We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing guest house but when special events should be notified to guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This guest house was amazing and the fact that wine is included in the room rate is an added bonus. Breakfast was lovely and the setting with pool was also amazing but the owner needs to tell people prior that she is hosting a concert as we were after a quiet night away and were subjected to loud music up till midnight. James the waiter was brilliant too!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brendan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed on the Friday night and was entertained by Romanc 4 African singers. They were really good. The local people brought picnic baskets and sat on the lawn- superb. The pool was excellent and clean and the service was excellent. We enjoyed the wine tasting and the use of the golf buggy to take us around the estate. The dogs came with us - it was a good time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

As it happened, all the accommodation is Swellendam was taken because of a "bike race" weekend, so we booked at Excelsior Manor as a venue for meeting up with very dear friends from Mossel Bay. . Thank goodness we did. We couldn't have chosen a better location, it was just perfect. We stayed in Gondolier room which was superbly appointed and it was like staying in a room in days gone by. Thanks also for a terrific concert on the Friday night at which the main attraction was no less than ROMANZ...wow, wow and wow !! signed CDs no less.
We hope to stay there again on our South African travels sometime, the hosts, staff , accommodation and food, not to mention the stunning views and the ~golf cart ride, the magnificent pool and the adorable extremely friendly doggies just added to the equation. Big thanks to James as well,

Room Tip: maybe possibly avoid one close to the stoep in case late revelers decide to stay up and chat,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownRiebeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in the Octavius room. A large, comfortable and well appointed suite. The luxury and opulence of the room reminded us of a time gone by. Thank you to Carin and James. The food was of exceptional quality, compliments to the chef. Carin, thank you for organising the special tour; we enjoyed every minute. The golf cart ride with the dogs though the vine yards was something that we will cherish for the rest of our lives. Ah yes, and the wine .... there is a reason we ordered so many boxes. Thank you :-)

Room Tip: The Octavius suite is quite spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elize E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We just got married at Excelsior and we couldn't have wished for a better venue for our wedding. The views are stunning, the food was delicious and the staff made us feel so welcome.
We and our guests felt so spoiled to be there.
We want to specifically thank Carin for all her hard work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anastasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We've been here twice now for a weekend getaway from Cape Town. It's one of the prettiest wineries I've stayed at - beautiful views, comfortable rooms - a lovely old manor, a real home away from home.

Our host is lovely and service has always been of an excellent standard. We particularly enjoy taking the golf cart out around the vineyards with a bottle of wine and doing some exploring with the friendly winery's jack russell for company.

Location is great - as there are many wineries close by to go visit. We will definitely be back again and again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gen12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Wonderful walks in the wineyards, nice rooms, great living room area with fire place, friendly welcome, beautiful rose garden, breakfast was ok, for Restaurants about 10-15 Min. driving time to Montague (Ye old Tavern excellent) or Robertson, free wine mixing and botteling in the Excelsior winery was fun

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cupcake1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
14.8 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
375 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
3.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 25 in Robertson
582 reviews
3.5 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
145 reviews
7.9 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Manor Guesthouse

Address: C/O Excelsior Estate | R317 Robertson/Bonnievale, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Manor Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, in the heart of the Robertson Wine Valley, is a Cape Revival manor built during the ostrich feather boom of the early 1900s. Having been recently lovingly restored to its former glory, it offers quiet luxury and personal hospitality. Set in a mature and graceful garden, with shady trees and fragrant roses, the Manor has nine homely bedrooms, with ensuite bathrooms, and exudes old world charm. Generous home cooked country breakfasts and delicious three course dinners are served in the traditional dining room or on the raised deck overlooking the swimming pool with a view over the vineyards to the Langeberg mountains. Excelsior is a working wine farm which has been in the de Wet family for 5 generations since 1859. Guests are invited to explore the 250 hectare farm either on foot or in the golf cart provided. There is a tasting centre, set on the picturesque dam, where guests are invited to try the range of Excelsior Wines and to blend their 'own creation'. Each of the nine unique luxury bedrooms at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse has a history linked to a famous thoroughbred or hackney horse that was previously bred on Excelsior Estate. All the rooms are ensuite and are equipped with the following:•Complimentary water, chocolates and a small bottle of local Muskadel•Towels •Hairdryer •Tea & coffee facility •Bathrobe & slippers •Bathroom amenities •Wireless internet connection is available in the lounge area •Clock radio/ alarm •International plugs Octavius - Octavius Caeser, the first thoroughbred sire introduced to Excelsior, was bought by Koos de Wet in 1873 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Excelsior Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing