We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small but excellent”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A 22 room hotel allows the staff to give their guests personal atttention and responsive to their needs. Chapmans accomplishes this in a superlative manner. Manager Johathan Ndeble moves about the breakfast area visiting with the guests and engaging in arudite and interesting conversations which certainly enhanses the South African experience.

Not only is the breakfact suberb, I have never had better (buffet and/or cooked to order), but the daytime through dinner food is also excellent. The outside terrace option is filled with locals for lunch, tea, drinks, dinner - obviously the social center of Hout Bay. The view of the bay is limited, and the busy road is adjacent, but no matter - it is fun and greatly enhanses this hotel's experience for its guests. As a solo traveler I value a cosy friendly bar where it is easy to stike up conversations and Chapmans has a nice one. (My wife opted out of two days of flights to South Africa - prefering to accompany me to her native Europe which is shorter and dependable travel experience - but US travelers will have no stress (speaking English) and great experiences in South Africa if they will accept the travel time to get there.

My room was ideal in every way, bed, bedding, air control, patio, shower and bathroom facility,quiet, outside balcony sitting area facing an almost vertical hillside of greenery.This 2006 addition was built quality in every way by the Portugese family, now living here, which owns the hotel.

The hotel and Hout Bay should be listed as a Cape Town hotel although a 20-30 minute drive south of the city center. No rental car is necessary. A tourist bus every 30 minutes takes you to all the tourist sites (Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens (terrific) wineries, waterfront, and central city. Chapmans arranged a driver to take me along the spectacularly beautiful coast, through the Cape Nature Preserve, and the Cape of Good Hope. Although Hout Bay is nothing special a one hour walk to the World of Birds took me past an open air craft market with proveyors from the extensive near by slum of shacks when the unemployed poor live - a very large number in this country. Also along the road with a dirt field when young boys, also from the slum, played a football game.How fortunate I was to have walked instead of taken a taxi to the World of Birds.

I did stay in the central city for 4 nights before 3 nights here - about the right time and I was glad to have had the two separate experiences. Don't miss Cape Town.

Room Tip: Insist on the new section (2006) - the old section (1900) has not been upgraded recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowaconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    70
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
136
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

checking in procedures where easy and comfortable ..our bellboy was greatly knowledgeable and explained the details of the room and surround layout of hotel very well

our room was sea-facing with enough room to be comfortable

we were most delighted by the bathroom layout and style

the bed was fresh with crisp white linen and large enough to
share with our 2 year old daughter

our dinning experience was tasty and friendly

the weather allowed us to try out the sea-scape swimming pool
that felt as if it stretched across the bay the pool was designed to exercise
and relax as need

we do recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay

Room Tip: second floor sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful sea view room with a balcony. The view of Hout Bay was a joy to wake up to every morning. The room was large and nicely furnished and the bathroom was excellent, beautifully equipped with all the most modern fittings. The staff were wonderful, friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. The hotel is a family owned hotel and we met Carlos, the patriarch and his daughter Linda who managed the hotel, both very charming and hospitable.
The food was delicious with many interesting choices and their 'calamari' are the best in South Africa !
There is a small swimming pool above the hotel with plenty of comfortable loungers and towels and waiter service.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel another year.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I went there for our first trip with our infant daughter. We had an oceanfront room with balcony and table that was gorgeous --- great view, sound of ocean, great decor. My wife loved the huge bathtub.
We were worried about traveling with our daughter but the staff was great --- they had a crib in the room and would do what they could to accomodate us. One plus was that the room-service menu made it easy for us to stay in if we didn't want to venture out for dinner, or even to the on-site restaurant, which was terrific. The room service menu was limited but decent, although we were surprised they couldn't expand it more. At one point we were told, they would bring up their famous calamari to the room but they the didn't. The breakfast was decent -- although the same food everytime. The service at the restaurant was OK. What was confusing is they had lots of staff but they weren't that attentive. For example you might get a seat but then wait 15 minutes to have menus or be asked for a drink order? Oddly it wasn't that inconvenient because you had a great view of the ocean or of people driving up and down Chapman's Peak Drive. Some people have complained that the hotel is right on the road up the mountain -- yes, there is some traffic, but it is often light and it is entertaining --- especially when you can watch the people bike and run up the mountain. We are already thinking about our second trip! good job Chapman's Peak Hotel! The location -- the water is directly across the street from the hotel -- every morning we would walk out. Very convenient. Probably best place to stay with easy beach access. Also the location is withing walking distance of many restaurants.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJ298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We spent a couple of nights here and it exceeded expectations in every way. Fantastic room (big suite with a wonderful view), great food and great service. A lovely combination of older world charm in the restaurant and bar coupled with really high end, modern room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank togle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Chapmans Peak Hotel in early January 2012 and were bowled over by the standard of the room, the spectacular view from the balcony, the friendliness and efficiency of the Staff and last, but not least, the simply delicious food, especially the speciality of the house the calamari. Breakfast was a feast too. Carlos senior made sure everyone felt at home and was a most interesting gentleman as were the whole family. We had only booked for four nights at this hotel, and were sorry we had not stayed longer as we had enjoyed it so much. The drive over Chapmans Peak never fails to enthrall us and being just yards from the hotel it meant that we took the scenic drive everyday. Thanks to the Hotel for making our stay so memorable and when we visit again we shall see you !!! Mrs and Mrs M. W. Clatworthy South Wales UK

Room Tip: A room in the new wing with balcony and stunning Hout Bay view really added somthing special to our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

After a particular bad experience with a local guesthouse I landed up staying in this elegant and unpretensious establishment. The rooms were modern, spacious and comfortable with a sparkling clean bathroom and seperate toilet. The restaurant and bar oozes old world charm with staff that are friendly and attentive. A large patio to watch glorious sunsets behind the Sentinel standing out like a beacon accross the Bay enjoying some of the Cape's finest wines to wash down tasty meals.
Defnite one of THE places to stay when visiting Cape Town

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shengani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.3 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
6.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Property: Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing