We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wine, poor staff”

Springfield Estate Winery
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Robertson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Springfield Estate is a family owned wine estate situated in the Western Cape of Southern Africa. The Bruwers are descended from the French Hugenots and have been farming this land for five generations. At Springfield Estate, we are passionate about our craft. We believe that our name is our most precious possession, and our motto, Made On Honour, applies to every facet of our being. Our wine at Springfield Estate is made from single vineyards, mostly using natural yeast. This allows the character and the individuality of the grape to truly show itself. Due to our natural yeast fermentation, we strive to work as naturally as possible, both in the vineyard and the cellar.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent wine, poor staff”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We really enjoyed the wine tasting and bought far too much here. Try the Method Ancienne and the Wild Yeast. Beautiful location but the staff could be a bit more interested.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna B, Marketing Manager at Springfield Estate Winery, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Malcom

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We are glad that you enjoyed our Chardonnays, and will definitely look into the attentiveness of our staff.
Regards,
Springfield Estate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    23
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing wines and venue”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Had the most amazing time at this wine farm for the Wacky Wine weekend. Excellent wines, you really get what you pay for and more with their more expensive wines.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JasonmFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenbruwer, Marketing Manager at Springfield Estate Winery, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for your great review - we are glad you enjoyed your Springfield Experience and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top class wine”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Incredibly special time at our first visit to Springfield - the wine was incredibly complex and full bodied, with the most amazing scenery, relaxed country atmosphere and friendly staff. Definitely a must-visit in this region!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LangOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenbruwer, Marketing Manager at Springfield Estate Winery, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we are lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the world and love sharing it with our visitors. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, great wine”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

been here a few times but always keep coming back. modern tasting room, lovely setting, darn tasty wine, always friendly and unpretentious service

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna B, Marketing Manager at Springfield Estate Winery, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for coming back again - we are glad you enjoyed the wine and the overall experience. Hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC WINE; KNOWLEDGABLE STAFF”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

In a nutshell, Springfield Wines are incredibly complex and amazing! The staff are so friendly, relaxed and helpful and know their wine! Free wine tasting too! Not a cheap choice of wine but well worth the price!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SammyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna B, Marketing Manager at Springfield Estate Winery, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to post such a great review.
Although Springfield wine might not be the cheapest on the market, we strive to consistently produce wines of only the highest quality. We hope that our wine, as well as the passionate staff, is worth that little bit more in price.
We are glad that you enjoyed your experience - please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Springfield Estate Winery also viewed

Robertson, Western Cape
 
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Springfield Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing