really suited us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

If you disregard the price, this is an ok hotel with ok rooms (although extremely small bathrooms). It is just EXTREMELY overpriced. The breakfast varies slightly every day but most days it was really not good and 3 people in our group of 6 fell ill from the breakfast.

The service was extremely bad and unaccomodating from the management (not the waiters, they were ok even though they didn't understand English very well). Even though we asked in advance, We were refused breakfast 15 minutes before the ordinary breakfast time although we really had to leave early n the morning.

The cleanness of the rooms was ok, but the pools, especially the jacuzzi was under all critique and not even I (who am normally not too picky with cleanness) would never enter the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetraPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear Petra pea and fellow guests

Thank you for your review of your time you stayed with us at Hout Bay View.

We are very sorry that there are certain aspects of your stay that you did not enjoy when you stayed with us at Hout Bay View . We always work very hard to make all our guests as comfortable as possible. You may have been more comfortable occupying standard double rooms but you were clear during the booking process that you wanted to occupy the family rooms.

The bathrooms are equipped with all modern amenities and we are sorry you did not like them.

South Africa has a rich culture of many languages. Our staff try very hard to please our guests.
If on occasion there is difficulty in understanding all we ask is a a little patience and a repeat of the request so the staff may attend to making your stay as comfortable as possible.

We are please to offer a full breakfast or a continental or a health breakfast each morning of guests stay. The fruit is always freshly cut and we offer percolated coffee and a variety of teas. We are happy to accommodate all requests concerning religious or personal tastes. It is sometimes difficult to accommodate early breakfast timings as the staff do not begin work until 7.00 in the morning. For this reason we offer the in room facility of tea and coffee to ensure that guests leaving very early have an opportunity for a warm drink before they leave. To state that our breakfasts were responsible for illness within your group is disappointing as at no time during your stay with us did you you make any representation to the management about you concerns. So we are unable to comment further in this respect.

The pool is cleaned by the staff regularly for guests to enjoy. During the month of November the winds in the cape penisular are particularly strong and deposits of sand are found from time to time. We will make every effort to ensure that this does not prevent the enjoyment of guests. Unfortunately the jacuzzi has been unservicable and closed for use by our guests. It is unfortunate that your stay corresponded to this time. we apologise for this shortfall.

We believe our prices to be very competitive within the Hout Bay Area. We do not offer a hotel atmosphere as you stated but more of a guest house ambiance which has pleased our guests for the last few years.

Travelling in large groups can be difficult . we did all we could to make each of your group feel welcome and comfortable and are sincerley sorry that you felt moved to write such negative review without offering us any chance to hear your views whilst you were here.

All reviews are helpful and we thank you for yours. We will take your feedback and look to see if any improvements need to be made

Thank you once again and seasons greetings and very best regards to you and your fellow guests.

Bryan harris

Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I celebrated my 40th birthday here and the hosts Andrew and Brian, could not have been more attentive. We just loved the atmosphere, the room and the friendly service. They also took the time to recommended places to eat and visit, which made our stay there just perfect. We also got to play with their dogs which made as feel quite at home as we were missing ours terribly! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adoreanimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

I booked a week at Hout Bay View on a trip down for a friends birthday. I had a room at the front, which had views over the valley to the mountains from the windows and there we also great views from the main sun terrace at the front over to the mountains and to the harbour.

The location is safe and secure and in a quiet area up one side of the valley. From arrival to leaving, the staff and management were very helpful with a really good knowledge of the area and capetown proper and had lots of information about where to go and what to see. The rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy, the beds very comfortable and Sku (the housekeeper) seemed to have a nack of being able to service my room without me ever seeing her do it - the whole experience was very restful and unintrusive.

The breakfasts were very tastey and a good start to the day and the owners/managers gave me good recommendations where to eat out for lunch and dinner. Overall, a great time in Hout Bay at a lovely guesthouse, I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: all rooms have something to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

This guesthouse boasts a fantastic view over Hout Bay (the Atlantic ocean and the mountains)... The building is modern and situated in a peaceful suburb. The room is cosy (in opther words not very big) and the bathroom had a basin toilet and shower. No bath (which was unfortunate for my wife)... There was no aircon in the room, only a fan. we were also a bit dissappointed that breakfast only included cereal, toast and fruit in other words a continental oneof the public holiday (21 March '11) - apparently they normally do serve a full English breakfast, like we expected to get. Upon enquiry, we were informed that it was because There is also a stylish swimming pool. The price is reasonable for what you get - we paid R800 for the room per night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Wow, what an awesome trip to South Africa, with our final week guests of Andrew & Brian at Hout Bay view. Fantastic and friendly service. Comfortable rooms and exquisite views. They really added the cherry to our stay in South Africa. Thanks so much for everything.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobyMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#26 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#5 of 23 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#28 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#11 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Property: Hout Bay View
Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay View South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing