We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice in Robertson.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Robertson Small Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent one perfect evening in the Honeymoon suite. This is our second time at the hotel. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and perfectly kept, the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating and the surrounding area is very peaceful. There is a small bar area and terrace for an evening drink. We had a delicious dinner with great service from the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was absolutely stunning. The honeymoon suite is the biggest of all the rooms and it is very private and quiet. If you are traveling through Robertson this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: The most private and quiet rooms are the pool suites and the honeymoon suite. All rooms are very bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocktailsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved staying in this beautiful, stylish and tranquil hotel. The hotel offers a beautiful setting for small, special celebrations. For pure relaxation it is just what you need. The service was outstanding and the food superb. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had to book a last minute wedding due to legal circumstances, and with three days notice I called Robertson Small Hotel for a simple lunch booking for fourteen people. Little did I know that this was to be the beginning of one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had.

Not only did they book our wedding lunch with only three days notice, they also did everything they could do meet our budget, prepare the flowers, lay the table, and even help with my name tags - very enthusiastically. We did the ceremony at a nearby center, and when our guests came they were completely blown away by this chic, white classical interiors and the simple but ridiculously delicious menu.

We were so blown away by the discreet yet attentive service that we spontaneously decided to book a pool side room for our wedding night, and we continued to be spoiled rotten in the best possible way! Our room came equipped with a bath, salts and bubble bath, big fluffy robes, and the best most amazing cloud of a bed. We slept, ate chocolates, ordered room service, swam - romance deluxe!

The next day at breakfast, the manager surprised us with a decadent gift of all the full sized in house delicious bath/body products as a wedding gift. And when we came out to our car, they had washed it for us!

Honestly, the staff went out of their way to make this an unexpected and 100% incredible experience. Our deepest gratitude for making us and our guests feel incredibly special - I will definitely be spreading the word, and everyone wants to come back.

Don't even begin to hesitate booking this boutique gem in quaint Robertson.

Room Tip: Try to book the pool side or spa pool side rooms as the water adds a lovely ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willow C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon and we loved the place. It is a beautiful hotel with fabulous surroundings. The staff were most welcoming as you would expect, the room was gorgeous too. The food was also very good in the restaurant and the breakfasts a delight too. We would certainly recommend this hotel and if passing this way again we would most definitely stay here. The only slight fault was the wifi did not work in the room, but not a major concern to us, but maybe to others. It is in a great location for wine tasting days out too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This review contradicts the vast majority of comments this hotel receives, but 5 stars, multiple awards and hefty prices warrant frank honesty in return. My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights at the Small Hotel as a luxury treat at the end of our South Africa trip and came away disappointed. We stayed in one of the Manor House Luxury rooms (Room 1, opposite the reception desk). Nothing had been mentioned during booking about the position of this room or its comparative lack of privacy (the big bay window is 5m from the pavement on the ground floor). The room was cramped, very noisy (hubbub in reception, creaky floorboards, staff chattering outside the window as they left late and arrived early at work, gardeners sweeping etc). Additionally the wi-fi didn't work in the room (detail, but should be a given in any 5-star place).
We complained, were sympathetically treated and graciously part-refunded, but it did put a bit of a dampener on the end of the holiday.....
Everything else, including the food, was great.
My advice: be wary of booking any of the rooms in the Manor House.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LC_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights this month. I can honestly say that we adored this place and I had a grin on my face from the moment we arrived! It is so beautiful, the service is excellent and the food is fabulous including breakfast. Complimentary canapes are served before dinner, giving you a chance to meet other guests.. This hotel is one of the reasons we hope to return to South Africa!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent a night at the Robertson Small Hotel en-route to Montagu and it was wonderful. The staff are attentive and really know the meaning of small town hospitality. It is a beautiful old house with all the charm and "broekie lace" and yet modern and up to standard with the facilities and amenities. Think fluffy white gowns, gorgeous percale linen, luxurious toiletries (all natural, paraben and chemical free, I loved them so much that I bought some to take home) and the only hotel I've stayed at where the mini bar is free of charge!
Reuben's at the Robertson Small Hotel is a gastronomic delight, delicious food prepared by a really great chef. We would certainly recommend the Robertson Small, a little hotel with a very big heart...

Room Tip: We had the Stable Suite right next to the pool which was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimiMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
6.2 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.4 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
6.5 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
148 reviews
8.3 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 25 in Robertson
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robertson Small Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robertson Small Hotel

Address: 58 Van Reenen Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £135 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robertson Small Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Robertson, a favourite tourist attraction spot that’s located along the longest wine route in the world, Route 62, resides the chicly quaint Robertson Small Hotel. The Robertson Small Hotel prides itself on its tranquil picturesque sceneries from the property's simple, yet contemporary architecture. This recently established boutique hotel comprises of ten luxurious guest suites, each rich with character and yet ever so modest making up the perfect home away from home. Clients' comfort and relaxation are of the utmost top priority, it should come as no surprise that each suite is furnished with a king size bed, minibar, and en-suite bathroom. These are just but a few of the standard perks that are accountable in bringing about a warm ambiance in this yet undiscovered haven. The Robertson Small Hotel provides luxury accommodation and fine cuisine all year round. The Small Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily with all bookings by appointment. There is seating both inside the Manor House and on the patio beside the hotel gardens. A classic menu with refined seasonal dishes elevating the best in local produce is served alongside choice wines from the valley. Rose Ashby of the esteemed Spring Restaurant at Somerset House in London wrote the new menu for The Small Restaurant with resident Head Chef Tiaan van Greunen. The pair scoured the valley to source the finest producers of local ingredients and designed the menu to offer simple, sophisticated and strictly seasonal Italian-inspired dishes. Welcome to The Robertson Small Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Robertson Small Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing