We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning postion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning postion”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great place to stay in Hout if you want a hotel. As a single traveller I needed an in-house evening restaurant and Chapmans fitted the bill. Great views and just cross the road in the morning and there is a superb 30 min walk across the beach and back. Choose a sea facing room and you will not be disappointed. Very friendly staff and great secluded pool facing beach away from the wind.
Food good and kingclip superb.

Room Tip: Choose sea view but suites looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    70
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
136
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at this small hotel, the view from our room was lovely and the room was exceptionally clean, being a clean freak this was a pleasant suprise. The staff are helpful. On a negative the walls are paper thin so instead of falling asleep to the sound of the ocean you will fall asleep to the sound of your neighbours blaring television and if you are travelling with small kids you will be in a constant state of anxiety as to the noise they are making that is disturbing others. The food was really good, the calamari lived up to its rep, the breakfast selection small but adequate and delicious. We ordered hake and chips for our 5 year old son, it tasted great but it was FULL of fish bones, if there were 20 bones in his piece of fish it is not an exaggeration. In our opinion this is unacceptable especially being served to a child, we had to feed it to him with our fingers ensuring every bone was removed as the waitress was apologetic but didnt offer an alternative, lucky my instincts told me to check for bones. As far as I know serving bones in fish at a resturant is the biggest no no in the industry, so for a resturant so well known for his great fish dishes this was a very bad experience. Overall we probably wont return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamhHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My mom and I spent a wonderful 4 days at this beautiful little hotel. The hosts/receptionists were very friendly, and will go out of their way to make you feel at home - even if your request is frozen yoghurt in the middle of the night.. :-)
The breakfast buffet is inviting and the pastries are fresh every morning.
Staff with a vast knowledge of CPT are also there to give you information of the area and attractions if needed.
Our room over-looked Hout Bay beach (which is a few metres away from the hotel), perfect to have your morning tea out on the balcony as the sun comes up.
The downstairs restaurant also offers cocktails and an amazing selection fo sea food dishes (as well as other dished) for lunch or dinner. Needless to say every night the restaurant is packed with locals and tourists alike.

Overall, a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blairg1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We treated ourselves to the penthouse suite - wow! Staff all very friendly. The restaurant was very good. Lovely babysitter Jessica took our 7 year old to the beach while we cycled /walked up the mountain.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi_WingDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs, uk
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As a family of 4, all adults, we stayed here for 4 nights. Receptions staff were very nice and helpful. We had rooms in the new wing which were lovely and big. Wifi was good.
The negative about this hotel, surprisingly was the restaurant which I have reviewed separately. Basically we were very much looking forward to enjoying s lovely meal here, specifically the calamari. When our food arrived it was not hot and our son was quite ill shortly after eating his calamari.
Also service at breakfast as very poor. We didn't want a cooked breakfast so just asked for toast and a very small portion arrived. There was no offer to bring more and no one asked if we wanted more tea or coffee.
If we were in Hout Bay again we would stay at the hotel but we would not use the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Having visited the old hotel this recently re developed Establishment is world class and well priced at approx €100 B & B for 2 people in the new section but facing the rear.
The arrival was fairly welcoming and secure parking made available. We had evening cocktails on the balcony but the service was very poor. The staff need to be trained to make eye contact as we waited forever for some attention and then we had to call the boss! Food especially the calamari was superb even after last tasting it here over 20 years ago when the old man of the business Carlos was in charge. The room was very well equipped and we slept well in beautiful cotton sheets and duvet. Spotless. Entry to the hotel after 1am was a problem as the security guard first has to be raised to open the garage and then lift access was key card controlled so getting to our room was difficult. Breakfast was disappointing with a few basics on a table very little choice and hardly any fruit etc.No menu just a waitress who told you what you could have in the line of traditional fare. Amazingly this hotel does not serve breakfast to outside guests and we counted scores of potential customers being turned away. When we asked the waitress why, she said we are a seafood speciality restaurant not a breakfast venue!!!!! I hope the seafood lasts that long on the planet!!! Overall highly recommended, Hout Bay is a buzz these days but plenty of hotels and restaurants to choose!!

Room Tip: The back rooms are nearly half the cost of the front and they all have balconies only difference you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning of our holiday on the recommendation of a local friend. We had a delightful room in the new part of the hotel which overlooked the beach and mountains. We could not fault the accommodation; the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom perfect with a big bath and powerful shower. The staff throughout the hotel were engaging and helpful. The restaurant on the terrace gets a special mention for outstanding dishes, the calamari and kingklip being the best ever......

Room Tip: new rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spadge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.3 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
296 reviews
6.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Property: Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing