We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect stay in Robertson” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Manor Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 24 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect stay in Robertson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

A lovely guest house with high ceilings, beautiful decor and antiques. The huge pool has a magnificent view of the estate's vineyards and is best enjoyed with a cold beer served by the super efficient and friendly, James. The wine tasting is just a walk away where you are able to blend your own wines which is alot of fun - thank you Andries and the very friendly lady behind the counter who kept us in tastings and lovely cheese plates. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Octavius room is well worth the little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    62
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
206
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The booking was last minute and I wasn't sure what to expect. I must say I was very impressed with the place. It's peaceful, quiet and the perfect place for a couples get away. It's one of those places where you feel like you should be whispering in order to avoid breaking the tranquil environment. We booked dinner which was a three course meal. Well prepared, tasteful and accompanied by fabulous selection of Excelsior wines. We took breakfast next to the pool with a beautiful view of the vineyards. The only downside was that I only stayed for one night. I'm already making arrangements to get back here and I'm taking some good friends with me, and this time I'm going to stay a little longer. Too beautiful to just pass through.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We a family of 4 ( with 2 teens), stayed for 2 nights, and our arrival date was dec 24th. The very helpful, charming lady of the house immediately proposed we could join a christmas dinner, although we forgot to request this upfront. We very much appreciated this! Food, wines, serviced by the very friendly, smiling James made it a nice christmas eve!
The pool, with views over the vignards, the wine tasting at the lake, the trips with the golf-car ( including the little dogs joining us) in the vignards made the stay more than worth!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We experienced excellent service, friendly staff and breathtaking wine farm surrounds. We stayed in the Octavius room, which leads out onto stunning patio and beautiful gardens. Best part... all of it. The morning swim overlooking vineyards, golf cart drive and picnic, old-style romantic bath and decor, complementary mascadel, great wines, full delicious breakfast, time to unwind and relax. The blending of our own wine was an unexpected surprise and such a delight. We have been married for 9 years, but I almost wish I could get married again since I would choose this spot. I was a little nervous when the dogs wanted to come with on the golfcart (I'm typically nervous of other people's dogs), but they were so extremely friendly and sweet. Ended up loving the dogs. Thanks so much Carin and James. We will definitely return and we recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Octavius room opens out onto a beautiful patio and gardens. Close the curtains over the patio door t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SVW212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scots in Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have stayed at Excelsior every time and always wonder if we can possibly enjoy it as much as the last time - but each time we do! The situation is stunning, the house, rooms and pool are captivating and the service from Carin and her team cannot be bettered. We will be back and can thoroughly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRCScotsinSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Here you get to taste wine as well as blend your own Red Wine to take home with you... It is a really unusual and fun experience. We ended up making gifts for friends as it is something unique and different and beats a regular souvenir. Try to make this stop x

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This guest house was amazing and the fact that wine is included in the room rate is an added bonus. Breakfast was lovely and the setting with pool was also amazing but the owner needs to tell people prior that she is hosting a concert as we were after a quiet night away and were subjected to loud music up till midnight. James the waiter was brilliant too!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brendan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
3.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
7.9 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
8.3 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.5 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.9 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Manor Guesthouse

Property: Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Address: C/O Excelsior Estate | R317 Robertson/Bonnievale, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Manor Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, in the heart of the Robertson Wine Valley, is a Cape Revival manor built during the ostrich feather boom of the early 1900s. Having been recently lovingly restored to its former glory, it offers quiet luxury and personal hospitality. Set in a mature and graceful garden, with shady trees and fragrant roses, the Manor has nine homely bedrooms, with ensuite bathrooms, and exudes old world charm. Generous home cooked country breakfasts and delicious three course dinners are served in the traditional dining room or on the raised deck overlooking the swimming pool with a view over the vineyards to the Langeberg mountains. Excelsior is a working wine farm which has been in the de Wet family for 5 generations since 1859. Guests are invited to explore the 250 hectare farm either on foot or in the golf cart provided. There is a tasting centre, set on the picturesque dam, where guests are invited to try the range of Excelsior Wines and to blend their 'own creation'. Each of the nine unique luxury bedrooms at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse has a history linked to a famous thoroughbred or hackney horse that was previously bred on Excelsior Estate. All the rooms are ensuite and are equipped with the following:•Complimentary water, chocolates and a small bottle of local Muskadel•Towels •Hairdryer •Tea & coffee facility •Bathrobe & slippers •Bathroom amenities •Wireless internet connection is available in the lounge area •Clock radio/ alarm •International plugs Octavius - Octavius Caeser, the first thoroughbred sire introduced to Excelsior, was bought by Koos de Wet in 1873 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Excelsior Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing