We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of De Oude Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Oude Opstal
Ranked #6 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at De Oude Opstal a lot, the property is wonderful, rooms very clean, breakfast marvellous and the hosts Rudi and Marianne are lovely people and very helpful. We certainly recommend De Oude Opstal

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eifel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for De Oude Opstal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Vacation at the Oude Opstal is like visiting good friends. The owners Marianne and Rudolf are so nice and helpfull to us. If have any problems or needs - Rudi and Marianne will take care about it. They give us tips for the surrounding area and recommendations, what we can visit in Robertson.
For the garden i have only some words:huge, nice, beautiful and amazing. The rooms are very clean and have different themes. Rudi have also managed, that in the guest house and in the garden in front of the guest house the Wifi is working perfect. If you visit Robertson and like a familiar, clean and beautiful place, you have to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Schtiewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The loveliest garden you have ever seen, a joy to walk to around en enjoy the beautiful flowers in the different gardens. Nice large pool. Lovely breakfast on the veranda of the beautifull premises. The owners Rudy and Marianne do all they can to make your stay the best and have lots of info for trips and so on. De oude Opstal is quitly located, but within walkingdistance from city centre (which is not very interesting) We stayed at one of the B&B rooms in the garden (no fridge) which has a nice seat overlooking the innergarden. The Oude opstal has lots of space araound it which makes you feel free. We peaked at the other (self catering room) an that looked also lovely. Easy 10 min walk to centre of Robertson. Best restaurant is probalby Brooklyn restaurant (? ask Rudy) is our best tip to eat. We recommand this to everybody and if we are lucky enough to make it to Robertson, we will go to Rudy and Marinanne definitely!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MiriamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in De Oude Opstal in November for a couple of nights, it is the oldest house in Robertson in the dutch cape style. The house is so well maintained and the gardens are magnificent, lovely to relax in... The location is really good with only a short drive to the vineyards, we did a tour of Viljoensdrift vineyard where you can take a picnic on their boat which is a fabulous experience! Rudi and Marianne were great hosts, they surprised us one morning at breakfast with a table set up in the garden as it was a beautiful day and it is lovely to sit and admire the roses. We would definitely recommend the B&B which is good value for money and wish Rudi and Marianne all the best for the future

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a perfect place to stay ,home from home . The apartment we stayed in was very clean had everything you need for your stay . You can wounder around the beautiful surrounding gardens take a dip in the lovely pool . Breakfast was yummy what ever you wanted was on hand
Hope to go back soon perfect hosts Rudy and his wife have only been running De Oude Opstal for 4 and 1/2 months but you would never guess very informative nothing is to much trouble LOVE IT.
One last thing the beds are so comfortable and big slept like a baby

Room Tip: Didn't see all the apartments but they have lovely BIG beds
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

De Oude Opstal provides typical German attention to every detail in a wonderful traditional Cape Dutch setting with a relaxed "Out of Africa" ambience in a lovely country wineland town nestling between farms and mountains. What better intimate get-away could one wish for? Dieter and Hilda's warm hospitality and Willie's compelling Labrador attraction, offer a most desirable "old homestead" retreat. Look no further. We loved our visit and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was our third visit to De Oude Opstal and once again Deiter and Hilde were superb hosts, always ready to offer helpful information and advice. On this occasion we opted for the Mountain View room which was a delight, maintaining the high standards of accommodation they provide at their lovely property. As frequent visitors to the Western Cape we have travelled to many areas and generally enjoyed good accommodation with helpful friendly owners. De Oude Opstal comes top in all respects.

Room Tip: Africa and Lavender rooms for families, and the Mountain View room for couples. All are quiet, very...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dford68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.2 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
0.6 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 25 in Robertson
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#11 of 25 in Robertson
14 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
5.3 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Opstal

Address: 1 Warren Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £67 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Opstal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Oude Opstal (the oldest House in Robertson) is a historical Cape Dutch Manor House located on 2 acres in Robertson in the Breede River Valley of Wine and Roses in the Western Cape. Beautiful restored and decorated with stunning location amidst beautiful Gardens, Vineyards and breathtaking Views to the Langeberg Mountains De Oude Opstal, the only Historic Cape Dutch Guesthouse in Robertson, is in a cul-de-sac road in a quiet and safe residential area of Robertson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your De Oude Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing