We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“irish hospitality in the karoo”
Review of Mai's Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mai's Guest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“irish hospitality in the karoo”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

mai is just fantastic
what a great place to be in mai'"s guest lodge
spent 2 nights in february
was very impress by mai, the rooms,the breakfast
she host us in such a way that i can't wait to be back
thanking you mai
paolo from brussels

Room Tip: they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolo4304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    43
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
125
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Easily found in the Main Street of Prince Albert we parked immediately outside Mai's Guest Lodge and stumbled out of the car after a long journey from the Eastern Cape, looking forward to an evening of relaxation. We were immediately greeted by Mai and spent the next half hour draped over the comfortable seating in her hallway chatting about a variety of topics. We felt as if we had known her for years.

Mai showed us to our rooms which were individually styled, air conditioned and comfortable, and we prepared for our evening out in Prince Albert. Mai was happy to talk us through the benefits of the local bars and eateries with a few anecdotes adding some interesting and amusing detail.

After a comfortable night we arrived for breakfast and were treated to a freshly prepared feast served under the vines in the rear garden.

Without doubt a great place to stay with the personal touch of a friendly and caring owner.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old basing
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We booked Mai's because of its ranking on Tripadvisor - having previously stayed in other establishments in Prince Albert that were good, but not exceptional enough to warrant a return visit.
However, Mai's is somewhere we will return to - as soon as we get the opportunity.
The rooms - we looked at all of them, but chose the outside room - are all great. It's remarkable how naturally cool they are when it is really hot - although they do have air-conditioning.
Mai is a wonderful hostess - such a warm and welcoming person. Our breakfast was really good and, if we hadn't been in such a hurry to get back to the coast, we would have stayed another day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We came by recommendation. Mai wanted of course know from who :-) We had the lovely seperate bedroom near the pool. We had two perfect days. Good advices and reservations for dinner. Really Mai, we loved it very much. And those cats???? No problem, I don't like them very much, but THEY only like YOU, so no guest will ever be molested by these lucky creatures who also found your perfect hospitality. Thank You Mai.

Room Tip: Rooms inside the house are constantly airconditioned, the seperate room near the pool you can cool y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, THe Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My partner and I spent five weeks travelling South Africa during December and January and stayed in many different B&Bs and guesthouses. We are both in agreement that our most memorable and enjoyable stay was at Mai's.

We felt welcome from the start and Mai's warm hearted hospitality and attention to quality is what made this stay stand out.

The location is perfect; central and within walking distance of all attractions in town. Our room was spacious, impeccably clean and well-maintained with all the necessary amenities, we even had our own fridge and the cool air conditioning was a welcome escape from the heat outside. Fresh milk for making coffee and tea and a stash of cookies are provided every day.

There is no wi-fi connection but many restaurants in the street do offer free wi-fi if you really have the need to go online - we did not and preferred to relax with a nice book on the cool veranda. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast every morning served by the ladies of the house. The selection of warm and cold breakfast menu items were just right, freshly prepared and well served. Mai's suggestion on what to do and where to eat were spot on and she even helped us by making the restaurant bookings for us.

We found Mai's guest house via Tripadvisor, it was not possible to book online but Mai was quick to reply to our e-mail enquiry.

Prins Albert is a lovely little town and a worthwhile stop en route to Cape Town via Route 62. If you do decide to spend a night or two you will do well when choosing Mai's.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Mai is an excellent host and the rooms are cosy and well appointed. Breakfast was delicious. It is deservedly number one in Prince Albert if you are looking for somewhere quaint and unpretentious to stay with great hospitality. We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is our 3rd stay at Mai's and we just love it! Mai is such a wonderful host and for us she is number 1 in Prince Albert. Her B & B is very comfortable and her breakfast is always excellent, but her great asset is her personality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy006, Owner at Mai's Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2015
Hi Clive,

Please contact me.

All the best

Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#7 of 20 in Prince Albert
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai's Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai's Guest Lodge

Property: Mai's Guest Lodge
Address: 81 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai’s Guest Lodge offers four comfortable, air-conditioned, double bedrooms, each with a bathroom-en-suite (with shower). Three rooms have an additional single bed and the family room has bunk beds. Mai serves a hearty, cooked breakfast on the terrace or in the sunny dining room. There's a comfortable lounge, shady patios, a sheltered swimming pool and the peace of a village lifestyle. Mai’s has a three star rating from the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mai's Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing