We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedar Lodge Guest House
Ranked #12 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We were staying somewhere else in Robertson for the weekend but decided to move and found Cedar Lodge through the tourist information office.

The rooms are very nice, yes they are a little on the smaller side but we had 4 large bags and had no problems! Everything was clean and new looking, no AC but the breeze from a large celing fan in the room keeps you cool (it was almost 40 degrees outside).

The owners put an exceptional amount of effort into making you feel welcome and the breakfast was simply superb. We have stayed in various other places in Robertson in varying price brackets and know where we will go the next time we visit!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2010

If travelling The Garden Route make the first stop at Robertson, it's an easy drive from Cape Town Airport, even off of a long flight. Paul and Lynne Goddard will make you very welcome and Paul can provide a superb braai to help you relax on the first day of your holiday. The golf at Silwerstrand Golf Club is also recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daverawle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Our room with its own entrance and little patio area to sit in was very clean and comfortable. The pool was sparkling and it was lovely to relax in the sun in the very peaceful garden listening to the many birds who fly in, including the weaver birds making their nests. We ate in both nights. Very good food especially the braai with at least 4 different kinds of meat, lovely salads and a very tasty potato bake. Lynne and Paul are very good company and excellent hosts.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank winechickHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at Cedar Lodge for 2 nights during our travel trough South Africa in October 2010.
To say it right in the beginning: Our room was pretty small and it was maybe not the most atmospheric and cosy one we have seen during our travel, but it was clean and functional, so there is actually really nothing to complain about.
However, what made our stay absolutely unforgettable were Paul and Lynne, the owners of Cedar Lodge. They are both incredibly kind and caring and right from the start we had the feeling of staying with - let's say - good friends of our parents.
We booked a package containing accommodation, breakfast, dinner and a winetour with Paul and this is 100% the right thing to do. The food was really great (I think my husband is still dreaming about the "Beef Wellington"...) and the winetour is an absolute MUST if you have a serious interest in wines and want to learn a little bit more about Robertson and the local wine cultivation. Paul took us around for a whole day (I think it was 9 wineries and one distillery) and we had such a great time, since Paul is very knowledgeable and made this day a real experience for us.
Mind you, it is really not about driving around and drinking as much of the free wine as possible, but it is rather about learning and appreciating the different tastes.
To our knowledge this is the only "serious" winetour offered in Robertson (there is one offered by Robertson Backpackers - but I guess the name says it all, right?) and I would certainly recommend it.
Apart from this, Robertson is really worth a travel. The scenery is absolutely stunning and Robertson is a cute little town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieZ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Always a wonderful experience. Paul and Lynne are the best hosts and I always feel as if I am visiting friends. They make you feel special and their home is warm and welcoming.
Robertson is a fantastic place to spend a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southafricanCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Good service, great breakfast and a pleasant overnight stay. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Perfectly suited for an overnight stop. I found the room to be on the small side so if you are planning to stay longer than 1 night, consider requesting the family suite. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaffaInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

This charming guest house is set in a tropical garden with the Langeberg Mountains as a backdrop. Paul and Lynne are exceptionally considerate hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

Cedar Lodge is a little gem.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghScotsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.6 mi away
Merlot Manor Guesthouse
Merlot Manor Guesthouse
#13 of 25 in Robertson
13 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.9 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#11 of 25 in Robertson
15 reviews
7.5 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Guest House

Address: 23 Cedar Avenue, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range: £52 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where the Rest is Best". Upmarket accommodation in a quiet residential area in the Heart of Route 62 (longest wine route in the world). Private tropical garden setting with pool and abundant bird life. Three double rooms and a family suite, all with private entrances and verandas, tea/coffee trays, fans and heaters and wifi internet facilities. Enjoy sumptuous breakfasts as well as evening meals (by prior arrangement) prepared by Chef Paul. We stand by our motto - best beds, best meals and wine - the rest will speak for itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing