We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Ranked #1 of 24 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Guest House is located in the center of the town which makes is easy to explore the town and old church on foot as well as the area by car. The Hosts are very friendly and helpful. Our room was very modern and spacious as we traveled with our 2 year old son. The food is fantastic specifically the dinner

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JLPretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    55
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
386
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family stayed here for two nights as part of our Garden Route tour after getting married in SA . Luc and Hilde were the most hospitable warming hosts you could possible ask for. The fine attention to detail in all the rooms was very personal yet homely. We arrived to the most wonderful aroma of Hildes home cooking springbok loin which was to die for . Being able to see her working and preparing our evening meal was extremely interesting and her culinary skills were absolutely fantastic. I would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to anyone especially if you enjoy Michelin star quality food as that's what you'll get!!!
Thorough enjoyed our stay here with the beautifully kept gardens and house . Outstanding , thank you both so much

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelopepitstop16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Another 5* six nights spent at Ballinderry. Good food, as usual from Hilde, good wines and good company. We have stayed many times at Ballinderry and always found it to be of a very high standard xxxxx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth And Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

As guest houses go, they don't come much better than this. Along our trip from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth (and all points in-between) we stayed at very diverse guest houses/B&Bs ranging from "old-charm rustic" to "contemporary". Ballinderry probably rates as the most 'up-market' place we stayed, the standard was exceptional.
Warm welcome from Luc and Hilde, we didn't actually leave the guest house between arrival and departure the next morning, as we ate there in the evening and took advantage of the pool and beautiful garden area to chill out for a few hours.
We had the small outside Comfort Room which was spotlessly clean, well-appointed and perfectly comfortable for our one night. If we had been staying longer we may have opted for a slightly bigger room. TV in the room had all the sports channels,(useful for keeping up with the World 20/20!!) which is quite unusual to find.
Ballinderry was the most expensive guest house we stayed at on our trip, I guess you get what you pay for.
Breakfast was superb, even an indulgent glass of champagne offered! If you opt to eat in, Hilde's cooking is extremely good and obviously a big passion. Be sure, however, to advise any dietary needs/dislikes in advance as, understandably, it is a one-menu option.

Room Tip: We had the Comfort Room, which is the smallest and cheapest on offer. Perfectly good for one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fully1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Luc is super helpful...I asked if there could be chamomile tea in the room and he arranged that there was. My husband really enjoyed the sports channels. The guest house is close to the town's shops and restaurants and only a short drive to the Robertson wine route. We will definitely be back...as this was already our second stay. Its also GREAT value for money...the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KS_CT_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bannockburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

An excellent guest house, well positioned, beautiful rooms, manicure gardens with a lovely pool. The evening meal was delicious and an excellent breakfast. Only stayed one night but quality was first class.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
391 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our second stay at Ballinderry, and it felt like coming home. Wonderful room in the main building. Luc and Hilde are truly fantastic hosts, with plenty of accurate advice on things to see in the Robertson wine area. Fantastic dinner by Hilde and a generous and excellent breakfast. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
6.9 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
0.5 mi away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#13 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House

Property: Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Address: 8 Le Roux Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique guest house in a quiet residential area. Unwind in a relaxed atmosphere of luxury and inspiring decor. Indulge your senses with mouth-watering food and fine Robertson wines. Enjoy unsurpassed hospitality and service excellence. Ballinderry has five double/twin rooms and two deluxe garden suites, all with air-conditioning, satellite TV and all other modern comforts. Facilities include pool and big tropical garden, top quality bedding, tea- and coffee facilities, fans, hair dryers, safes, WiFi and secure off-street parking. English & Continental champagne breakfast included in our rates. Don't miss Hilde's mouth-watering home cooked dinners, inspired by her Belgian roots and love for the Mediterranean cuisine. A feast for foodies and wine-lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing