We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Experience”
Review of Hout Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hout Bay View
Ranked #27 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Not a place to be recommended, the owner was very cold to us on arrival, gave us a room more expensive that the one we booked, DSTV and Wi Fi were not working, and the hot water in the shower came after 10min of running, No view from the room, only from the garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlesLef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Charlse

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are naturally dissapointed that you and your female companion found the Accomodation unsuitable for your needs
. When you booked you asked for a ocean view and the price was quoted to you. Accordingly you were booked into the garden suite which has 180 degree vista without interuptiion of the ocean, valley and mountains surrounding us.Your Suite has a glass frontage to make the most of the entire views available..Our tarrifs are on view on our website for all to see and at no time did you ask or enquire about other rooms so to say we sold you another more expensive room than the one required is incorrect and a false hood.

The WiFi is and has always been in good working order and we note you used the WiFI seamlessly and extensively during your stay with us. So too, the DSTV was working perfectly throughout the guesthouse and in your suite during your stay. We note this too as we had to secure your room several times when you left it open and unlocked after leaving the premises . The solar heated water is supplied from the roof and takes a few moments to reach you in your shower. I wonder wether you mixed up the cold with the hot if you had to wait as you say for 10 mins!

When asked, the duty manager recalled that it was a normal hospitable checkin but did say that you were very eager to get to your room with your female companion.

Your review contains falsehoods and innacuacies and as required by trip advisors guidelines we are required to report any such activity on our webpage.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    7
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
51
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
zuerich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We went there with family.Location and views are nice.
The rooms are very small and there is no privacy.Bed is very hard and we didn't get a thiner cover. The owner just forgett it. As the breakfast was every day the same, no choice (toast and eggs), i've kindly asked for french toast and again the owner was not keen to do it.
So i don't see where is here the intention to please the gests so they would like to come again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We have duly noted your comments and would like to take this opportunity to respond. Having accreditation now for some years by the south African Tourist board of 3 stars we are sorry you felt that the accommodation was not to your satisfaction. We believe we offer a varied and tasty breakfast for all our guests. such a shame you did not ask to see me or any manager at any time. we are always on duty and available to speak with guests and assure them of our best attention at all times.

Regards

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great spot, great views from breakfast area, rooms clean and small number of rooms is perfect if you want a quiet stay. Breakfasts excellent and all staff were very attentive! Hot tub with a view over bay was a welcome surprise! Would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear Guests

It is very satisfying to know that all our hard work behind the scenes creates the right atmosphere for you to enjoy your stay with us. Your comment are very welcomed and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at Hout Bay View.

Thank you again for your kindness.

Regards

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This will be my second visit to Hout Bay View, the first was a number of years ago. What a great job they have done with renovations. So wonderfully calm and the views are simply magnificent. The rooms are very comfortable and the attention to detail makes the stay very welcoming. All the staff are polite and cannot do enough for you and any request is always considered. The Free WiFi is a real bonus and the breakfast was delightful and always fresh and appetizing. The guest house is very clean and the bed was so comfortable I slept for ever.

Thank you to all at Hout Bay View. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unabalauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear valued guest.

Thank you for your very kind comments. It is simply a pleasure to have you stay not once but twice!. Your review is generous in its praise and we thank you for that as we continue to work hard to maintain a consistently high service for our present and future guests. Please dont forget if we may offer you hospitality a third time we offer a loyalty discount of 10%.

Many thanks once again for your kind words.

Regards

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Excellent B&B with eight rooms and modern decor. Attentive owners and staff. We used the great room, the outdoor patio with a stunning view of the mountains and bay, the pool, and the hot tub, all excellent, and stayed two weeks in February, 2013. Thanks, Bryan and Drew.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N4Matrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Guests

How grateful we are that you have taken the time to review Hout bay View. Spending over two weeks with us gives you a great feel for the atmosphere we try hard to maintain at the guest house. We are glad you felt comfortable with all amenities including the guest lounge and free wifi. Please don't forget that there is a 10% loyalty discount should you require accommodation here again. Thank you one again for your very kind words and comments.

Best regards

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A great little B&B idealy situated overlooking the stunning Hout Bay. The views really are superb! The friendly owners arranged our tranfers and car hire although we also found it very straight forward to get to the centre of Cape Town using public transport. The Blue Route Tour Bus even picks up and drops off at Hout Bay Marina. We will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Cape Town. thanks very much to Bryan, Drew and your staff, see you soon .....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hello Izzy

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hout Bay View. It is advertising that we simply cannot buy and offers a real insight for prospective guests. Your kind comments are very pleasing as we work hard at the small details so the overall experience is enjoyable. I will let all the staff know how pleased you both were.

Very best regards

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Having a chance of a return visit to cape town I stayed again in Hout Bay View. Great service again and I also got 10% off my bill as a return guest. Summer is great in South Africa and I was blessed with clear skies and high temps . still bowled over by the view and the very friendly relaxed atmosphere throughout the guest house. It was nice to chat with other guests from around the world. I had a different room this time and it was very comfortable and again the free 24 hour Wi Fi is invaluable to get work done and look for information. Thank you again for a thoroughly enjoyable stay

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorrento1Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hello there

Thank you so much for your kind review. It helps other prospective guests to get a feel for the accommodation and this will certainly help promote the atmosphere we work so hard to create.

Thank you again

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#25 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#6 of 23 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#32 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#13 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Property: Hout Bay View
Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay View South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing