We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening”
Review of Passio - CLOSED

Passio
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Dinner at Passio was a quiet affair with only one other couple of diners.

We had lamb chops and a chicken and mushroom dish that we enjoyed, served by a smiling waiter, wine was very reasonable and good.

We spent a lot of the time talking with the owners and very much enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Robertson Wine Valley, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Option to stop at while driving R60”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

New owners trying their best to be unique. Good and safe option to stop at for a quick bite while on the road...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diner-style coffee, but perfectly poached eggs”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had breakfast at Passio's on Saturday morning and had the restaurant to ourselves. I don't usually enjoy dining in empty restaurants, but in the quiet town of Robertson, this didn't really matter to us. The coffee was cheap and I found out why - it really wasn't not much to speak of, although it came in a cool-looking cup. However, I was impressed by the poached eggs on toast I requested, which, at a cheerful R15, were a real breakfast bargain.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No food forthcoming from the kitchen”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

2 wines we asked for we're not on the menu. We had to ask 3 times for our water. Cannot comment on the food as we were here for over an hour with no food presented.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth-Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montagu, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tried it, have a problem”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I decided to try a light lunch at Passio having tried most other eateries in the area and although my wife enjoyed her three-cheese-pizza, I was extremely disappointed with the Texan Burger. The patties were obviously made in-house and had a little too much rosemary, also they were undercooked while being overcooked on the outer edges and totally raw on the inside having barely been heated in the middle. For someone who loves medium rare steaks, this is saying a lot. Also, the service was a little disappointing in that conversations were interrupted without so much as an "excuse me" and relatively slow. The coffee is not anything to write home about either.

I trust that some form of food quality checking will take place in future. It is not like we had to stand in line for our table, in fact, business was quite slow.

We nevertheless wish you a successful future. We won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendofGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passio also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
Robertson, Western Cape
 
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing