We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Next gem in Robertson”
Review of Passio - CLOSED

Passio
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian, Cafe, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Western Cape South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Next gem in Robertson”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Had coffee there a while back.Did not want there local brand and was offered another.Great! The way she served us was such a delight to the eye.Little tray each.Atmosphere relaxed and between all the antiques just makes you want to stay longer.The owner presents herself well.Soft spoken and very friendly. She is certainly going to give a few Coffee shops a run for there money.When in the area do yourself the favour to visit Passio.Its a good restaurant to spend your money at.Menu versatile and well priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne R, Owner at Passio, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thanks, much appreciated review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Robertson, South Africa
1 review
“Possibly the Best on Route62”
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

For a variety of reasons we were unable to get to Passio Restaurant the week it opened ... but were determined to have a meal there at the earliest opportunity, and we were more delighted with the the venue than we ever expected!

Situated at 30 Voortrekker Street - the part of the famed 'Route 62' that runs through the town of Robertson, Passio is the combination of ideas of Marius and Anne-Marie Redlinghuys, and their business partner Fred van Blerk - though, that said, the decor can be credited to Fred and Anne-Marie whose use of art and collectables give Passio its distinctive look and feel.

We had come to know and savor Marius' culinary skills at 'Fab Deli' - but Passio is more than a step-up in location, and is destined to be the top spot to 'eat out' in Robertson.

Greeted by our host Anne-Marie, we were captivated by the warm, intimate, decor and design - with further warmth coming from the open fireplace which we were seated right next to!  The fascinating collection of art and decor ensures that there can be nothing short to talk about if any awkward silences should occur whilst waiting for ones meal, and, once the courses have been served there will definitely not be any such awkward moments!

The menu on the evening that we were there was small, but varied and offered more than sufficient choices for even the most fussy of diners.  As a starter I had and enjoyed the Salad Caprice (tomato, mozzarella, basil) which was beautifully, yet simply presented.  My partner opted out of the starters and just nibbled a "very tasty" focaccia which Fred had offered to both of us.

For our main course I chose the Beef fillet medallions with Gorgonzola and red onion marmalade - and, as expected, it was cooked to perfection and was absolutely delicious.  My partner's pan-fried Karroo lamb chops, served with minted pea mash was "Mmmmmmm ... delicious!".

We both finished our meal off with Pavlova served with Marius' tangy and original berry coulis. Perfect! 

Anne-Marie, Marius, Fred - we wish you well with Passio - Robertson has needed a fine-dining venue like this!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolasbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne R, Owner at Passio, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thanks hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Passio Restaurant Robertson South Africa”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have enjoyed breakfast, had great lunches and a superb dinner at Passio. It is a restaurant, unlike others, where you are surrounded by beautiful antiques and collectables. An opulent yet friendly and inviting ambiance which enhances your dining experience. Although it is a small and intimate restaurant, the menu is comprhensive and the food is prepared with skill and flair and served, I am sure, with a lot of love! Annemarie, the owner, is very much "hands on" and very attentive towards her guests. My wife and I recently entertained guests to dinner there, on a very cold winters evening and with the fire burning it just made the whole experience so much more than "just dining out". All tastes are catered for. I cannot recommend the restaurant enough.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesBinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Passio, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thanks for the review. What a great way to start on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passio also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing