We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING 5 * ACCOMMODATION!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Robertson Small Hotel
Ranked #3 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“STUNNING 5 * ACCOMMODATION!”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This boutique hotel is a little gem in Robertson! The gateway to amazing wine farms. We stayed in a Stables Suite, which was beautifully furnished. The bathroom is beautiful and big. The high ceilings & beams lend to the spaciousness. Attention to detail is the name of the game. Turned down bed, stocked bar fridge, mini-desserts in the evening, coffee & rusks..... Reubens Restaurant is on the premises and consistently churn out great food. As we stayed longer than one night, we did find the food a little inconsistent. The front of house staff were very friendly and helpful. One issue I had was the noise level from the honeymoon suite upstairs. I'm assuming the floors are wooden and we could hear the constant walking on the floorboards, frustrating at 5am! Secondly, most of the suites don't offer too much privacy. The front of the suite overlooks the restaurant with patrons sitting outside. Luckily the rear end of the suite overlooks the pool and offers privacy to a degree. Other than that we had an awesome few nights away & we will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    72
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
383
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
689 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Robertson Small Hotel is elegant, luxurious and the service is excellent. Look no further than this gem for a pamper weekend in the wine country; as part of your honeymoon or an ultra-splendid business stop over.

Since the first time I cycled past this manor house years ago, I fell in love. With great anticipation I viewed the manor house being restored to its former glory. We have been most privileged to have experienced this venue as a wedding gift on our short honeymoon.

The welcome was warm, and a restaurant reservation (at the famous Reuben’s restaurant) was offered by Lana. Gladly so since the restaurant was almost fully booked – even on a Sunday night! Our accommodation was also upgraded - thanks to our newly wed status. The Stable rooms were spacious and, according to us, more special than the pool rooms.

We loved all the detail in the room – from the ample bath products and amenities, the coffee & tea selection and the complimentary bar fridge refreshments. The linen and towels are superb and of the highest quality.

Breakfast was such a memorable occasion with bubbly, designer juices, fresh coffee and creative dishes – prepared by the same flagship team under Reuben Riffel’s auspice.

Service was discreet, with complimentary canapés served with early evening drinks; a lit fire place in winter; our vehicle being washed before departure and the most friendly smiles - from porters to chefs. Thanks to Emile, Alvin, Nelson and Moses.

The highlight was the decadent turn downs – a plate of creamy iced cake or short bread fingers served with berry jus and Chantilly cream!

We would love to return – what a treat!

Room Tip: The Stable rooms offer the most space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Romantic, good food, friendly staff .... My wife & I have loved our time here ... We traveled from Prince Albert over the Swartberg Mountain Range and this was the perfect stop over at the end of our trip...

Room Tip: Room Seven next to the pool ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a fantastic 2 night stay here (taking advantage of the 2-for-1 winter special) after the hotel came highly recommended to us by friends who had stayed here previously.

The property itself is in pristine condition and was ideal for a relaxing, quiet getaway. Not a great deal to do in the immediate area, but it allowed access to the numerous wine farms in the surrounding area which is what we were looking for.

We originally requested a stable suite at time of booking, although were advised they were fully booked so we had to stump up for the more pricey pool suite. Not a problem in itself, although throughout our time there we seemed only one of two sets of guests so am not sure that the stable suites were full to capacity.

We received a warm welcome upon arrival and shown immediately to our room. The room was well appointed with all that we needed, with a beautiful bathroom (underfloor heating- much appreciated in winter) and all that we really needed. The room opened up directly to the pool, which I imagine will be a nice feature in summer, although it did mean the room was not as private as I anticipated overlooking a communal area.

The other highlight was the restaurant on site (Reubens). Breakfast was varied and plentiful, and the dinners we had there both nights were fantastic. The menu was very small (4 starters, 4 mains) so did not offer much variety, but the chef catered for our special request on the second night which was hugely appreciated.

Overall the Robertson small hotel gave us a relaxing getaway, in a beautiful property and represented real value for money- can't ask for more than that!

Room Tip: Stable Suites seemed more private that Pool Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extra_leg_room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Robertson Small Hotel for one night and our travel agent had told us that it was a fantastic hotel and he was certainly right! Everything about it was fantastic! Our room was really tastefully furnished and the bathroom (which was huge) had a heated floor which was great as it was quite cool when we stayed there. Although we could not make use of the gardens because it was raining during our stay they looked like the ideal place to lay down, relax and read a good book. The service we received was also excellent.

But the best part of the stay was the food! We followed the advice of many of the reviewers and ate at Reuben's restaurant at the hotel and it was simply the best meal we have ever had! The food was presented very well and it was just delicious! The breakfast was also great - really fresh ingredients, freshly prepared and cooked and served attractively.

Overall this was a first class hotel with first class food and we would love to stay there again if we are ever lucky enough to return to South Africa.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarggyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I never even heard of Roberston before I found out about the Roberston Small Hotel on a website i receive emails from.
We booked two nights and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we did not stop saying 'WOW". From the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, the beautiful rooms and grounds, the delicious top-class breakfasts and dinners at Reubens restaurant on-site, brilliant massages in the wellness centre, the fantastic (free) canape's in the bar at 6pm each evening.....it didn't stop taking our breath away!!
We even felt like some scones on the Saturday late afternoon and rather than make us go to town in the pouring rain they baked some fresh for us!!
I really cannot thank them enough for such a fantastic weekend and we will definitely be back again and again.

Room Tip: The room we had bordered on the pool directly from the private veranda - i would ask for that room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I don't know where to begin because my stay keeps getting better by the minute. Genuine and professional staff, lovely grounds, stunning rooms, amazing food, great bar and wellness center, and the suites just take the cake! I happened upon this place by random luck and I plan on returning on a regular basis. Every detail is paid attention to, you could seriously spend your whole time at the hotel and not feel like there is any place you'd rather be. Your every need has been anticipated and accounted for and the staff obviously take pride in their work. Ask for Raynaldo, he sets the bar for hospitality - all you have to do is look up and say "Oh I think maybe some wine tasting tomorrow, do you know of a nice place for a late lunch?" - Boom, you have a list of 5 recommended places and lunch reservations. When science gets there, I'm signing up for a Raynaldo clone. Did I mention I wrote this on their free Wifi? Like I said, every need!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
6.5 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
361 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.4 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 25 in Robertson
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
0.5 mi away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#11 of 25 in Robertson
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robertson Small Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robertson Small Hotel

Property: The Robertson Small Hotel
Address: 58 Van Reenen Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robertson Small Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Robertson, a favourite tourist attraction spot that’s located along the longest wine route in the world, Route 62, resides the chicly quaint Robertson Small Hotel. The Robertson Small Hotel prides itself on its tranquil picturesque sceneries from the property's simple, yet contemporary architecture. This recently established boutique hotel comprises of ten luxurious guest suites, each rich with character and yet ever so modest making up the perfect home away from home. Clients' comfort and relaxation are of the utmost top priority, it should come as no surprise that each suite is furnished with a king size bed, minibar, and en-suite bathroom. These are just but a few of the standard perks that are accountable in bringing about a warm ambiance in this yet undiscovered haven. The Robertson Small Hotel provides luxury accommodation and fine cuisine all year round. The Small Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily with all bookings by appointment. There is seating both inside the Manor House and on the patio beside the hotel gardens. A classic menu with refined seasonal dishes elevating the best in local produce is served alongside choice wines from the valley. Rose Ashby of the esteemed Spring Restaurant at Somerset House in London wrote the new menu for The Small Restaurant with resident Head Chef Tiaan van Greunen. The pair scoured the valley to source the finest producers of local ingredients and designed the menu to offer simple, sophisticated and strictly seasonal Italian-inspired dishes. Welcome to The Robertson Small Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Robertson Small Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing