We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Message in a bottle..........”
Review of Hout Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hout Bay View
Ranked #26 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2013

What a rejuvenating experience. Treated like Royalty in this enchanted, drenched in calm establishment. With magic in every corner of this beautiful home. The rooms are fully equipped with fridge and TV. There is a complimentary tray with tea and coffee in your room. spacious shower with wrap around me forever towels. The linnen to die for. The views are beyond words. To restore yourself and be calm once more - The Perfect Getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear valued guest.

We are humbled to recieve such a warm review and very happy that you enjoyed the facilities for your getaway weekend. we work hard to maintain all our facilities so all guests can enjoy the calm and peaceful atmosphere here at Hout Bay View. We would certainly welcome you back should you need a break from the hussle and bussle of life and thank you again for your colouful and heartfelt review.

Best regards

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Very friendly owners and staff. Nice suite and a good breakfast. Hout Bay is a wonderful place. Very relaxed with good restaurants and shopping options. Good infracstructure to capetown. Close to stylish Camps Bay and Constantia Winery.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pithau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Valued guest.

Thank you for posting a review. The out lying areas around Cape town are sometimes overlooked so very timely that you add this information to your review.I am sure future guest will find the information valuable.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Hout Bay View has to be one of the finds of the Western Cape. Located a few miles south of Cape Town, this small and personal guest house is ideally located to give easy access to all of the regions attractions. A short drive to Table Mountain, on the edge of Chapmans Peak, an hour from the stunning wine regions - it could not be in a better position. The guest house itself is immaculate. My room was perfect, with a small fridge, TV and radio, and the best shower - always a winner!. The beds, and bedding, were also of the highest quality, as were the towels - small but very important touches. Breakfast served in the lounge area was a great chance to exchange recommendations with other guests, and the guest house grounds had been thoughtfully equipped with al fresco tables making the most of the stunning views. All the amenities of Hout Bay, including some great restaurants, alongside supermarkets and banks if needed, are all just a short walk away. All in all, a very relaxing 8 days, and Drew and Brian, along with their hard working staff, are the perfect hosts,

Room Tip: For a boutique guest house like this, all rooms will deliver - I was just off the main lounge, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank city1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for staying at Hout bay View and taking the time to post such a positive and informative review. Many of our guests have fed back that they look to trip advisor to get a feel for the establishment before booking so i feel that with your glowing review we stand in good stead to welcome many more guests to Hout Bay View.

May we thank you again and wish you a very Happy New Year.

Regards

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed in the "Hout Bay View" during our first few nights in the Cape Town area. A bit nervous (this was our first, but certainly not our last trip to South Africa), we were welcomed warmly by Andrew and his staff. The room was a bit small, but very well looked after, clean and tidy. Breakfast was served in a very friendly atmosphere in the lounge area. We were very happy with having chosen the Hout Bay View!

N.B. In case you wonder: Downtown Cape Town is approx. 25-35 minutes away, allow 40 minutes to the airport outside rushhour.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own access to the pool/patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Hello Kai

Thank you for your informative review of Hout Bay View. It is always gratifying when service and the facilities here in the guest house are well recieved.

We wish you and your family a very Happy New Year.

Best regards

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

The guest house is well looked after with the views the website promises and a nice pool and hot tub. Andrew who runs the place tries hard to make his guests stay a pleasant one and the other staff are very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good, buffet service with eggs, bacon etc cooked to order.
Slight downsides are that it is a little too far to walk to restaurants in the evening and the standard rooms are very small, they do have everything you need but unless a single i would definitely recommend booking a deluxe or suite room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRISHDRAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Dear Valued guest

Thank you for your kind review. In particular we thank you for your positive comments concerning the sevice which will be passed on to all the team. We are very pleased to have been awarded a 3 star acreditation for our services and facilities we are glad you enjoyed them and would welcome you back to Hout Bay View .

Wishing you and your family a very Happy New Year

Best regards

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Hout Bay View is just wonderful. The view from the terrace is stunning. I think the best I have seen in 10 days of travelling. I loved the location which made it easy to get to Cape Town and the Garden Route and everywhere in between. The bed was so big and comfortable I never thought I would make it for breakfast. The brekkie was lovely and changed everyday. The baked croissants were just delicious with coffee. Nothing seemed to much trouble for the owner Andrew who was always on hand to offer advise about the area and trips out. I cannot speak highly enough of this guest house. Even the pool was solar heated and made swimming a real pleasure...Just everything was perfect and I definitely recommend travellers in Australia to go to Hout Bay and see how beautiful it is.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Hello Natasha.

How very kind of you to take the time to review Hout Bay View. It is always gratifying to have good feedback and a great feeling to know that all our hard work is noticed and commented on. thank you once again.

May we wish you and your family anvery healthy and prosperous new year.

Best regards

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I decided to extend my stay in Cape Town and found this lovely guest house on the internet. The views from the terrace are truly awesome and I spent a lot of my time just sat watching the ocean and the harbour. I chose a room near the pool which was very clean and very well equipped with everything I needed. It was a nice service to have a tea and coffee tray so I could make a drink in the mornings. The guest house was very comfortable and relaxing and I would recommend it to anyone, especially the Wi-Fi which was free and on all the time. The owners were very polite and offered lots of information even though I have been to Cape Town before. It really is a great location and I think maybe the best views I have seen for a long time. I thought it was great value and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear valued Guest

Thank you for your positive review which was posted recently.

Your comments concerning cleanliness and staff were very welcome as we know how important these are in creating a welcoming environment.

Thank you once again and may we wish you a very happy new year.

Best regards

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#27 of 59 in Hout Bay
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brightwater Lodge
Brightwater Lodge
#22 of 59 in Hout Bay
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#41 of 59 in Hout Bay
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#9 of 59 in Hout Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay View South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing