We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfort and charisma!”
other travellers have booked this property
Street view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street view
Street entrance with parking Private patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Street view
Street entrance with parking
Private patio
Street terrace
Dining area
Lounge seating
Kitchen detail 2
Kitchen detail
Kitchen detail
Kitchen stoves
Bedroom
Bedroom view
Bedroom view 3
View from bedroom to bathroom
View from bedroom to bathroom 2
En suite bathroom
Monogrammed bathrobes, walk-in shower
Bathtub
Bath tub
Pool terrace with sunbeds
Garden and pool terrace
Pool courtyard with view towards cottage
Shared courtyard pool with seating niche
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
ariellaro...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfort and charisma!”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a perfect little gem! This cottage is the most delightful romantic getaway spot and we loved the attention to detail and decor which infuses the space with character and charm. Sally has put so much thought into The Artists Cottage and we wanted for nothing: a lovely large bath, heated towel rails and robes, enormous bed with electric blankets and a sunny terrace to enjoy our morning coffee. Can't wait to be back and to enjoy this gorgeous treasure again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thank you Ariella and Marcus - it was a pleasure to meet and host you. Super that you enjoyed your stay - I look forward to welcoming you back some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Creative gem that exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This gem of a place is charming. Unique, tasteful, well thought out and a joy to be in. Many self catering places are standard in their response to the needs of their visitors, the boxes are ticked but they lack the individuality that makes the place memorable. This cottage is different. Everything is about the look and feel. Yes it covers all the bases, good bed, well stocked kitchen, air con, good shower, TV (if you must) etc. but the artist's eye makes it special and Sally has lavished it with her creative talent.

The cottage is immaculately clean, the adjoining stoop a lovely place to shade from the heat and read, the pool (which is shared with Sally) is beautiful and inviting. Yes the cottage is close to the main house, but Sally is so discrete you will not be bothered by that.

This is our third trip to a Prince Albert and we loved this place the best. Don't get me wrong, we have enjoyed all our stays, but this we liked the best and that is principally down to the quality of the cottage. If self catering is not your thing, then treat the cottage like an hotel and eat all your meals in town which is just round the corner. That is what we did, eating only breakfast in the cottage from the well stocked fridge that Sally had arranged before we arrived.

We intend to revisit this one...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thank you so much Charles and Craig. It was a great pleasure having you stay! Looking forward to seeing you again, either in Wales or the Karoo :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCPT
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Time out in the Karoo”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We do an annual trek to the Karoo over new year. Always a few days to recharge and Prince Albert is one of our favourites.

The cottage is equipped with pretty much everything and comes with a range of goodies. If you're flying in, just arriving with a suitcase is fine, no need for a cork screw and no need for a swimming towel, it's all supplied.

Easy walking distance to all the restaurants in the village. You do share the pool though, in normal circumstances. The aircon is above the bed.

We had a fantastic time in Prince Albert and the cottage was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you Walter, happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to meeting you on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRCScotsi...
Scots in Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage for a peaceful stay”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked online because we loved what we saw and we were not disappointed. The Cottage is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures, tucked away in a quiet street, but an easy walk into the village. It is totally private, bathed in sunlight most of the day and with the added bonus of the pool. The bedroom was very comfortable and all the rest of the facilities were just what is needed. Sally could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful - especially when it came to booking dinner (you must try the Olive Branch round the corner))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location just a few minutes walk from the centre of the village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you so much Hazel and Andy, and for choosing the Artist's Cottage. Our aim is not to disappoint, it's great to hear we've succeeded.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne k
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Tasteful comfortable accommodation with a beautiful pool.
Loved chatting to our cosmopolitan host Sally.
We will definitely return.
Thank you Sally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
Thank you Joanne, I look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMG
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We spent two nights at the Artist's Cottage and enjoyed our stay very much. The cottage is very cozy, well decorated and very quiet. Sally is a delightful host. She made us feel welcome, made several excellent restaurant suggestions and even made bookings for us. We will definitely come back next time we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Merci beaucoup Michel et Nathalie. Buon voyage et bonne rentr�e!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elzet U
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Karoo-Peace”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This quaint cottage is furnished with bright, happy colours.
The bedroom and bath room is lovely and the bedroom opens onto the veranda.
The kitchen is well equipped to for self -catering.
We found the dining area small, but with access to a lovely veranda with a table and chairs, this was not an issue.
On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Sally, the owner. We also found a basket of fruit, yoghurt, eggs and milk in the fridge. A lovely gesture, as this was not expected.
The garden and the courtyard with the pool is very peaceful.
The cottage is within easy walking distance from shops and restaurants in and around this town.
A true-Karoo cottage in a peaceful setting.
We loved our stay. A visit to Sally's studio is a must. Thank you sally for sharing your place with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting.and hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
Thank you Elzet, lovely meeting you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing