We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Dinning at Rosendal”

The Rosendal Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 28 Restaurants in Robertson
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Savour the tantalisingly fresh flavours available at our on-site restaurant.With much-lauded Michelin-trained, French chef David Godin at the helm, you are guaranteed a superb gastronomic experience, be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner, all of which are served daily.
Heidelberg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dinning at Rosendal”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We nearly got lost driving to the venue, but what a surprise when we arrive, staff were welcoming and attentive. The food - let start with the vegetable soup followed with a Ballotine of Lamb Shank and a trio of Crème Brûlée, Passion fruit and Yoghurt Panna Cotta and Warm Dark Chocolate Brownies with locally produce wine - one word EXCELLENT.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beat700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old basing
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a great lunch in a lovely venue”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we arrived a little early for lunch (we were the only guests, that day) so had a pre-lunch wine tasting. Our guide was extremely good & helpful and we enjoyed the wines very much - bought a few bottles to take home.
The lunch menu was interesting and effort was made to cater for special dietary requirements. Visually, the food was very well presented and the taste lived up to the appearance.
Altogether an excellent experience that we intend to repeat, although in future we might aim to stay over in this peaceful venue only a few kilometers from Robertson town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, very good value but not much atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

A nice meal, excellent value but didn't quite match expectations. When we booked we were offered a 6.30 or 8.00 slot. Not unusual in a busy restaurant. Due to a road closure and unsigned detour we arrived 20 minutes late and found we were the only guests. The young waiter, a local, was friendly, attentive (not a challenge) and well informed. Outside was tempting but it was still quite sunny so we found a shady table inside. Fantastic setting, on a knoll, surrounded by trees, vineyards and a ring of mountains. We opted for the six course tasting menu with paired wine for R500 (under £30 at current rates). Warm home made focaccia with olive oil arrived then the soup, which was a delicious smooth leek and potato with truffle oil and a small blue flower. This was paired with a sauvignon blanc, a good sized glass, but a bit acid and rather flat. This wine was also for the beef sashimi which came next. A thinly sliced round of fillet with soy and sesame, sesame seeds and small blue flowers. It was delicious and very tender. Course three was tempura of prawns (sic) which was accompanied by a much tastier riesling. My first prawn had a slightly ammonia flavour, not too fresh, but the others were better. They came on a bed of pea puree but also small cubes of fried chorizo, blobs of orange coloured puree, some pale brown streaks, balsamic glaze, rocket and .....some small blue flowers. A bit too fussy. Before the main course came a citrus granita, including orange which is quite unusual, and a small tot of vodka. Very nice before the ballotine of lamb. The lamb was pulled breast or neck, moulded into a cylinder and wrapped in caul. Served on a bed of white bean puree it was reminiscent of cassoulet. The dish was topped with a small tart containing some vegetables. It was very tasty but could have done with something fruity, plums perhaps, to contrast the slightly greasy texture. I had a pleasant red blend and my wife was given a merlot which was not as nice. It was now well after 8.00 and one couple had arrived followed by another with two children. Why the fuss about the time of the booking I cannot imagine. Anyway it was dessert time, a glass of pannacotta with fruit and a small dish of creme brulee. Unfortunately there was no dessert wine with this, just the remnants of the red. Coffee was included and, in common with most of South Africa, not up to much if you have a Nespresso machine at home.
So a wonderful setting, pretty good food, fairly ordinary wine, good service, not much atmosphere but, by UK standards, extraordinary value.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ilminstertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing taste experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My partner and I had a 6 course meal with wine to match. On arrival we were taken to a little decked area with a table for 2 overlooking the small dam and Rosendal itself, what an awesome view at night. After a few drinks on the deck, we were taken back to the restaurant and shown to our table. To our delight, there was a table set up in the wine cellar for the two of us.Then the awesome culinary experience began. We had one course after the next of the tastiest and fantastically presented food with some good wine too. David, the chef, is a man with one huge talent, Annelie is awesome and very welcoming and William is a superstar who looked after our every need. Thanks guys for making the night so special.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Adventurous and well presented”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

South American chef with an adventurous side - taking the old and adding a modern twist. If you are in the area and looking for somewhere different to eat - def give this place a try. Not a very large menu but tasty and well presented. If you are booked in to the rooms there menu is large enough to keep you interested for at most 2 days. Well priced but the Rosendal wine is very expensive and not worth the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rosendal Restaurant also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to The Rosendal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing