We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amblewood Guest House
Ranked #8 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Will definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

June and Trevor are excellent hosts - warm, friendly and knowledgeable, with lots of good advice on where to eat and visit. The property is in a quiet spot with great views. Our standard room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
126
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at Amblewood Guest House thanks to Trevor and June who are very friendly. The place has a nice terrace and pool and a breathtaking view. The room is spacious and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This guest house is beautifully situated. What counts most are that the hosts are very helpful and extremely friendly. A swim in the nice swimming pool and a self help bar next to it lets you close your day in a civilized manner. The well appointed rooms with large beds let you sleep like in heaven. No wonder that we go back time and time again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank René Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Small Guesthouse in elevated position in a quiet area of Hout Bay. Convenient for local restaurants and the beach. Very friendly and helpful owners who serve an excellent breakfast by the pool.
Convenient for visit to Cape Point via impressive Chapmans Peak Drive and still handy for Cape Town by car or local bus.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with balconies overlook the pool and have fabulous views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

having booked a two night stay at the end of our holiday we couldn't have chosen a better place.the views from the bedrooms were wonderful looking over the bay. Excellent hosts who provided a wonderful breakfast each day

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a great stay at Amblewood - 2 nights at the start of our holiday in the Inglenook room. The room is huge with its own veranda overlooking the bay. The view was stunning. The bed was large and extremely comfortable leading to excellent nights' sleep. There is every amenity you could need including a large safe, fridge and TV plus a very good bathroom. Breakfast is taken overlooking the bay and is delicious. We had been worried about lack of air-conditioning but the guest house is high up and has a breeze which keeps the temperature moderated and we would never have needed it. There is an honesty bar and delightful area to sit with books by the swimming pool. The drive into town is short and there is a very good choice of restaurants and an excellent beach. What makes a stay here even better is the delightful owners who provide advice on what to do and are amazingly helpful. Amblewood is a really good Guest House and is strongly recommended - we will definitely return..

Room Tip: We loved the Inglenook room for its size and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We just love this place - just stayed for the 6th time and we still love this place.
Its so handy for everything but the best things besides the owners and the dog its only 20 minutes from the airport.
June and trevor welcome you as old friends and its nice and relaxing from the minute you arrive.
This time had a room upstairs which was superb. Great views and just a great start to a 3 week holiday.
See you in December 2014.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views but overall the upstairs ones - take the biscuit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#9 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amblewood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amblewood Guest House

Property: Amblewood Guest House
Address: 43 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amblewood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amblewood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amblewood Guest House Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing