We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Ranked #8 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived here very tired after a long car journey along the R62, we were warmly greeted and asked if we needed a dinner reservation made for us in a local restaurant. As were so tired, they offered to prepare for us a table with cold meats and cheese. This was perfect and just what we wanted, and we enjoyed our supper in our hosts delightful period living room, complete with a glass of excellent red wine. Our room was directly opposite the pool and with easy access from the secure car parking area. The room was spacious and very clean, the large bed very comfortable, very firm which suited us and we both had an excellent nights sleep. The bathroom was open plan and with a large walk in shower, but no bath, the toilet was in a seperate room. Wifi was available for a very small charge, we had the continental breakfast option and this was excellent and sufficient for our needs. This guest house is in a lovely location within the delightful town of Robertson, deservedly popular, I can think of no reason not to recommend a stay very highly, we hope to return one day, and enjoy the company of the charming hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garygeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Balbina and Guenter have created a beautiful and charming guest house with much flair and attention to detail. Each room is very individually and tastefully decorated. Guenters cooking and Balbinas talent as a host are a powerful combination . We had a wonderful dinner in the boma outside where a delicious and beautifully prepared breakfast was also served.
You won't go wrong coming to this lovely guest house, this was my third time!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquibcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I've stayed in Robertson once. This was my first choice considering other TripAdvisor reviews and additional internet searches.

Would definitely go back!

Self-catering facilities are available should you require (exterior kitchen, incl. access to a gorgeous fresh herb garden), a wonderful host and dedicated, friendly staff compliment.

We used the wonderful outdoor braai / patio / pool area and well equipped kitchen for our evening meal.

Conveniently located in a beautiful town with 52!!! excellent wine estates within easy driving distance.

Superb hospitality all around and we were made to feel comfortable and relaxed.

Breakfast was an al-fresco hot and cold feast, prepared to your preference

Highly recommend at least 2 nights.

Without being intrusive, the owners are always available to take assist their guests.

We were looked after throughout our stay, and made to feel at home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuBas-DeHoek, Inhaber at GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Visitor

thank you for this wonderful feedback and we're glad to hear that you felt home from home.
It'll be motivation for us and our team to continue to create a home for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great and very personal service, exceptional food and wine! An oasis in the otherwise busy town of Robertson. Guba's de Hoek is always one of the highlights of our annual South Africa bicycle tours. Can't wait to return in 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joerg Jockel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We needed an overnight stop between Cape Town and the Garden Route and chose to stay at Gubas De Hoek. It turned out to be an excellent choice. All we needed was a quiet, comfortable room to spend the night and that is exactly what we got. In addition, we were welcomed by a very friendly host and enjoyed the opportunity to relax in the lovely garden around the pool. The room was cool for a summers day and the bed very comfortable. Should you choose to stay over in Robertson then Gubas de hoek is a very good choice.

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 829PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Gubas De Hoek is clean and well-kept. From the photo's we looked at before booking, we expected an open and lovely communal area with fireplace and couches where we would be able to relax. We arrived on a winter afternoon to be told there will be no fire tonight, as all the guests would be out. But they would start a fire if we wanted them to. An hour later, we went to the 'communal' area, but it really felt like we were invading the space of the owners, as it is their own living room, where they were watching television.
Unfortunately, the bed was also extremely small for two people. Didn't sleep well at all.
But we did find a lovely little restaurant on the main road, called "Passio". Great food and service and they seated us right by the fire.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuBas-DeHoek, Manager at GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Miss Pout,

Thank you very much for your feedback, which is very much appreciated.
We’re always a bit sad, when we don’t achieve to create a home from home for our guest, especially when it seems that the reason for it is the communication.

It is right, that the room has a double bed, which is very much loved by single guests and young South African couples.
Noticing, that you were two ladies in the room I did specially mention, that this room has a double bed and I did offer you a room with a kingsize bed with a twin option. You denied that offer with the argument, that this bedsize is fine and you were very good friends.

It is right, that we have a big lovely lounge with a fire place, where we serve breakfast and dinner. On that evening, no dinner was booked and all other guests were going out.
I did inform you about that, meaning no body else will be in the lounge and I also told you, that certainly I’ll make a fire for you, if you wish and that the lounge is serviced and will be open until 10h30.
This was not denied by you, so I made immediately a nice open fire for you, because I thought, you’ll appreciate that.
It is also right, that me and my husband, we’re waiting for you the whole evening, watching TV in the meanwhile, because we had to occupy and watch after the open fire, which we specially made for you.
It is also right, that you did not make use of the lounge the whole evening and I only saw you again the next morning.

I do agree that this misunderstanding was very disappointing for both sides. In the age of smart phones and computers, we might have to learn again, how to communicate for a better understanding and to experience good service and a home from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Thank you to the owners. We arrived late at about ten o' clock at night without a reservation but they were so friendly and caring. We slept so well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast that Gunther prepared for us.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mari And Hennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.2 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
5.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
7.0 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Oude Opstal
De Oude Opstal
#6 of 25 in Robertson
98 reviews
5.5 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep

Address: 45 Reitz Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £66 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a guest house - it is home. Since 2005 GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep is the only eco-friendly, owner-managed guest house offering a fine dining cuisine, headed by a German master chef in the Robertson Wine Valley at the Route 62 on your way from Cape Town – Garden Route or vice versa. Enjoy a sundowner by the pool before the culinary feast will be served in the garden or in the stylish lounge. Guests have the choice between 2 self-catering units, as well as contemporary en-suite guest rooms with private terrace, where old-world charm meets modern comfort. (2 are wheel chair friendly) Local artist are exhibiting their art and the travelling masseur cares for body and soul. Klipdrift, Robertson Winery, Four Cousins, restaurants and shops are in walking distance. The Silwerstrand golf course, various hiking and biking trails and the Robertson Wine Route are only minutes away. With free WIFI you’ll stay connected and your car is parked safe. See you there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing