We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adventurous and well presented”

The Rosendal Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 28 Restaurants in Robertson
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Savour the tantalisingly fresh flavours available at our on-site restaurant.With much-lauded Michelin-trained, French chef David Godin at the helm, you are guaranteed a superb gastronomic experience, be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner, all of which are served daily.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Adventurous and well presented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

South American chef with an adventurous side - taking the old and adding a modern twist. If you are in the area and looking for somewhere different to eat - def give this place a try. Not a very large menu but tasty and well presented. If you are booked in to the rooms there menu is large enough to keep you interested for at most 2 days. Well priced but the Rosendal wine is very expensive and not worth the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very annoyed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Having checked the establishment's website to confirm that lunch was available and served between 12h00 and 14h00, and given that it was a weekday, we duly arrived. The establishment was shut up, but we saw a door open. On enquiring, we were advised that they are only open for lunch if there are reservations. No apology, no alternative offered.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GingerMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worthwhile to make the detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We experienced an excellent light lunch at this winery estate. Excellent service and a nice wine list. Flavour-fresh dishes are served with one of the most subtle Caesar salads ever. Worthwhile to make detour on the gravel road if you are in the neighbourhood. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lex195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent setting, food and service. Lovely atmosphere...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

On a warm summer's day in December 2012 we were welcomed with true Robertson hospitality and wereseated under the trees where a table were assembled on the grass, which made for a lovely, relaxed atmoshere. We had great wine and the service was professional and warm. The food was well presented and great. We will definitely return to this restaurant and would love to stay there as well. Thanks for a great day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a personal touch and a lovely view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

This time we came to Rosendal because of the food, and the new chef at the restaurant did deliver. This is among the best places for lunch or dinner in Robertson. We enjoyed delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The service was personal and just perfect. We will be back soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda031CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rosendal Restaurant also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
 
Robertson, Western Cape
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to The Rosendal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing