We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when you travel to the Western Cape...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Ranked #1 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our first address in our two week trip. Wow... If this is the standard we were going to have a very nice holiday!!

Luc is the perfect host and made us feel welcome immediately. he let us settle in with a first glass of wine on the nice terrace. Some of the other guests are relaxing by the pool with a book.
Hilde's cooking is better than anyone can try to explain... and she does it with a big smile. What we had was over the top good food.
Tips for a trip in the wine lands, a nice lunch restaurant, Excelsior where you can blend your own wine, a little off-road cut-off... The advice made our stay even more pleasant.
The rooms were very comfy, and I never had bath towels bigger than mine at home... now I did :-)

The only thing I can do now is hoping to go back soon and telling everybody they should book at Ballinderry..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inez908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Fabulous, delicious, luxurious, Michelin Star Quality. What more do we need to say. The staff is great. Hilde is a master chef and Luc a master host. Breakfast is a little treat, dinner is a delightful scrumptious feast. Every day. The price/quality is completely out of proportion.... to the advantage of the guests! Their B&B is beautiful and oozes a luxurious relaxing ambiance. We'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony & Erick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at Ballinderry's, in Robertson. Luc & Hilde are the perfect hosts, making you feel like very much like a friend of the family. And Hilde is a five star chef. We'll be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rudi_Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Even though we only stayed one night, we found this B&B to be a lovely oasis in a Western Cape summer - comfortable, lovely king size extra length bed with crisp bed linen, air-con, pool, lovely shady garden, lounge, breakfast room all well appointed and artfully decorated with considerable attention to detail. Champagne breakfast, good continental selection and hot alternative. 4 star + worth the 4 star price tag. Town is walking distance, but not a short walk.

Room Tip: Room 1 leads in to the pool deck so is more private - perfect for an early morning dip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobijoy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our family of two adults and 2 school age boys spent 3 nights here. We were made to feel at home and greatly enjoyed the amenities. Comfortable modern decor. Breakfast was outstanding. Hope to return without kids!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank edamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Ballinderry guest house was very comfortable, clean, and inviting. The "honor" bar stocked with Belgian beer (and wine, but it's hard to find nice Belgian beers in SA) was a nice touch. Every aspect of the service was fantastic and the breakfast was simple but delicious. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben480s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our stay at Ballinderry was hands down our best accommodation in South Africa. The room was stylish and perfectly clean, with a spacious bathroom. The property itself is beautifully located and decorated to perfection. With a lush garden and cozy living room, it's the perfect place to relax between wine tasting and dinner. And as if this wasn't enough, the hosts were more than welcoming and were quick to give great advice tailored to your need. Finally, the food is A-MA-ZING. If you have a chance to eat there, do not miss the opportunity,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 25 in Robertson
582 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
6.9 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
0.2 mi away
De Oude Opstal
De Oude Opstal
#6 of 25 in Robertson
97 reviews
5.4 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House

Address: 8 Le Roux Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £65 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique guest house in a quiet residential area. Unwind in a relaxed atmosphere of luxury and inspiring decor. Indulge your senses with mouth-watering food and fine Robertson wines. Enjoy unsurpassed hospitality and service excellence. Ballinderry has five double/twin rooms and two deluxe garden suites, all with air-conditioning, satellite TV and all other modern comforts. Facilities include pool and big tropical garden, top quality bedding, tea- and coffee facilities, fans, hair dryers, safes, WiFi and secure off-street parking. English & Continental champagne breakfast included in our rates. Don't miss Hilde's mouth-watering home cooked dinners, inspired by her Belgian roots and love for the Mediterranean cuisine. A feast for foodies and wine-lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing