We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolulutely fab place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Ranked #1 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Ourselves and friends stayed with Hilde and Luc for only two nights .We opted to have a three course gourmet meal on the two nights and Hilde made us the best food we have tasted in South Africa. We had champagne breakfasts every morning which really started the day off well . What an lovely couple Hilde and Luc are and this is a warm and friendly place to stay we would recommend this guest house to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin-Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2009

Beautiful hosts and tranquil environment. I woke up every day looking forward to Hilde's breakfast as I knew she will turn a simple egg into some exotic dish, what a cook. There was nothing as wonderful as knowing that when you ask your host for an advise on what to do you will get an answer that excatly fits your profile and satisfy your needs, I think they have a crystal ball that analyse us before arriving. I realy enjoyed myself . Just relaxing in the garden next to the pool with a view a lemon tree and smell of some herbs was exuberating. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We've been travelling around the cape region for three weeks straight. We've stayed in all kinds of places -camped out, spend nights in fancy hotels as well as selfcatering apartments, but this great guesthouse was the best find of them all. Beautiful, spacious rooms with a great eye for detail and design, food to die for (try the champaign-breakfast to start your day in style :-) an enormous, wonderful garden with swimming pool, and a stylish room to relax. to top it all off: hilde and luc- the couple running the place- are warm, convivial and helpful people , making this your perfect place to explore the region. wonderful nature, and fifty winehouses to choose from.

if they 'd have a fanclub, i 'd join. :-)

bart (& annelies)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bartRLCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We had heard the best about Ballinderry Guest House before we left Sweden. We spent
the two first days and nights there during our visit in South Africa. It could not have started in a better way. The warm welcome from Hilde and Luc was outstanding. Once you entered the Guest House you did not want to leave it.
Part of the best memories are the tasteful breakfasts (with champagne!!) and dinners
without comparison.
We tell everyone who wants to listen to go to South Africa and stay at Ballinderry Guest House. Inger and Ulf Forsberg, Sweden

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hultet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

What a lovely couple. Hilde makes evening meal and there is absolutely no need to go out. The meal could not be surpassed in any top restaurant in the area. Absolutely outstanding decor, cleanliness, friendliness, helpfulness. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRowntrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Had a one night stop enroute from Cape Town to Sanbona Wildlife reserve and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Robertson itself is a lovely small town with some excellent places to visit and was worth a longer stay if we had time. The guest house itself was very comfortable with a lovely garden and pool with excellent service from Hilde and Luc. Hilde's cooking at breakfast and for the evening three course meal was also excellent. A great value for money one night stay and we should have stayed longer !!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

We decided to stay at Robertson to break up our drive back to Cape Town on Route 62.
The Ballinderry proved a great choice. Luc and Hilde are very welcoming and the Guest House is lovely. They also organised a trip to the local stud farm and that proved to be a fantastic trip. The breakfast was great and it was a shame we didnt eat dinner in the Guest House as Hilde's food smelt great.
Thank you

Christian and Lisa

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 25 in Robertson
582 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
6.9 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
0.2 mi away
De Oude Opstal
De Oude Opstal
#6 of 25 in Robertson
97 reviews
5.4 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House

Address: 8 Le Roux Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £65 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique guest house in a quiet residential area. Unwind in a relaxed atmosphere of luxury and inspiring decor. Indulge your senses with mouth-watering food and fine Robertson wines. Enjoy unsurpassed hospitality and service excellence. Ballinderry has five double/twin rooms and two deluxe garden suites, all with air-conditioning, satellite TV and all other modern comforts. Facilities include pool and big tropical garden, top quality bedding, tea- and coffee facilities, fans, hair dryers, safes, WiFi and secure off-street parking. English & Continental champagne breakfast included in our rates. Don't miss Hilde's mouth-watering home cooked dinners, inspired by her Belgian roots and love for the Mediterranean cuisine. A feast for foodies and wine-lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing