We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A midsummers night dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Cape Tow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A midsummers night dream”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

From the moment we walked into the hotel, I could feel the luxury surround us, the warm friendly staff, to the magnifiient room with a view of the ocean, the room is well equipped with the beautiful well thought out furniture pieces, that are luxurious, yet extrememly comfortable, one is transformed into a seafront paradise... The resturant has magnificent food, I can definately recommend the Portugese steak, with a crisp glass of white wine,, yummy will definately be back for more.. All in all and outstanding hotel with all the mod cons, yet remaining comfortable and charming..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    70
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
136
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Chapmans peak was our second hotel stop during our 2 week stay in Cape Town. After spending a few days at the Commodore on the Waterfront we chose Chapmans because of its claims on their website and the positive feedback on Tripadvisor - I must say they are true to their words...

the room was perfect (we were in 232) - the staff was absolutely great - hats off to Linda, Lidya, Mary, Edith, Ayesha and everyone else for making it perfect. My wife and princess (4 months) loved the stay. The view was perfect - half of the beach and half of the mountains - perfectly situated below Chapmans peak drive and in close proximity to restaurants and other scenic opportunities.

From all the 4 hotels we stayed at Chapmans was the best one (others were Westin Grand, Bloomestate, Commodore)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The Chapmans Peak Hotel has been known for years for serving the best calamari in Cape Town (and some say in Sourth Africa), but the views from the rooms in the newly built hotel complex are at least as stunning! My wife and me spend week-end there in the middle of December and were absolutely spoilt. Although the hotel was only operational for a few weeks, the hospitality displayed by the owners (the De Nobrega family) and the staff was amazing and was only topped by the rooms overlooking Hout Bay beach and the Sentinel. The interiour is clean and crisp and there is even a view of the sea from the bath! By the way, did I mention the view?

We had some of the famous calamari for dinner on the terrace, watching the sunset and enjoying a bottle of wine from the vast wine list. The next morning we went for a walk on the beach just opposite the hotel and then spent most of the morning on the terrace having a full english breakfast, sipping champagne and enjoying the view together with some acqaintances we met in the evening and were also staying at the hotel.

Unfortunately, the pool, which comes with an even better view, was not yet operational, but this should have changed by now.

All in all, we had a superb time and will definetely come back soon! Highly recomendable!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JensBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We had a lovely stay at the Chapman’s Peak hotel! The friendliness of the staff, made our stay extra enjoyable. You can sit at the restaurant on the stoop all day without getting bored of the view, beautiful sunsets makes it a Romantic getaway, but it can also be enjoyed by groups of friends over lunch or dinner. The food is exceptional with the calamari and Portuguese steak being the house favourite and I can vouch for both!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rswart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kruger national park
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Located halfway around a standard penninsula day tour, Chapman's peak hotel recently offered my small group from Germany a Cape Town sojourn with a decidedly different feel. For once, the stay in the Mother City contained all the charm so reminiscent of its "tavern of the seas" appeal of yesteryear without the brisk treatment of the inner city and the glitz of the world class Waterfront venues! Enjoying a stroll on the beach and mingling with locals was a highlight, seldom achieved with foreign guests, who are often compartmentalized at venues reserved for the international group! Ann du Toit, Tourist guide

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2009

What an awesome way to experience chilly rainy Hout Bay. Views over the bay and nice warm fires and stunningly fitted rooms. Not to mention the calamari. Wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreNelJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We didn't stay here, but at the Hout Bay Hideaway (see separate review), but ate at the restaurant. We had champagne on the terrace, which is wonderful, but the sunset was spoiled somewhat by the unusually cold and cloudy weather. When we went into the half full restaurant to eat, we both had the calamari, which was excellent. For mains, my Portuguese steak was good and my wife's fillet steak was magnificent - the most tender we have ever eaten. Now the service - no problem for ordering or the starters, a 25 minute wait for the mains, during which another couple complained about their wait and walked out, and then we were abandoned with the desert menu. After 30 minutes, I got some attention only by waving my arms around, and asked for the bill. After a further 10 minutes, we stood up and stared at the waiters lounging by the till, paid the bill and left. I left no tip, and the waiter asked me if i realised if the total did not include service. I replied that did he realise that we had not had any....... So, fantastic food, but spoiled by an absence of management of the waiting staff. Easy to fix, but only if the fault is recognised, which I suspect it is not. A great shame. Go if you have the patience.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.3 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
6.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Property: Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing