We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We arrived at Rosendal after a pleasant drive from Cape Town. On our way, we stopped for cap classique and wine tasting at Graham Beck (My favorite cap classique!) We had booked the spa at Rosendal for a few treatments when we arrived at 3 in the afternoon and enjoyed the manicure and tinting and shaping of eyebrows. After the spa treatments, we had wine tasting in the cellars, resulting in buying some bottles with us home. We had a marvelous dinner with excellent food and wine. The next day some of us took a jog to a wine farm close by and others had spa treatments and later tanning by the pool. The view from the pool by sunset was breathtaking. The rooms are cozy and modern and the staff is friendly and helpful. I have already schedule my next Rosendal visit for January 2012!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragnhild S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rosendal.
Waking up in the morning to complete tranquility in a beautiful setting is a luxury too seldom experienced in our hectic world.
We will come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn_Berg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed one night and were the only people there. The room was pleasant, the location of the premises lovely.

The food was absolutely dreadful ,Sitting in the rerstaurant we could hear the pinging of the microwave. The restaurant does this place a dreadful disservice.
It was quite spooky being the only people there at night as all the staff went home and left us to it!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandanne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Unlike earlier comments, I must say that our experience in the restaurant was excellent. The food was of excellent quality and the presentation was beautiful. My compliments to the chefs and the friendly service from the waitress.

Too bad there is no TV in the room, and the TV in the lounge had a limited number of channels. It seems that the hotel in general could use a little refurbishment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frk_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We decided to take advantage of an advertised special winter weekend. We thought that the restaurant menu on the website looked good, and my partner really wanted to try some of the spa treatments. We had tried two years previously to book a weekend there, but the guesthouse was almost fully booked and the spa was booked out. It turned out that we were the only guests this weekend – how things seem to have changed for this establishment (a trend that seems to be mirrored in the review ratings over time).

The accommodation (a spa suite) was perfectly adequate, although there was no television or other in-room entertainment. The room was clean, comfortable and well-heated (it was early Spring and the weather was still somewhat chilly). The staff (receptionist, restaurant waitress and spa therapist) were all excellent, both pleasant and competent. The spa itself appears to have been refurbished (judging by critical previous reviews) and my partner was most impressed with the facial treatment she received.

The food however was something else. The starters (one was reheated salmon and camembert spring rolls and the other cold fig, ham and very unripe camembert served on supermarket melba toast) were average at best. The main courses (lamb chops and beef fillet) were a disaster. They had obviously been rapidly defrosted and the beef in particular (ordered medium rare) was like tasteless leather for the outer half and semi-frozen and bloody in the centre.

The wine list too was disappointing. The Jacques Bruere blanc de blanc with which we started sells for just over R100 retail in the nearest town but was marked up to R263, which I thought was perhaps a little over the top. The only reds on the wine list were the Rosendal label. Their Red Rock blend at R199 was pleasant but not special, and I would have appreciated being offered something else from the many estates in the area.

The meal was so disappointing that we couldn't face a repeat the following night, and checked out the next morning, abandoning treatments that were part of the package.

Trying to cater for an extensive a la carte menu out of season (there were no other diners for the weekend) must of course be a difficult task. Surely the restaurant proprietors (who are a different couple from the guest house and spa proprietors) would do far better to provide a limited choice set menu, specially prepared for the meal concerned?

In summary, the spa is recommended, the accommodation is acceptable but not special, and the restaurant is to be avoided (although of course it may be better in busier times).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMK_GBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The location is beautiful with great view of mountains and trees...The staff was nice and friendly although having to carry out own luggage to our room when checking in was not pleasant.

The room was a little small for a "spa suite". It is probably about 30 - 33 sqm, and the bed was about 1 meter from the door. The bed as well as the bath tub were dusty which caused me to touch everywhere to see if there was dust. Not very comfortable!

I wanted to have a massage but they closed at 5 PM.

For dinner, my husband had a South African dish and I had a spaghetti with spinach, mushroom and bacon. His dish was good and tasty whereas mine was bland.

Overall, this hotel could have been better with a better management or the owner's attention. I should have trusted the recent feedback. I booked this hotel because I thought the owner should have rectify those problems in order to attract business. I was clearly wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vietduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

When you approach the Rosendal it looks beautiful surrounded by mountains and vinyards - a peaceful place. We were really looking forward to staying here. Dining room pretty, but needs air con. Unfortunately the room we had was far from what we expected. The bathroom was not as clean as it should have been, with cobwebs, stains in the bath, grubby bath mats and towels (and sheets) with holes in. The outside hot tub next to our room was not in use - it was empty and very dirty (probably for some time). We did bring these matters to the attention of the Manageress who listened to our comments.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clark492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
7.7 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
605 reviews
7.8 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
93 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
637 reviews
12.1 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
392 reviews
7.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Address: Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Price Range: £96 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosendal wine farm has a four star wellness retreat with accommodation, spa and a french country restaurant by day and fine dining by night.The facilities are located on the Rosendal Winery farm just outside Robertson in the Western Cape.We offer five spa suites, three farm rooms and one family room. All with en-suite bathrooms, private patio and facilities you would expect to find in a four star establishment.The Thervine-focued spa has three separate treatment rooms with qualified spa therapists. We specialize in treatments based on the skin and pit of a wine grapes, high in antioxidants.The property also hold a fantastic rim-flow swimming pool with bar service steam room, a wine tasting area, a private tasting area in the cellar on request of staying guests.Our farm offer wine tasting for free from our wide range of red and white wines. Together with Lindt we also offer a wine and chocolate tasting. The restaurant by David Godin, a michelin awarded chef, serve french inspired country food. Lunches are lighter while the restaurant are transferred into fine dining by night. Our signature 5 course meal with wine pairing is a high light for most visitors.Activities in the area include more than 50 wine farms in the area, mountain biking, game drives, river cruise, art and craft and exciting cuisine. The farm got new management and chef in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing