We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Karoo Khaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karoo Khaya
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family and I had the pleasure of staying here in April and we thoroughly enjoyed our time. The gardens were beautiful and the rooms spacious and clean. We loved the quirky and original decorating of the rooms which has inspired us with many ideas. Megan was friendly and very helpful. Was the loveliest place we stayed at in South Africa!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karookhaya, Owner at Karoo Khaya, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Hi Robyn
So appreciated your review.
Thanks and kind regards
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    15
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenton-on-Sea, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I agree with the reviewers that indicate that this (no 4) is beautifully decorated, clean, beautiful garden (even a vegetable garden to pick from!). We stayed two nights, and relaxed in the Karoo atmosphere in Prins Albert. But..... it was in January, and we really suffered! There is no air conditioning in the chalet (although there is a huge fan!) - and even outside we suffered. So, if you want to visit Prins Albert and stay in this cottage, do not do it in January!. We also had a bit of disturbance of two small (local) boys who used the small swimming pool, but because of the heat, we really excused them!

Room Tip: Chalet no 4 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logymurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uitenhage, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

These are beautifully decorated, clean cottages and offer a very reasonable rate. The friendly hostess, Megan, sold Prince Albert to us. The cottages have braai facilities in the beautiful garden. A visit to Gamkas Kloof is a must and the Gallery Cafe serves a divine meal. We will definitely visit Karoo Khaya again. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karookhaya, Owner at Karoo Khaya, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Thanks so much Shelley
Looking forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

THis is a very quaint Karoo style small-holding. The garden, lawn and swimming pool lends to the laid back atmosphere and the host Megan will be more than happy to give you an overview of things to do in town. The decor is typical Karoo and the mosquitos are a bit of pain at night but stay cozy behind the Angel-mosquito net and you will be fine. We recommend!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Comfortable and spacious our accommodation also had a small kitchen with fridge and supplies to make meals if you chose to. Although no TV in rooms there is a bar/common room which has a TV which Megan made available for us. Good all round we would visit again

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We would come back to this place in a second, it's an absolute gem! Super friendly host, Megan, was there to welcome us when we arrived and chatted us up like we were old family friends. She had great recommendations (The Gallery Restaurant and the Ghost Tour with Ailsa…do them both!) to help us get to know town in the short time we had.

We were pleasantly surprised what a nice place it was considering the price we paid. All four cottages face into a lovely green garden area, great for braai or just hanging out in the sun. The entire property was an oasis of gardens and fruit trees that we were free to pick off of.

The cottage itself was super comfy, well kitted out for some light self-catering with fridge, coffee, kettle, and dinnerware (some of the other cottages are full self-catering). Completely original decorating with all sorts of repurposed furniture and light fixtures, very upscale rustic feel. So much character and thoughtfulness put into everything (the clawfoot tub even had a jar of bubble bath :).

Hope to be back, such a lovely spot!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ochtrup, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Karoo Khaya. Megan is a wonderful host. She gave us a tour through the garden and all the veggies and fruits where really mouth watering. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated.
We would love to come back and will definitely recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolandaschooneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.1 mi away
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karoo-Rust
Karoo-Rust
#13 of 20 in Prince Albert
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Khaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Khaya

Property: Karoo Khaya
Address: 1 Sonskyn Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karoo Khaya 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karoo Khaya has 4 cottages on a small-holding within the beautiful town of Prince Albert. Your hosts, Pete and Megan, would like you to feel that this is a relaxing home away from home. Share our passion for the Karoo and our property! Feel free to wander through our huge fruit and veggie garden and olive orchards (and pick from it for your dinner!). The kids will love to visit our animals in their free range home and are welcome to help at feeding time. There are no streetlights or town noises to spoil that special Karoo tranquility... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Karoo Khaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing