We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The attention and helpfulness.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedar Lodge Guest House
Ranked #11 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Paul and Lynne our hosts were excellent. We only intended staying 1 night but Paul drew up an itinerary for 2 full days which were action packed with activities from wine tasting to mini safaris, culminating with a swim in the pool when we got back and G & Ts on the verander. The food was home cooked and fabulous, we even had a bri one evening with 2 other guests. Breakfast was beautifully presented with wonderful fresh fruit and bacon and eggs to finish. If you plan on doing Route 62 - which is a MUST stop off in Robertson first, there is plenty to do there. Go and see Paul and Lynne and they will make your stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cazzy22a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2008

Cedar Lodge is nestled in a peaceful avenue in Robertson with the best views from our room over the mountains. We based ourselves there as Cedar Lodge do wine tours, but we quickly discoverd Cedar Lodge had more to offer than the wineries in the area!
The owners Paul and Lyn provided the most superb breakfasts, we stayed there 3 nights and every day something more spendid was put in front of us...yummy! One evening we decided to have a traditional braai with the hosts at Cedar Lodge with one other couple and it was the most amazing experience! Thank you Paul and Lyn for our first traditional braai, which will be hard to follow! The garden is mature and the birds were singing every morning...the pool was sparkling blue - very clean & cosy accommodation with crisp white linen. Simply the Best!!
Finally, I can only say, don't miss out on the hospitality and comfort of a stay at Cedar Lodge in Robertson.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sunseekder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2007

We just stayed 1 night at the Cedar Lodge but now I can tell that it was the most remarkable one of our many stays during the 2-weeks-trip thorugh South Africa. Lynne and Paul were just so helpful and friendly!! Even though my English wasn't the best (and my partner even didn't understand a word) they both were very polite and tried to speak as understandable and explaining as they could, i think. It was the first night in South Africa and they couldn't make it better!!! We also had dinner at their place and I still can remember the delicious taste of the great menu (and the wonderful wine of the Robertson area) we had!! Breakfast was great as well and the Apartment was very cosy...Everything was just perfect!!! Lynne and Paul - THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MichiuAlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

If one likes good wines and visit the region around Robertson, we warmly recommend Lynne and Pauls Cedar Lodge in Robertson.
It is a really very nice and cosy place to stay, with a lot of charme (and two lovely dachshunds).
Lynne and Paul gave us a lot of precious advises (i.e. like where to go best for canoing, which scenic route would better to drive, what kind of equipment is useful, etc.) and helped with the bookings for diverse National-Parks and car rental in a highly professional and most kindly way.
Paul took us to unforgettable wine-tasting-tours - without him we would have been lost in the 44 wineries of the region with a couple of hundred different wines, Ports and Champagnes. Breakfast is excellent and the evenings of BBQ s were marvellous. Paul celebrates his delicious meals with knowledge, passion and taste - we found no better place to eat during our 5 weeks holidays.
If we'll ever again travel in South Africa, for us CL will be a MUST.
Thomas Kunz, Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fit-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Genevoise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zauberwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: die beiden oberen zimmer sind die schönsten
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
7.8 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
7.4 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 25 in Robertson
335 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
0.4 mi away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#13 of 25 in Robertson
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Guest House

Address: 23 Cedar Avenue, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £46 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where the Rest is Best". Upmarket accommodation in a quiet residential area in the Heart of Route 62 (longest wine route in the world). Private tropical garden setting with pool and abundant bird life. Three double rooms and a family suite, all with private entrances and verandas, tea/coffee trays, fans and heaters and wifi internet facilities. Enjoy sumptuous breakfasts as well as evening meals (by prior arrangement) prepared by Chef Paul. We stand by our motto - best beds, best meals and wine - the rest will speak for itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing