We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hout Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hout Bay View
Ranked #25 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Having stayed at Hout Bay View with both my family and as a couple, i must say I am never dissapointed with the accomodation or the breakfast provided.
The room we had was fully air conditioned due to the position of the room which can get very warm in the summer months and slightly chilly in the winter evenings.
The breakfasts of fresh fruit, cereals or yoghurt with the option of a cooked breakfast to follow is a fabulous way to start your day.
Bryan and Andrew are magnificent hosts with a vast knowledge of the area and are always on hand to provide any advice on restaurants and local attractions.
The awesome view from the house is one of which i could never get tired of seeing. Be it of the mountains or the long sheltered beach of Hout Bay.
Apart from all this the house is very well positioned for nearby restaurants and shops or a short drive to Camps Bay or The Waterfont.
As I write tis review i am planing my next trip!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Hello Jeanette.

Thank you so much for your kind review of Hout Bay View.

It certainly was a pleasure to meet you again and we are humbled that you would choose Hout Bay View a second time.

We are always trying to update amenities here at the guest house and are glad you made use of the recently fitted air conditioning for the chilly winter evenings.

We thank you again for taking valuable time to write a review. As i say on many occasions it is advertising you simply cannot buy.

Very best regards

Bryan

P.s your comments on an alternative way of serving the juice in the morning has been recieved very well by other guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    7
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
51
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Benoni
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent five nights in the most stunning room with a fantastic view of mountains and sea. Brian and the staff were excellent we felt as if we were home from home! Very caring hosts who advised of places to see and restaurants to eat at. We will most certainly stay here again when we visit the Cape!

Room Tip: I think any room at Hout Bay View would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Hello Laura

Thank you so much for you kind words in your review.

Taking the time to express your satisfaction so that others may see is advertising we simply cannot buy.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back to our home.

Thank you once again for your kindness.

Regards

Bryan

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swellendam, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I and my elderly parents stayed at Hout Bay View for one night. The rooms had tasteful and comfortable furniture and were very clean and neat. We could sit on the patio till late at night, admiring the view of the mountains and out over the bay. It was also nice to sit there and watch Hout Bay wake up the next morning.

It was very quiet and tranquil at night. The breakfast of eggs, bacon and mushrooms was cooked according to each guest’s preference, with fresh juice and fruit salad, yogurt and cereal also available. It was a good start to the day, before going on one of Cape Town’s red bus tours. The owners were friendly, considerate and available to provide any assistance we required, which contributed to making our little holiday a memorable one.
We would certainly return to Hout Bay View if we needed accommodation in Hout Bay again at some point in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Valued guest

How kind it was to take time to review Hout Bay View after your stay with us.

Your comments are very welcome and we are humbled that you considered the guest house suitable for your family to stay.
Hout Bay View is not a hotel but simply accomodation in our home. It is doubly satisfying that you enjoyed the hospitality offered after reading the views of others on trip advisor and deciding to make your own opinion. which you choose to share with others.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hout Bay View at some time in the future.

Best regards

Bryan Harris
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This B&B is convenient to Hout Bay and has stunning views of the bay and mountains from the rooms. The decor and style is modern and nice. The downside was that there were too many keys for gates and doors and more gates that the keys were very cumbersome to carry and we spent too much time trying to figure out which key was for which door/gate, which became frustrating. The rooms looked very clean, however there was a musty smell that bothered us, that probably came from the bathroom tiles. The breakfast was a bit on the greasy side. The staff was average, not overly friendly, but were accommodating when we needed something. Overall an average experience, not my favorite, I would try a different B&B next time to see what other options are out there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very nuch indeed for taking the time to offer a review of Hout Bay View.

We appreciate both positive and hegative feedback to ensure that our business is always in tune with our guests needs. Thank you for your kind comments about the decor. We are very pleased with the overall atmosphere and guest comments suggest that you are satisfied too.

We are sorry you felt inconvenienced by the key fob. Obviously we need as many keys as there are locks. Privacy is paramount and of course security too.

with regard to your breakfast comments we are sure that had you mentioned any problems with breakfast on the day these could have been attended to. Your comments have been noted.Our staff are very eager to help. Of course english is not there first language but with a little patience they are very well recieved by the majority of our guests who stay.The tips for there service are testamment to this.

Hout bay is a wonderful place to visit and there are many options of accomodation available. We trust that if none other is available at such good value as Hout Bay View we may welcome you again to our home.

Thank you again for your comments and review.

Very best regards

Bryan Harris

Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I was asking for accomodation for four adults, sleeping in one double and two single beds.
Got offered a room with "both single beds and a double bed" in their "suite".

When we arrived, that "suite" turned out to be just an average room with one double-bed and a tiny sleeper-couch, not even made up as a bed...

Apart from the fact that the room was too small for four, there wouldn't have been enough space for four pieces of luggage if the sleeper couch was unfolded. It was absolutely impossible for four adults to share that room and also impossible for two adults to sleep on that little couch for five nights.

The solution they offered to our fellow travellers was a separate room for the first two nights, anoher B&B for the third night and again a different room at H.B.V. for the last two nights.

No apologies from their side, we even had to pay the balance between their rate and the rate of the foreign B&B for that one night...

I can judge three of their rooms:

- The so called suite is just a room, big enough for two and maybe one child, big sliding door, nice views facing to the east, boiling hot with the first sunrays.

- One room in the backyard: quite big, shady, a bit dark though, door to the patio is good to let some fresh air in.

- one room in the main building: big enough, two windows, but only very small sections to be opened, so no air, sticky and hot.

The breakfast was also disappointing. Miles away from "full English". We didn't even had the choice between sausage and bacon. No beans, no mushrooms, no fried tomatoes, cheap orange juice.

This place is overpriced and overrated.

Room Tip: best option would be their so called "suite" because of the views. But it's overpriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yankeeacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your stay here at Hout bay View.

During the booking process we asked you many times if you thought that a family suite might not be the most ideal accomodation for your party. We offered you the alternative accomodation but you were certain because the price was cheaper that you would take the suite. You were also very glad that because of your ailine affiliations with Lufthansa that we offered you a very generous discount on the final price.

It was apparent that on your arrival you had made the wrong choice and by chance we were able to offer you another suite to accomodate your fellow guests.. And we once again offered you a generous discount on the room option.

I myself made every effort to accomodate you with ALL of your requests. I oversaw all arrangements to ensure that your stay with us was trouble free and realaxed. To say that you recieved no help or assistance from our side is innacurate.

At no time during your stay did you request any of the items for breakfast that you mentioned on your review. Had any request been made it would have been actioned.Breakfast here at Hout bay View has always been held in high regard by fellow guests and we constantly recieve positive feedback.

The weather when you arrived was beautiful. I am sure you benefitted from the extra fans we placed in your rooms

We are truly sorry that you choose the wrong accomodation for your fellow guests. We did all we could to make your stay comfortable. Hout Bay is a beautiful place to visit and we can only hope that your accomodation difficulties did not stop you enjoying the local area and sights.

Thank you once again.

Very best regards

Bryan Harris
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I must recommend Hout Bay View to anyone visiting Cape Town. It is situated above Hout Bay and surrounded by mountains. The guest house is owned by two lovely guys who will make sure you have a welcome stay. Breakfast can be taken on the terrace or in the lounge. Fresh fruit is served and the menu changes daily.
The staff will be able to advise on places of interest and assist with any other inquires.
I shall defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjanetstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is a 3 star hotel and it provided me with one of the worst experiences of staying at a guesthouse I've had. I'm recently back from Vietnam where even 1 star hotels were more luxurious than this guesthouse, for 1/10 of the price per double room! This is ridiculous! Do look for something else if you have a chance!

I was one of the people who got foodpoisoning at the hotel, the experience was horrible, as it was a really bad one. Since in my group of friends there were only 3 of us who had it - the only ones who had yogurt that morning - we knew it couldn't have been from any other food nor any other place.

Besides this horrible experience, the rooms were nothing like what was promised - we stayed 7 people in two small double rooms, having only one double bed each, thus, 3 of us had to sleep on uncomfortable couches and this is a place that charges 40 Euro per person a night - thus 160 Euro for the double room accomodating 4 people - this is insane! Four star hotels in Europe are cheaper and much more luxurious - the owner has forgotten to do his research before setting such high prices! Also, he was tricky, not specifying what the accomodation will be like and making us pay in advance - so we couldn't get our money back. Do not pay in advance for all nights!

Very disappointing and surprising to see that this is rates so highly on tripadvisor. My advice - stay away from this guesthouse!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diamondsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hout Bay View. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Some of your group who stayed with us at the same time, in the same accommodation have also offered their comments, too which we have replied.

I refer you to these as your comments were of a similar nature.

Thank you once again for your review

Very best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#26 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#6 of 23 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#28 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#12 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Property: Hout Bay View
Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay View South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing