We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
252
133
43
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
133
43
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa treatmentswine tastingromantic packageunderfloor heatingcape townfull body massagepool areagreat wineperfect placewine routeoff the beaten trackrobertson areasecond visita lovely staytinapedicurebath
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent for a night at this wonderful boutique wine estate away from the buzzing city life style as a stop along to the Garden Route. It is as stunning as it looks on the pics and the warmth we received as you park you car in front of the building assured us that we have come to the right place. Their Spa treatments are out of the ordinary, the masseuse knows her job. They have a big range of wine and they make you feel you at home at all times. Their bedroom are comfortable with a centre bathtub, since it's surrounded by mountains, it becomes cold in winter and spring at night, it's the 1st 4* place I have been to that have a electric blanket, oil heater, wall mounted heater and under floor heating, what else could you u ask for really :-). Food is wonderful also. I'll recommend anyone who needs a break, honeymooners, and wine lovers as there's lots of wine estates within short driving distances. To get a packages for here I can be contacted via www.instyletravel.co.za as I'm a travel agent and quality comes first for clients

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Yobanesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very nice place for a weekend break. We went during winter cold spell. Rooms are tastefully decorated but you should know they are rustic: No television, no phone, no air con, cement floors, small, well behaved spiders in shower. Very clean. The staff is very likeable, friendly and attentive. Allan P is correct: Annelie is a sweetheart. The food was good and well presented. The restaurant is small and cosy and inviting. The room was a little (actually very) cold at this time of year (August). The smallish fin heater, wall pad, and heated blanket (inexplicably extending half way across the bed (you could view this as romantic or a bad toss to lose!) battled the cold, but weren't entirely successful.
I think that the professional pictures I had seen (and reports) create a bit of an unrealistic expectation - the pool and pond beyond are picturesque but small (lots of birds though), the view is nice but average for this area etc. This is a nice place with very good staff. A good choice for a weekend break and base to explore the surrounding area. However, it is not an unbelievable, awesome, wow kind of place, and services are limited.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 have best views. Rooms 4 and 5 share a hot water cylinder, so you are a bit dependant on how clean (or dirty) your neighbours are.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you for kind words of Rosendal. You surely arrived mid-winter here; we as everyone else in the Cape should all learn that winter get cold - and colder than we would like to admit! So extending heating for the rooms is a real issue for us these days.

We do appreciate the feedback of Rosendal being a nice place with great staff. I think the during the summer months we often transform into a haven when it comes to views and atmosphere - so I welcome you back to visit us later in the year.

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Beautiful, clean and simply decorated rooms and really wonderful service from the hotel staff and great food at the restaurant. Lovely quiet area with everything you need to fully relax. And great wine too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Scott_Ferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Scott,

Thank you for kind words of Rosendal. It is truly inspiring for us to see that our guests enjoy our service and location. We hope to see you soon again, or maybe we could help you with some wine delivered straight to your door?

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Rosendal is in a lovely location up in the vineyards with stunning views of the mountains around Robertson.

The room was very nice, open plan bathroom and doors opened onto a patio with lovely views. The swimming pool looked gorgeous but too cold at this time of year! Annalies gave great tips for what to do in Robertson and we really enjoyed our lunchtime boat trip from Viljoensdrift.

We had our evening meals there both nights and the food was really excellent. William provided great service and got the balance just right between being there when needed but not too much, which must have been difficult as we were the only guests.

The steam room was a great facility to have - definitely a good place to come to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you so much for the review and kind words for Rosendal and its staff. We hope to see you soon again here at the tip of Africa!

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The staff were wonderful. Many thanks to Annalie, she is a sweetheart. The food was very good and well served. The rooms were a little "cold", The spa therapy was excellent as well. Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you so much for the review and kind words for Rosendal and its staff. Our winters are cold from time to time, and its truly a challenge for us to keep up the heating during night, thought we do try our best ! I hope to be able to welcome you back during summer, and you can feel the heat and relaxed atmosphere this brings with.

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews