We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place with lovely view”
Review of Hout Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hout Bay View
Ranked #26 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Me and my husband stayed at the Hout Bay View for ten days in January 2009. We wanted to relax and just take it easy, since our next ten days would be on the road.

In South Africa B&B's in my opinion is the best stay you can get, and I normally prefer large hotels. But the B&B's are cosy and price-worthy overall.

Maybe it was because we stayed as long as ten days, but I think we got the best room - the wall facing the garden was made all of glass so we had a lovely view from our bed! The room was simple but nice and had a refridgerator. Large bathroom.

The host-couple was very friendly and really tried their best to help us with whatever. The place has a small pool and a weak internet-access in the lobby. They said they had wireless but that never worked for us.

Breakfast was served in a "living-room" and you got yoghurt, cereals, fruitsalad and then you could order toast, eggs and so on. Simple but nice.

Hout Bay is a great and lovely place for short trips around Cape Town and for relaxing, and Hout Bay view is a really good place to stay at. There are nice restaurants in the area but otherwise nothing much is going on, so don't expect much action and party! And you must have a car.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lt.ripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Hout Bay View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

Hout Bay is a good location for those wanting to be just outside Cape Town, on the sea and with good access to the east coast of the peninsular, the cape and the winelands etc.

Hout Bay View is pleasant, peaceful and comfortable. We stayed for 5 nights and so had the advantage over the previous reviewer of being offered a slightly different hot option for breakfast each day, this was fresh and tasty but probably not for those with a mega "full english" appetite.

We had a large room with the big picture french windows overlooking the bay and Chapmans Peak. The children had a twin at the other end of the property with the pool (too cold in winter) and hot tub outside their door with another good biew of the bay.

There were small issues with the cleanliness of our bathroom on arrival. Andrew one of the owners had been away for a few days, he apologised and rectified the situation himself whilst we were out. There was also a problem with the waste from a shower draining on to the walkway to our childrens room. We mentioned this as soon as we noticed it and a few days before departure but it was still not rectified when we left, luckily it had partially drained away the very early morning of our departure as it would have been hard to negotiate with our suitcases.

Apart from the seeming lack of urgency over the shower waste Andrew was very helpful in answering questions about the area and made calls on our behalf regarding one potential day out. Again with reference to a comment of the previous reviewer, before making my booking I enquired as to the distance to the restaurants on the bay and if we could walk to them. Andrew told me that was no problem. Whilst it would have only taken 10 minutes and I don't think we would have had any issues, we did choose to drive in the evenings.

There are some good places to eat in Hout Bay so the location of the B&B is good. This establishment is good value for money although I noticed the rate had just gone up 10% on what we had paid after we arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WokinghamWonderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This is a good establishment at a very good price. We only stayed one night and were the only guests so it was quiet.The staff were polite and attentive and the room very spacious, although the bathroom was small.
The TV reception was poor, apparently due to aeriel reception. The view from the balcony, where the pool is situated is good, looking out across the bay. In the dining room was a pc for guests' use, this was free of charge.
At breakfast we had cereal but the only hot offering was omelette. This was very tasty, though so it wasn't a great problem. The premises are quite isolated although only about a two minute drive from the wharf restaurants. We were told off by the owner for daring to walk there at night. She told us no one walks in SA. There was no one around and we didn't feel threatened, although I accept her point about how SA can be a dangerous place. But so can England.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This B&B is lovely and run by a lovely couple - incredible views over Hout Bay out to Chapman's Peak. We had the new large room at the front of the house which had just been done up with a super enormous bed. Andrew and Bryan were marvellous, the breakfasts were a delight and their knowledge and helpfulness knew no bounds. However a few words of warning: now that Chapman's Peak is out of service (and likely to remain so) Hout Bay is sort of cut up and there's only one way in and out which makes traffic and getting south a bit of a pain. Second, the rooms facing the street at the front can be incredibly noisy at New Year - I would never ever recommend staying here on new year's eve again as I quite literally did not sleep all night for the noise of neighbourhood parties. The floors in our sons' room were gritty our entire stay and didn't seem cleaned and the bathroom in the lovely new large bedroom flooded every time we had a shower. You also felt quite exposed in that room with its giant picture window and very little privacy; even the window in the shower faced the street and was not frosted at all! The pool is tiny tiny - more like a plunge pool - and surrounded by other rooms so if you are staying in these you could be disturbed. Overall a great stay but some little annoying details prevented it from being a 5* stay really.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarsawBritDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

A very personal and friendly guest house with amazing views of Hout Bay, Chapman's Peak and Table Mountain. There is a lovely pool and a hot tub under the stars.

A quiet and relaxing location just 20 mintues from Cape Town along a spectacular coastal drive with easy access to the Constantia Wine Route and the Cape Peninsular. There is a working harbour with resident seals and a wide safe beach.

The accommodation is clean and well appointed with friendly hosts who provide a cooked breakfast every morning!!

Good restaurants nearby with amenities within a couple of minutes drive including a great Woolworths (like an upmarket M & S) and the post office and banks.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

My husband & I have stayed at Hout Bay View every year now for the last 3 years whenever we have holidayed in Cape Town. The reason we have returned each time is because it has felt like a home from home. Andrew & Bryan are superb hosts and genuinely enjoy making your stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible and nothing is ever too much.
The breakfasts will set you up for the day and are second to none and don't forget to ask for the heart-shaped fried eggs!!!
The rooms are decently sized and comfortable with en-suite facilities and the view from the main terrace is breath-taking where you can often spot whales in the Bay in the Summer months and enjoy the sunset colours as they hit Chapman's Peak drive.
Hout Bay View is situated conveniently in a quiet suburb only a couple of minutes drive from the beach and Hout Bay town making it handy to get to the huge choice of local restaurants that make Hout Bay so popular! It also only takes 15 - 20 minutes to drive along the undeniably spectacular and panoramic coastal road into central Cape Town city and all the attractions.
There is ample off-road parking and the jacuzzi at the back is fabulous for watching the sun set with a Savannah Dry or two!
We would definitely recommend Hout Bay View to anyone who wants a special place to base themselves for a holiday in Cape Town where they will receive unsurpassed hosptality.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Beckiboo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our last 2 nights in Cape Town this April and were really impressed with Hout Bay View. The guesthouse is run by a really lovely British guy, Andrew who is incredibly helpful and makes you feel very welcome - nothing is too much trouble.
Our room was huge ( and very secure) with ensuite facilities and right next to the lovely pool and great terrace hot tub with unbeatable views across Hout Bay and the surrounding mountains. There is also a fab terrace area to the front of the guesthouse with equally amazing views, perfect for a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing.
I would highly recommend this guesthouse for anyone wanting to explore areas south of Cape Town e.g. Simonstown, Boulders Bay, Cape Point etc It's also a very quick drive around to Llandudno and the lively Camps Bay. It offers great value and a really friendly and personal service.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NiquitaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#28 of 59 in Hout Bay
29 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victorskloof Lodge
Victorskloof Lodge
#3 of 23 in Hout Bay
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chapman's Peak Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#8 of 59 in Hout Bay
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#40 of 59 in Hout Bay
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £69 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay View South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing