We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinners and great views over the winelands from pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed with the family and grandparents for a couple of nights in January. The dinner offered with the DBB is very good and some of the meals certainly have star-quality. The wine is free flowing with dinner, so you can drink as much as you please and so do your own relaxed wine tasting while enjoying a delicious meal. The wine tasting at the little tasting centre at the pond was lovely too, but on the days we were there it simply was boiling hot on the verandah during the tasting hours. The snack platter there was quite basic, with some crackers and wrapped cheese bits - this leaves room to improve too..., but oh so yummy biltong! The pool area at the Excelsior Manor offers stunning views over the Winelands and the pool is clean. James who served our meals and serviced the pool area is simply great! Always smiling and obliging. The rooms, especially the bathrooms were not too much to our liking as they were older style with wooden bathroom furniture and two tap basins. The phone was ringing at night also when we were there and this was really bothering us, as we - with rooms closest to the reception area - ended up unhooking the fax in the middle of the night. All in all, good place to stay, especially if you like dogs, as the dogs of the caretaker follow you everywhere and even join you at dinner time…Do I need to mention? The kids loved that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpt4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay, and the food was good, but we would expect more from a place like this.

We would expect more information on what to do, and also get more insight to the wine production. They had a great wine tasting and good wine, but living on a wine farm we would expect some more activities related to this.

There was also a lot of mosquito in the room at night even though we had the net on the window all the time

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in the Guesthouse for 1 night in January 2014, just after the holiday season in South Africa. The guesthouse is situated several kilometres from Ashton, in the middle of wine lands (beautiful views on the wine fields and the mountains). It has a good tasting room (free tasting), with very very good wines. The guesthouse itself has tasteful rooms, with good beds! We had dinner in the guesthouse which was good (not culinary), for 250 ZAR per person including wines! During our stay we had some great relaxing time at the pool (excellent!) and visited some other wineries. Point of improvement may be the receptions at the guesthouse. We were guided to our room, but nothing was told about the estate or possible activities in the surroundings. Further, great value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel suited us well for the three days we were there. Our room was near the Reception area, and we were woken early by people walking on wooden floors and the telephone ringing!
Carin was extremely helpful finding us a RC church to go to and gave us clear directions James was helpful in everyway and looked after our needs.
However we should have preferred to have dinner later than 7 p.m. Food was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mrs Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Most pleasant stay, hospitality and food really good. Loved the location and the gardens. Manageress very good, very helpful. Loved the wine, next time we stop over, and there will be a next time, would like to see more of the wine farm, feel our trip was a bit short, but it was business after all




  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hennie/Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Third time for us at Excelsior Manor and we love the place! It's a wonderful colonial house, nicely decorated and with some great antiques, located close to Robertson in the middle of the estate's vineyards. Great pool, lots of things to do (you can even blend your own wine), very nice staff and superb breakfast. And of course three lovely dogs that we used to play with all the time. One of our favorites in SA, highly recommended!

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms with direct acces to the verandah but they are all nicely furnished and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at the Excelsior Manor Guesthouse. It was the best Accomodation during our 3 week South Africa vacation. It's such a beautiful place!! The staff was so heartwarming friendly and the rooms were just awesome! The food was delicious and the wine, too! :-) We loved it and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
8.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
628 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
662 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
14.8 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
400 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Manor Guesthouse

Address: C/O Excelsior Estate | R317 Robertson/Bonnievale, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £98 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Manor Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, in the heart of the Robertson Wine Valley, is a Cape Revival manor built during the ostrich feather boom of the early 1900s. Having been recently lovingly restored to its former glory, it offers quiet luxury and personal hospitality. Set in a mature and graceful garden, with shady trees and fragrant roses, the Manor has nine homely bedrooms, with ensuite bathrooms, and exudes old world charm. Generous home cooked country breakfasts and delicious three course dinners are served in the traditional dining room or on the raised deck overlooking the swimming pool with a view over the vineyards to the Langeberg mountains. Excelsior is a working wine farm which has been in the de Wet family for 5 generations since 1859. Guests are invited to explore the 250 hectare farm either on foot or in the golf cart provided. There is a tasting centre, set on the picturesque dam, where guests are invited to try the range of Excelsior Wines and to blend their 'own creation'. Each of the nine unique luxury bedrooms at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse has a history linked to a famous thoroughbred or hackney horse that was previously bred on Excelsior Estate. All the rooms are ensuite and are equipped with the following:•Complimentary water, chocolates and a small bottle of local Muskadel•Towels •Hairdryer •Tea & coffee facility •Bathrobe & slippers •Bathroom amenities •Wireless internet connection is available in the lounge area •Clock radio/ alarm •International plugs Octavius - Octavius Caeser, the first thoroughbred sire introduced to Excelsior, was bought by Koos de Wet in 1873 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Excelsior Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing