We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely safe cottage in a great location”

Review of Mountain Rise

Enjoy our beautiful pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy our beautiful pool
Mountains all around with the ocean in front Breakfast or sundowners on the patio. Relax and enjoy nature
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Enjoy our beautiful pool
Mountains all around with the ocean in front
Breakfast or sundowners on the patio. Relax and enjoy nature
Queen size bed in the main bedroom
Second bedroom with a double bed and a single bed
Italian leather lounge suite, Computer and desk for your convenience
50' TV, DVD player and HiFi
Modern kitchen with granite worktops and quality appliances
Oven and glass hob with extractor. Cook up a storm !
Security all round with burglar bars and security gates and inside parking
Dining room with table for six
Modern bathroom with toilet, bath, shower, basin and heated towl rail for warm fluffy towels
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hout Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JJLEBASCO...
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Regrettable”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Arrived at this place not being able to find it as the sign was behind over grown bush and faded. We not allowed into the property for over 20 minutes because the owner was not around and he instructed the staff not to allow anyone in unless he is there. Eventually we got let in. Staff had no clue we were arriving, and this was believable based on the fact that our room was not even ready. Bathroom mats were piled up next to the toilet, the bed just had a duvet folded up with no duvet cover, kitchen was filthy, cutlery had old food and counters had hardened food stuck to them, cobwebs in the windowsills, no soaps in shower or bath. The owner arrived and apologized and quickly ran in to check if everything was setup and had to rush to put soaps in while we waited outside on the balcony. The place smelt musty as if no one had stayed there for quite some time. The garden in front of the cottage is clearly not maintained at all. It has overgrown bush and dead leaves laying all over. We did not mention anything at this point as the owner was holding onto our deposit and we did not want to jeopardize losing it. Will not be back at all and will certainly not recommend this establishment to anyone. A word of advice to the owner:
If you are going to run an accommodation business, get to know the basics first. All you have is 1 cottage to look after and with a bit of effort, this place could be a gemstone. Make sure the place is neat and tidy and smells welcoming and fully set before guests arrive. Apologies do not make up for poor experiences especially when money is well spent. Cut down those dead bushes so that guests can have a real view of Hout Bay. Train your staff to be more welcoming and COMMUNICATE with them so that they know whats going on. Abolish the policy of "not letting strangers in". If people are claiming they are guests, then instead of keeping them waiting outside, have a security check in place, simply the name of booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
This review is quite hard to believe. Check in time is from 2:00am. This is because we need time to clean and prepare after guests have departed in the morning. Despite being advised of the arrival times these guests arrived early so the owner was still on his way back. Because we value security we do not allow cleaning staff to let anyone onto the premises unless they are expected. Obviously the beds were still unmade and the kitchen had not been cleaned because they were not due until later. The cottage is cleaned three times a week and gardeners are also there for 3 full days a week. Yes it is Autumn so leaves are being shedded constantly. This is natural in a large wooded garden. We believe this is a most unfair and aggressive review. Please look on our website or any other local booking site to see fabulous reviews of this stunning property. We checked a number of times to see that they were happy with everything and they always assured us that they were. Having seen the terrible state these guests finally left the property in, it is hard to comprehend this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayma...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely safe cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Mountainrise. It is in a lovely location - a quiet road in . Hout Bay which has all amenities. The cottage has beautiful views. The patio gets the sun in the morning and is shaded by trees in the afternoon which is perfect. It is very well-equipped and the owner, Richard, is happy to help with anything.
In these times, security is paramount and as the cottage is in the grounds of the main house, it feels a very safe place to stay. I have been several times and had wonderful holidays. I hope to have many more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A secure place to stay with lovely views
Liked least: I have no complaints!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2016
Thanks Adele. It was so nice having you to stay. We're constantly upgrading our amenities and we're glad you found everything to your satisfaction. Looking forward to seeing you back next year. Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
addickKen...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“loveley cottage, stunning views but lacked some basics”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Clean and spacious accommodation with great mountain views, but lacked a hairdryer and cushions for the garden furniture. The patio is large but is generally shaded from the sun due to trees, and is not suitable for small children as there is a large drop. Rick is a pleasant owner but was not able to resolve a number of issues such as the lack of wifi.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
The WiFi stopped working during this guest's stay due to the cable having been removed and we have now replaced this. The guest also broke off the key in the security gate and being Christmas there was a delay in getting a locksmith. We apologise for this and it has now also been fixed. We don't supply a hairdryer but almost everything else you could need is supplied. We have had many guests with children of all ages and they have all been most happy with the facilities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing