We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious olive oil!”
Review of Marbrin Olive Farm

Marbrin Olive Farm
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Robertson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a small family-run boutique olive farm nestled in the renowned Robertson Breede River Valley surrounded by the Langeberg and Riviersonderend Mountains. We extract extra virgin olive oil and process our own unique range of table olives and tapenade. Come and enjoy the ambience of the Robertson Valley as well as the taste of our olives and olive oil, a fruit well-known for its remarkable health benefits. Heading out of Robertson towards Ashton on the Red you will turn left into into Klaasvoogds East (NOT Klaasvoogds West) and travel for about another 2km's till you see the big green Marbrin Olive growers board on your right, turn in there and follow the dirt road for another 2KM'S till you reach the tasting room. Road can be a little bumpy in places, but worth it.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious olive oil!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This is definitely worth a visit. Clive was really knowledgeable and friendly. It was amazing to try the oils, tapenades, and olives. Prices were very affordable and we definitely took several bottles home. The farm is also in a beautiful area with gorgeous views.

Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive H, Owner at Marbrin Olive Farm, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It was a pleasure having you on the fsrm and we are glad you loved the products. Hopefully we will be available in HK soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So close to Cape Town, so worth a visit!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was our second trip to Marbrin farm, it was a must on our agenda when we returned to South Africa. Firstly, I have never had such good olive oil or been for an olive oil tasting in more beautiful surroundings. The hosts Peter his wife Christene plus Clive and Briony who have recently returned from the UK with their baby were so inviting, welcoming and had such enthusiasm and knowledge in olives and olive oil plus such a love for the area. One brand that can happily say "proudly South African"! It is a working farm so best to book or call in advance, even better book for really good South African style tapas served on the tasting room's veranda surrounded by mountains and olive trees whilst enjoying Peter's Limoncello. Wishing you all the best Marbin crew, we look forward to visiting again soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive H, Owner at Marbrin Olive Farm, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi Fred, Thanks for the great review and for visiting us for a second time, it was really good to have you all at the farm. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make sure you do this!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a must if you are in Robertson. Olive oil to die for and the most beautiful spot! The passion of the owners was the real winner though. We stocked up on some great olive oil and olives. Next time we are in Roberston we will be going back :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannahD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive H, Owner at Marbrin Olive Farm, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thanks for the great feed back Susannah. We are really glad that you enjoyed your trip to our farm, it was a pleasure having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“.... best day in South Africa !”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Great place , great people ! And a very sweet little daughter ! And now I do like Olives. Hope I can make a order when I'm back home ?

Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive H, Owner at Marbrin Olive Farm, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks for visiting us. It was great to show you the wine vslleys hospitality. Enjoy the rest of your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best afternoon of our trip”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Marbrin Farm was on a rainy Day! But we had such a Great experience tasting al The products they make out of Olives. Great hospitality, very enthousiastic About everything they do. Good humor & Great storytellers which makes everything even more nicer! If youre in The neigbourhood of Robertson:go! They Also started with tapas nights for groups. That should be an experience too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive H, Owner at Marbrin Olive Farm, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
It was a pleasure having you guys. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in SA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marbrin Olive Farm also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Marbrin Olive Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing