We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robertson Backpackers
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This must be one of the best backpackers I have stayed at.. great facilities, especially the kitchen and chill out areas. Loved drinking my morning coffee under the vines, quiet and clean.
All that you need and more.... keep it up guys...

Room Tip: the garden en suite rooms are exceptional value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We came for one night. At the first evening the welcoming was great and the owner recommended for some stuff to do.. But the morning after the attitude quiet changed- my girl friend found herself in the morning changing showers putting a towel on herself and after asking the owner if there is a hot water, her answer was "if you don't have, so not" and after that just started redo couples argue with the owner for the basic requirement (normal shower). In general we can't recommend about that place, and we felt a bad vibe there...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanChernok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndabes, Owner at Robertson Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
I am sorry to hear that your girlfriend did not get a hot shower . To explain the situation, we have 3 geysers. The main & largest geyser is in the main house. Unfortunately, the main house you were in was fully booked & every-one used the showers, more or less at the same time. Unfortunately your girlfriend was the last to use the showers. If she had of just brought it to our attention, instead of throwing “I’m a Princess” hissy fit, I’m sure there would have been no perceived bad vibe or attitude. There was an alternative shower in one of the unused garden en-suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

There was not much going on in sleepy Robertson, but the countryside hotel/hostel/homestay of Robertson backpackers made a great impression on us. We were there in low season with winter on the way, which made it a bit cold in the room. The room was in good shape with, it seemed, a newly renovated bathroom. The house itself has a large communal area with a well equiped kitchen and a large garden. When the old dog shuffles up to you and rolls on its back to be petted you can't help but feeling right at home!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tveld86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The house itself is full of history, I loved the wooden floors and high ceilings. We had a bit of a rushed intro to our room without a proper introduction to our hostess but later on she was very friendly so maybe we caught her at a bad time! The Moroccan Room is the lounge area with hubbly's, a bar and a fire going. Very chilled vibe and we enjoyed being in there! The gardens are lovely and there are lots of places to sit. The bathroom is outside the main house which is not so great if it's cold (we were there in Winter) and I found there wasn't a shelf or hooks to put your clothes on. We had one very stormy cold day with pouring rain but one lovely day with some sun so the bathroom situation was manageable!
A very clean and well equipped kitchen or you can order home cooked meals.

Room Tip: We were right by the front door so a room further away may be better or perhaps even one of the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KimandRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

What a gem this place is! This lovely house with nice communal areas for sitting by the fire or watching a DVD (there are many to choose from free of charge). Bikes are available to hire for wine tours and the information from the friendly staff is great. Kitchen was clean and fully stoked with utensils to use. We pitched our tent so can't comment in the rooms but they looked tidy from the outside.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Sinai, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Returned to Robertson Backpackers again this weekend and enjoyed a supurb wine tasting and a family-and-friends river trip down the Breede.
As always Lynda and Kevin were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The fans in the rooms helped with the heat and we had a really great time.
We will be back again for sure.

Room Tip: The outside rooms are my favourite. En-suite and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docd869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The house\rooms\garden are lovely. The owners are knowledgable, friendly and nice. They have a fantastic garden and braai area which made for one our nicest evenings. All the other guests and owners had a big cook up on the braai; Really social and fun.

Great value, we stayed in double room with shared bathrooms. Everything really good. Lovely kitchen.... not more i can say.

I have uploaded some photographs too.

We had a nice walk around the town, great location for vine yards too

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jburrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.8 mi away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#13 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge Guest House
Cedar Lodge Guest House
#10 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#11 of 23 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 23 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robertson Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson Backpackers

Property: Robertson Backpackers
Address: 4 Dordrecht Avenue | on Route 62, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Robertson
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quite country backpackers situated in the town of Robertson.Our accommodation ranges from large dormitory and double rooms to luxury en-suite garden rooms. We have 3 communal lounges and a wonderful garden to enjoy so there is always a place to find a quite spot, so it never seems crowded. The kitchen is well equipped and meals may be ordered on request.We also offer River Rafting and Wine Tours which must be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Robertson Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing