We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway”
Review of Die Laaitjie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Die Laaitjie
Reviewed 29 December 2013

For those who are looking for a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of the big city, Die Laaitjie is the perfect place. Situated in the mountains, you really appreciate the quietness of the surroundings. Everything you need is there, a well equipped kitchen, outside braai, pool and lots of space, both inside and outside.
The Main House is really perfect for large groups with plenty of sleeping place (8 people). I'd highly recommend Die Laaitjie for anyone needing to get away for a couple of days in beautiful surroundings.

A big thanks to Bev and Roger for making us feel so at home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Nestled in the mountains just outside Robertson is an amazing guest lodge and chalets. We rented the Manor House which sleeps 4 couples in 4 amazing en-suite bedrooms with amazing scenic views. It is self catering and we had braais at night. There are two magnificent walks - one to the amazing waterfalls and another to the rock pools where you can take a picnic, bask in the sun and swim in the pools. There is no internet or cell phone access making it a real getaway. For those interested in wine tasting, it is a quick drive into the Robertson Valley with outstanding estates, none more so than the river cruise at Viljoensdrift. An amazing weekend - you can also hire chalets that sleep 4 in two bedrooms. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: 3 rooms have double beds and one with two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After having visited three times to Die Laaitjie, I still haven't got enough! Worth a visit in both winter or summer with a pool, covered braai area and two indoor fire places.

Stayed in the manor house all three times. Decor is exquisite. Two kitchens which allowed for plenty of space for all of us staying there. Perfect place for R&R.

Bev and Roger the managers are also super friendly and will do anything to ensure a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarynElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at one of the cottages for the weekend. The farm is a distance from Robertson and has incredible views of the mountains and a gorge that you can walk to. The serenity of the cottages and the nearby swimming pool was wonderful. Roger and Bev made sure we had everything we needed and introduced us to Patches, the resident pet pig.

The cottages have everything you need, beautiful braai area, indoor fireplace, fully specced kitchen and two lovely airy bedrooms.

We will definitely be back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I enjoyed such a weekend away at Die Laaitjie with a bunch of friends we did not leave until the Monday instead of the Sunday afternoon. Actually we could have stayed the week, unfortunately they where booked full, if you have not experienced total bliss and tranquility Die Laaitjie is the place to visit. The cottages where extremely clean and well looked after and hot hot water all weekend long. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed the weekend you have to visit for yourself. The weekend was great value for money and can't wait to revisit Die Laaitjie soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

So much character and warmth in the most beautiful, spacious manor. All the bedrooms have the most beautiful views - Had such a great time and felt so at home. Boasting with the most beautiful walking trails! What a delight it was....we can hardly wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Having recently spent the weekend at Die Laaitjie, I was quite disappointed with the general state of disrepair and the lack of cleanliness. In my view, the photographs posted on this website and on Die Laaitjie's own website are a misrepresentation of what one can actually expect.

Lets start with the positives - the bedrooms had good linen and were generally clean and comfortable. The main house is well equipped, with all the crockery, cutlery and kitchen equipment one could ask for: 3 fridges, an ice-maker, a dishwasher, a gas stove, lots of pots and pans etc. The views - if you only look into the distance - are spectacular.

Unfortunately, this brings us to the negatives:
The entire place needed a jolly good clean - there was a lot of dirt and grime (although thankfully not in the bedrooms)
The exterior is BADLY in need of repair and a coat of paint (there are big cracks, plaster chipping out, paint peeling etc.)
The outside braai area in particular was very dirty, with grime / drippings from previous braais on the walls etc.
There were dirty marks on the walls, louvres etc. (mainly the exterior), and paint peeling everywhere
A lot of the plates in the kitchen, and some of the kitchen and braai utensils, were dirty and had to be washed before being used
There is a dishwasher, but no dishwasher powder is supplied
The oven and some of the burners on the stove did not work
The doors to one of the main bedrooms leaked (it was raining) and water ran through the room
There was a leak (admittedly small) in another bedroom
There is rising damp in a number of rooms
There was no water in the main house or cottages on the Sunday morning we were there - we couldn't wash up or shower (some hours after reporting this to the manager there was a slow flow of water - not enough to run a shower or the dishwasher)
The exterior of the cottages is VERY dirty (especially around the braai areas) and they are in a VERY BAD state of repair - again, the interior (bedrooms) were clean
The gardens around the cottages are not maintained at all
There is a steep dirt road down to the cottages that is rutted and worn - you can't safely get an ordinary sedan down to the cottages
The website shows apparently modern and clean outside furniture at the cottages - beware this is not the case
The cottages overlook a broken down shed - NOT the views that the website seems to show (it is also not entirely clear where the 2-sleeper cottage advertised on the website is - the only possibility is that this ramshackle shed IS the extra cottage)
The kitchen cupboards and drawers were not clean inside
There is an ice-maker - but it had not been cleaned and was mouldy and stale inside
The farm itself is generally in a poor state - broken down fences, broken pipes, dead fruit trees (stumps just left in the ground), old boots and shoes lying around etc.
We asked for someone to come in to clean up (who we paid extra for) - but they were late and did little

My overall impression: this must have been a fantastic place at some time in the past, but it has just simply been neglected and mismanaged seemingly for many, many years. It is not what it appears to be from its website, and certainly not worth what they charge for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
614 reviews
0 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
0 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
0 mi away
De Hoop Cottages
De Hoop Cottages
#2 of 23 in Robertson
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Laaitjie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Laaitjie

Address: Dassieshoek Valley | Dassieshoek, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Robertson
Price Range: £36 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering accommodation on a beautiful fruit farm in the mountains outside Robertson. Four elegant, two double-bedroomed cottages, one single cottage, and a four double-bedroomed luxurious restored Victorian farmhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Die Laaitjie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing