We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loganda Karoo Lodge(Touwsrivier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
96
33
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
33
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa small balcony overlookingwell run guest housegreat stopcape townlovely experienceevery aspectglass of wineonly stayed one nightlovely breakfastswimming poolgreat place to stayother guestswine routerobertson valleyguntherfilegarden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Gubas De Hoek is clean and well-kept. From the photo's we looked at before booking, we expected an open and lovely communal area with fireplace and couches where we would be able to relax. We arrived on a winter afternoon to be told there will be no fire tonight, as all the guests would be out. But they would start a fire if we wanted them to. An hour later, we went to the 'communal' area, but it really felt like we were invading the space of the owners, as it is their own living room, where they were watching television.
Unfortunately, the bed was also extremely small for two people. Didn't sleep well at all.
But we did find a lovely little restaurant on the main road, called "Passio". Great food and service and they seated us right by the fire.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuBas-DeHoek, Manager at GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Miss Pout,

Thank you very much for your feedback, which is very much appreciated.
We’re always a bit sad, when we don’t achieve to create a home from home for our guest, especially when it seems that the reason for it is the communication.

It is right, that the room has a double bed, which is very much loved by single guests and young South African couples.
Noticing, that you were two ladies in the room I did specially mention, that this room has a double bed and I did offer you a room with a kingsize bed with a twin option. You denied that offer with the argument, that this bedsize is fine and you were very good friends.

It is right, that we have a big lovely lounge with a fire place, where we serve breakfast and dinner. On that evening, no dinner was booked and all other guests were going out.
I did inform you about that, meaning no body else will be in the lounge and I also told you, that certainly I’ll make a fire for you, if you wish and that the lounge is serviced and will be open until 10h30.
This was not denied by you, so I made immediately a nice open fire for you, because I thought, you’ll appreciate that.
It is also right, that me and my husband, we’re waiting for you the whole evening, watching TV in the meanwhile, because we had to occupy and watch after the open fire, which we specially made for you.
It is also right, that you did not make use of the lounge the whole evening and I only saw you again the next morning.

I do agree that this misunderstanding was very disappointing for both sides. In the age of smart phones and computers, we might have to learn again, how to communicate for a better understanding and to experience good service and a home from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Thank you to the owners. We arrived late at about ten o' clock at night without a reservation but they were so friendly and caring. We slept so well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast that Gunther prepared for us.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mari And Hennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was a very clean and well kept property, and the owners were exceedingly hospitable. From the delicious German-inspired breakfast spread to our early morning checkout, Bertina & her husband welcomed us like family friends. Housecleaning would go into the room despite a "do not disturb sign", although one of these intrusions resulted in warm water bottles in our beds, which was welcome during the cold winter night. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuBas-DeHoek, Inhaber at GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Esther,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and your feedback, which is very much appreciated.
We respect very much the privacy from our guests and the only reason, why this did happen could be, that the wind has maybe blown the sign away.
Once again, we apologize for that, but are also very happy to hear, that this mistake did end so well.
Well definitely put this on the agenda of our next team meeting.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Had a great time with the owners, very good people always ready to help. Breakfast was always good. very clean and comfortable place to stay. Will return and visit them in the future. thank you Gubas de Hoek.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here in December 2011. I still remember and recollect all the fond memories I have of our South Africa trip and great places like Gubas De Hoek.

Balbina was a great host. We arrived late and were quickly escorted to our rooms. After a long drive from Oudtshoorn, the upkeep and charm of this hidden jewel bedazzled us. We were a big group of 16 in all & Balbina took great care of us. One of the friendliest hosts I have seen in a long time. Had a very comfortable stay. We cooked our own Indian dinner in the kitchen but had the pleasure of sampling breakfast from them. Great, tasty and clean .... just what we needed. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajatgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews