We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Nottingham, UK
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Had a great stay, breakfast and dinner were excellent. Our room had a great veiw over the bay. Linda took us up Table Mountain, which was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mors9660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    70
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
136
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I would reccomend a stay, the hospitallity and food are very good

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robintuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Having just enjoyed not one, but two fantastic stays in close succession at this fab hotel I felt compelled to leave some feedback for anyone considering it.
Firstly, we stayed with a mixed group of friends for the Test Match Cricket at Newlands - ideally placed, fun, friendly and fab food. The rooms in the new wing are superb, stylish and spacious.
Secondly, we returned a couple of weeks later before returning home to the UK, just my husband and myself, to pamper ourselves in one of the luxurious Penthouse Suites. Absolutely stunning watching the sun set behind the mountains beyond the bay and harbour from the privacy of our own plunge pool, glass in hand - perfect!
Another note - the hotel is made up of two halves - the original, charming (more affordable) bit and the new, purpose-built, more luxurious wing. The old and new are really well-balanced in my opinion. Also, the fact that the restaurant and bar is busy and bustling in its own right, quite unlike many hotel restaurants, so you really feel like you're in the midst of everything when you're staying there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Chapmans Peak Hotel is a joining of the very new to the very old. The original hotel pre-dates the motor car, the new should be complete by the time you read this.
We had booked one of the two new penthouse suites in the new hotel, so new that their web site had used impressions of the interiors. Unlike most impressions, they were totally accurate. The rooms are large, bright, airy and very comfortable. A large living/dining area with a fitted kitchen if you want to do your own cooking. A separate bedroom, equally large and airy. Everything bright and modern. Outside is a very large roof terrace, the full width of the suite, with electrically operated blinds and a jacuzzi at one end. The views are fantastic, a sweeping panorama over Hout Bay and back in to towards the mountains.
So we settled in for two days of total relaxation. And then the problem started...
Because the new hotel is cut into the side of a steep hill the only location for the new swimming pool is just around the corner of the same hill. And the only access to the pool is by a stairway that runs up the side of the hill and around to the pool. This stairway is right beside the penthouse, and is higher. All traffic to and from the pool will overlook the penthouse terrace. Bad enough, but the staircase was still being constructed, with welders finishing the steel handrails. The noise was incredible. This is where a hotel can be really measured - by their response to a problem. First contact was with the owner, who introduced himself to us by shouting across from the stairway. After a somewhat difficult conversation he somewhat reluctantly agreed that the steel cutting would be postponed until after we left, but insisted the welding must continue. A bottle of wine was left as compensation,
Next morning we woke to make eye contact with the welders as we opened the bedroom curtains. Not a good start to the day, and once again the terrace was unusable until the welders left in mid afternoon.
When finished, the new pool area is going to be spectacular. High above the road, with a large pool set into a modern deck, plenty of recliners, shades and showers. Again, with spectacular views over the bay.
We spoke with the owners daughter just before leaving, and only wish we had met her earlier. Her approach was professional and efficient. We outlined the problem, she immediately resolved the issues that could be resolved and offered compensation for those that could not. However, she also agreed that something would have to be done to retain some degree of privacy on the roof terrace once the pool is opened, and thats going to be difficult to achieve. If it can be done, then the penthouse suites will offer a spectacular and luxurious stay in Hout Bay. If it cannot, then I suspect problems lie ahead.
I await later reviews with interest.....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidO'Connor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

What a fantastic stay we had, everything just seemed to happen for us, the room was absolutly 1st class, the resturant was brilliant, the bar was excellent, the new swimming pool was delightful, the staff could not have been any more helpfull. Our complements to the management for achieving this level of service & facility.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridgwayrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel's location is lovely, lying at the foot of Chapman's Peak, yet another wonder of the world in our opinion! One of a kind, this historic, family run hotel is sublime, from it's reflection of a bygone era and yet modern in it's style and comfort, to the fabulous food and wine.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NativoCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Tow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2010

From the moment we walked into the hotel, I could feel the luxury surround us, the warm friendly staff, to the magnifiient room with a view of the ocean, the room is well equipped with the beautiful well thought out furniture pieces, that are luxurious, yet extrememly comfortable, one is transformed into a seafront paradise... The resturant has magnificent food, I can definately recommend the Portugese steak, with a crisp glass of white wine,, yummy will definately be back for more.. All in all and outstanding hotel with all the mod cons, yet remaining comfortable and charming..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.3 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Property: Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing