We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hout Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hout Bay View
Ranked #26 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We recently spent two nights here and were made to feel very welcome by owners Brian and Andrew. The room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated with great views. Breakfast was served in the contemporary dining/lounge area and was great, everything you could want. Staff were friendly and helpful so thanks to Janet and Stanley. We enjoyed chatting to Brian and Andrew and were sorry not to stay longer. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend their hospitality and would love to return in the future. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary_crosby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hello Hilary

Thank you so much for your kind words. We too enjoyed talking with you and are also glad that you managed to do and see so much of Hout Bay and its surroundings. We would be delighted to offer you hospitality again in the future.

Thank you once again for your kind words.

very best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    19
    7
    10
    7
See reviews for
9
51
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Most words do not do justice to our fabulous stay at Hout Bay View recently. We were warmly welcomed and treated like family for the duration of our stay.

The rooms were perfectly comfortable and clean (we opted for a Suite for added convenience) and the property was maintained to a very high standard throughout.

Our daily highlight was being able to enjoy a full breakfast on the patio with breathtaking views (weather permitting). The staff were incredibly attentive and friendly and were always happy to cater for our (reasonable) requests.

The guesthouse itself is conveniently located and ample parking is available (which is often rare in Cape Town!)

Thanks Andrew, Janet and Stanley for your superior service. We will no doubt opt for a repeat stay on our next visit.

Dion & Natalie

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Dion and Natalie.

Thank you for your kind comments. We are humbled that you felt our home was your home for the time you stayed with us. We very much hope that your comments will be seen by many prospective guests and give them reaasurance to come and stay with us

Thank you again for your kindness.

Very best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

great room, nicely furnished, excellent service and breakfast. good starting point to explore the Cape Peninsula. great view on the Bay and the hills/mountains around. a place I definitely would recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi Kristin.

How reassuring your comments are that the service you recieved met your expectations. We do all we can to make sure that guests are confortable when they stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind comments

Best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Maybe I was lucky, but my recent and first experience ever in ZA was absolutely a good one. Recommended by a friend from Amsterdam, NL, I spent a week at Hout Bay View, a very comfortable B&B with breathtaking views over the Bay and surrounding mountains. A perfect place in proximity of beaches and town, restaurants and bars. A perfect place to stay for anyone who plans to do day-trips throughout the wine areas, Cape Town, Cape Point, etc.. My room was specious and comfortable. Sufficient bed covers to keep me warm during nights. After all, it was winter. Good enough breakfast to start a day of adventure, and very friendly hosts. Thanks to Bryan, Andrew and Janet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hello George.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Hout Bay View. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during the winter months. Your comments will hopefully reassure guests that Hout Bay has much to offer in the winter as well as the more popular summer months.

Thank you again for your kind comments.

Best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from my third stay at Hout Bay View. It was just perfect. The rooms are looked after by friendly staff and are always immaculate. The owners are always available to help with information and advice. I want for nothing while I stay at Hout Bay View. I am able to use my I pad as they have WiFi all around the property. Very handy for Skype and Face time with the family. I spend a lot of time sitting on the front patio looking out over the incredible views and chatting with many of the other guests who enjoy taking photos of the scenery.
Thank you to all the staff for making me feel so welcome and looking after me so well. I am already missing the breakfasts where I have made many new friends. I will certainly be back next year.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sjanetstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Janet

Thank you so much for your glowing review. It always provides a lift to get such a lovely review. We very much look forward to seeing you this tiome next year.

Thank you again.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Not a place to be recommended, the owner was very cold to us on arrival, gave us a room more expensive that the one we booked, DSTV and Wi Fi were not working, and the hot water in the shower came after 10min of running, No view from the room, only from the garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlesLef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Charlse

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are naturally dissapointed that you and your female companion found the Accomodation unsuitable for your needs
. When you booked you asked for a ocean view and the price was quoted to you. Accordingly you were booked into the garden suite which has 180 degree vista without interuptiion of the ocean, valley and mountains surrounding us.Your Suite has a glass frontage to make the most of the entire views available..Our tarrifs are on view on our website for all to see and at no time did you ask or enquire about other rooms so to say we sold you another more expensive room than the one required is incorrect and a false hood.

The WiFi is and has always been in good working order and we note you used the WiFI seamlessly and extensively during your stay with us. So too, the DSTV was working perfectly throughout the guesthouse and in your suite during your stay. We note this too as we had to secure your room several times when you left it open and unlocked after leaving the premises . The solar heated water is supplied from the roof and takes a few moments to reach you in your shower. I wonder wether you mixed up the cold with the hot if you had to wait as you say for 10 mins!

When asked, the duty manager recalled that it was a normal hospitable checkin but did say that you were very eager to get to your room with your female companion.

Your review contains falsehoods and innacuacies and as required by trip advisors guidelines we are required to report any such activity on our webpage.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zuerich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We went there with family.Location and views are nice.
The rooms are very small and there is no privacy.Bed is very hard and we didn't get a thiner cover. The owner just forgett it. As the breakfast was every day the same, no choice (toast and eggs), i've kindly asked for french toast and again the owner was not keen to do it.
So i don't see where is here the intention to please the gests so they would like to come again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We have duly noted your comments and would like to take this opportunity to respond. Having accreditation now for some years by the south African Tourist board of 3 stars we are sorry you felt that the accommodation was not to your satisfaction. We believe we offer a varied and tasty breakfast for all our guests. such a shame you did not ask to see me or any manager at any time. we are always on duty and available to speak with guests and assure them of our best attention at all times.

Regards

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#27 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#13 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#28 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#4 of 23 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Property: Hout Bay View
Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay View South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing