We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Loganda Karoo Lodge(Touwsrivier)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schoone Oordt Country House(Swellendam)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
96
33
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
33
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa small balcony overlookingwell run guest housegreat stopcape townlovely experienceevery aspectglass of wineonly stayed one nightlovely breakfastswimming poolgreat place to stayother guestswine routerobertson valleyguntherfilegarden
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was a very clean and well kept property, and the owners were exceedingly hospitable. From the delicious German-inspired breakfast spread to our early morning checkout, Bertina & her husband welcomed us like family friends. Housecleaning would go into the room despite a "do not disturb sign", although one of these intrusions resulted in warm water bottles in our beds, which was welcome during the cold winter night. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuBas-DeHoek, Inhaber at GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Esther,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and your feedback, which is very much appreciated.
We respect very much the privacy from our guests and the only reason, why this did happen could be, that the wind has maybe blown the sign away.
Once again, we apologize for that, but are also very happy to hear, that this mistake did end so well.
Well definitely put this on the agenda of our next team meeting.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Had a great time with the owners, very good people always ready to help. Breakfast was always good. very clean and comfortable place to stay. Will return and visit them in the future. thank you Gubas de Hoek.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here in December 2011. I still remember and recollect all the fond memories I have of our South Africa trip and great places like Gubas De Hoek.

Balbina was a great host. We arrived late and were quickly escorted to our rooms. After a long drive from Oudtshoorn, the upkeep and charm of this hidden jewel bedazzled us. We were a big group of 16 in all & Balbina took great care of us. One of the friendliest hosts I have seen in a long time. Had a very comfortable stay. We cooked our own Indian dinner in the kitchen but had the pleasure of sampling breakfast from them. Great, tasty and clean .... just what we needed. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajatgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had a fabulous time, Bertina and her husband are excellent hosts and the room we stayed in was perfect. For a winter stay a bath would have been nicer in the room (because the shower is open-no door). Other than that it was perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Celeste And Gra... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at this wonderful guest house for our anniversary weekend.
We were so impressed with Robertson as we usually just drive through.
The Accomodation was great from the start to the finish with great hosts and overall lovely experience.Such a wonderful weekend, Will definately be back to Robertson.
Wonderful Town, Wonderful Wine, Wonderful Food and Wonderful People.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheHyde777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews