We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise - Revisited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I try to stay at Excelsior for 3 or 4 nights at least once a year. It is the most perfect place to relax, de-stress and chill out. The manor house is delightful, full of the De Wet family antiques and when sitting down to a delicious home-cooked meal by Carin, the wonderful "multi-tasking" manageress, you can well imagine the elegant dinners enjoyed in the dining room years and years ago. Carin's cooks with lovely fresh ingredients and her delicious dinners are homely and appetising. If you are lucky enough to be there on a night when she's doing bobotie, you'll have the best one in South Africa! The savoury muffins served hot from the oven at breakfast are to die for! Dinner is served accompanied by the delicious Excelsior wines, which flow generously throughout the meal and are included in the price, which makes it tremendously good value for money. The stoops - one in the front and the back of the manor - are wonderful places during the day to sit and relax with a book, usually kept company by Kyla or Tammy, Carin's faithful dogs. The pool and surrounding deck is another delightful place to sit and while away the hours. The scenery is stunning and can be enjoyed from anywhere in or around the manor. I can't speak highly enough about the staff, from Carin, who really puts herself out to help in any way she can, James the butler, who does an excellent job of serving the drinks and dinner and all the girls, who work so hard to keep the place immaculate. There are lots of places to visit in the area, and after our recent stay of 4 nights, we wish we'd stayed longer!

Room Tip: We alway like to have "Azure" (all the rooms are named after race horses), as this is well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabernet08, Owner at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear You

It is when guests become like family that the fun starts.


Carin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

A beautiful old manor house in a wine farm within a stunning valley. Very comfortable room with lovely verandah and superb swimming pool. Caren, owner/manager, is very welcoming and helpful with information about things to do in the area. She also cooks very well! Dinners are accompanied by Exclesior wines, which are included in the dinner price. Thomas also makes a mean gin and tonic! You can also take your own tour around the wine farm on their buggy - usually with at least one of the resident dogs to accompany you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s13andra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabernet08, Owner at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guests

Thanks again for your stay @ Excelsior. We try our best to do good , healthy , home cooking dinners and in the process supplying a service to our guests so that they have the opportunity to drink our wine without the need to driving.

Hope to see you again.

Regards

Carin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Lovely location on a sprawling farm, charming guesthouse and surroundings are spectacular. Golf cart trip around the farm with dogs in tow was the highlight.
Dinner was ordinary and not good value for money, however local wines were fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very agreeable overnight stop in old guesthouse with beautiful views.
We weren't aware that we could dine here and had brought some wine and cheese which we were kindly permitted to eat at a poolside table.
Only negative was the presence of pre- used bedroom slippers.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabernet08, Owner at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Excelsior Friend.

Thank you so much for the review received. Thank you for bringing the slippers under my attention -

Regards
Carin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed with the family and grandparents for a couple of nights in January. The dinner offered with the DBB is very good and some of the meals certainly have star-quality. The wine is free flowing with dinner, so you can drink as much as you please and so do your own relaxed wine tasting while enjoying a delicious meal. The wine tasting at the little tasting centre at the pond was lovely too, but on the days we were there it simply was boiling hot on the verandah during the tasting hours. The snack platter there was quite basic, with some crackers and wrapped cheese bits - this leaves room to improve too..., but oh so yummy biltong! The pool area at the Excelsior Manor offers stunning views over the Winelands and the pool is clean. James who served our meals and serviced the pool area is simply great! Always smiling and obliging. The rooms, especially the bathrooms were not too much to our liking as they were older style with wooden bathroom furniture and two tap basins. The phone was ringing at night also when we were there and this was really bothering us, as we - with rooms closest to the reception area - ended up unhooking the fax in the middle of the night. All in all, good place to stay, especially if you like dogs, as the dogs of the caretaker follow you everywhere and even join you at dinner time…Do I need to mention? The kids loved that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpt4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay, and the food was good, but we would expect more from a place like this.

We would expect more information on what to do, and also get more insight to the wine production. They had a great wine tasting and good wine, but living on a wine farm we would expect some more activities related to this.

There was also a lot of mosquito in the room at night even though we had the net on the window all the time

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in the Guesthouse for 1 night in January 2014, just after the holiday season in South Africa. The guesthouse is situated several kilometres from Ashton, in the middle of wine lands (beautiful views on the wine fields and the mountains). It has a good tasting room (free tasting), with very very good wines. The guesthouse itself has tasteful rooms, with good beds! We had dinner in the guesthouse which was good (not culinary), for 250 ZAR per person including wines! During our stay we had some great relaxing time at the pool (excellent!) and visited some other wineries. Point of improvement may be the receptions at the guesthouse. We were guided to our room, but nothing was told about the estate or possible activities in the surroundings. Further, great value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
7.9 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
3.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
8.3 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
377 reviews
3.5 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
147 reviews
7.9 mi away
Merlot Manor Guesthouse
Merlot Manor Guesthouse
#18 of 25 in Robertson
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Manor Guesthouse

Address: C/O Excelsior Estate | R317 Robertson/Bonnievale, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £85 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Manor Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, in the heart of the Robertson Wine Valley, is a Cape Revival manor built during the ostrich feather boom of the early 1900s. Having been recently lovingly restored to its former glory, it offers quiet luxury and personal hospitality. Set in a mature and graceful garden, with shady trees and fragrant roses, the Manor has nine homely bedrooms, with ensuite bathrooms, and exudes old world charm. Generous home cooked country breakfasts and delicious three course dinners are served in the traditional dining room or on the raised deck overlooking the swimming pool with a view over the vineyards to the Langeberg mountains. Excelsior is a working wine farm which has been in the de Wet family for 5 generations since 1859. Guests are invited to explore the 250 hectare farm either on foot or in the golf cart provided. There is a tasting centre, set on the picturesque dam, where guests are invited to try the range of Excelsior Wines and to blend their 'own creation'. Each of the nine unique luxury bedrooms at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse has a history linked to a famous thoroughbred or hackney horse that was previously bred on Excelsior Estate. All the rooms are ensuite and are equipped with the following:•Complimentary water, chocolates and a small bottle of local Muskadel•Towels •Hairdryer •Tea & coffee facility •Bathrobe & slippers •Bathroom amenities •Wireless internet connection is available in the lounge area •Clock radio/ alarm •International plugs Octavius - Octavius Caeser, the first thoroughbred sire introduced to Excelsior, was bought by Koos de Wet in 1873 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing