We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We spent a couple of nights here and it exceeded expectations in every way. Fantastic room (big suite with a wonderful view), great food and great service. A lovely combination of older world charm in the restaurant and bar coupled with really high end, modern room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank togle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Chapmans Peak Hotel in early January 2012 and were bowled over by the standard of the room, the spectacular view from the balcony, the friendliness and efficiency of the Staff and last, but not least, the simply delicious food, especially the speciality of the house the calamari. Breakfast was a feast too. Carlos senior made sure everyone felt at home and was a most interesting gentleman as were the whole family. We had only booked for four nights at this hotel, and were sorry we had not stayed longer as we had enjoyed it so much. The drive over Chapmans Peak never fails to enthrall us and being just yards from the hotel it meant that we took the scenic drive everyday. Thanks to the Hotel for making our stay so memorable and when we visit again we shall see you !!! Mrs and Mrs M. W. Clatworthy South Wales UK

Room Tip: A room in the new wing with balcony and stunning Hout Bay view really added somthing special to our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

After a particular bad experience with a local guesthouse I landed up staying in this elegant and unpretensious establishment. The rooms were modern, spacious and comfortable with a sparkling clean bathroom and seperate toilet. The restaurant and bar oozes old world charm with staff that are friendly and attentive. A large patio to watch glorious sunsets behind the Sentinel standing out like a beacon accross the Bay enjoying some of the Cape's finest wines to wash down tasty meals.
Defnite one of THE places to stay when visiting Cape Town

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shengani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We recently spent two nights in the newly renovated part of the Chapman's Peak Hotel. The decor is "elegantly casual", very pleasant with clean, modern lines. We especially liked the layout and decoration of the bathroom. If we absolutely have to complain about something, it would be that the duvet was too warm for the summer, unless one sleeps with the air conditioner on at full blast, which we do not like. But that was a minor issue. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had dinner both evenings on the veranda - a truly gorgeous location and the food was excellent. We also ate breakfast outside and enjoyed it just as much as the dinners. The hotel is lovely, as is its surroundings. We will definitely stay there again when we visit Hout Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hout Bay is one of the most beautiful locations in the Western Cape. Chapman's Peak Beach Hotel is perfectly located to take advantage of Hout Bay and its surrounds including the famous Chapman's Peak drive. The room (albeit mountain facing) had everything that was needed, very clean and modern. The restaurant is also well positioned with beautiful views across the bay. Breakfast was a treat. And most importantly the staff were warm, welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbrown101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed four nights in late December with our daughter of seven and a half years in a penthouse suite.

The suite, at the top floor is elegant, spacious, bright, tastefully decorated in a contemporary style. A large terrace with stunning views of Hout Bay, the beach is easily accessible. It corresponds in fact to the photos on the website of the Hotel.

But.....the location of the hotel, located near a busy road is not ideal. Then there is the presence on the ground floor of a busy and noisy restaurant. Until late on the evening.

This restaurant is dark and uninviting, in our opinion, can be likened to a brewery. It is precisely in this context depressing that we were served the first morning breakfast, we thought, alternatively, to stay on the terrace outside, but we were deterred by the noisy road and the fact the wooden tables were not very clean and no doilies !
The breakfast offered was indecent. We never saw that. The food is exposed on the bar, if you are small you hardly see it. Everything is of poor quality, growing fat, inedible sausage, juice bought at the supermarket. The height for a hotel of this class is that even if you occupy one of the penthouse, the hotel management is not able to offer room service for breakfast.

After spending three days earlier in Franschhoek, in a quality hotel, where the client is highlighted, the fall was brutal. I must say that it is the only time during our stay and our previous stays in South Africa, where we were really disappointed with the service through a South African institution. In general, in fact, the quality of the welcome in hotels and restaurants in this country is much higher and we were thrilled each time.

In conclusion, we deeply regret our choice and are not able to advise the said hotel to the customers who have requirements similar to ours. It must be said, however, that this choice was conditioned by the fact that most beautiful hotels in the Cape that had been selected do not accept children less than eight or twelve years.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kafka2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is what South Africa is all about. A family run hotel overlooking the bay and right at the bottom of Chapman's Peak so no excuses for not getting any exercise whether it be walking up the hill to take in the breath taking scenery or a walk/jog along the beach.
The restaurant is fantastic and the steak and calamari combo is worth the air fare alone... SUPERB....

Room Tip: I stayed in the new rooms overlooking the bay..... Amazing view, day or night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank employer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
493 reviews
6.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,128 reviews
6.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range: £68 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing