We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil with great food & spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tranquil with great food & spa”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed there 2 nights, I think we were slightly young for this type of place though. In short:

The food
The dinner here was amazing - definitely some of the best food I have ever had. The breakfast... not so much. The banana bread was severely under-cooked, the bacon is bad, and the ham is simply sandwich ham you buy at PnP.
Service was quite slow as well, I think its maybe part of the atmosphere/setting. The wine was very good.

The room
Huge room with a very nice modern shower, bathtub and double basin. Bed was a bit small (lengthways), and uncomfortable, so were our pillows. The blinds on the front door window was useless - we had to hang a bath robe over it. The biggest problem was noise, there are no tv's in the rooms for a reason... you can hear everything - from toilet flushes to people speaking, opening the toilet\shower doors...not great, stayed 2 nights and we didn't sleep well at all.
The tea also didn't get replenished every day, but the rusks were.

The view is good, but not great. It overlooks a pond with reeds and a lot of colourful birds. There is a vineyard around but its far to the left of the resort.
The pool is nice but it is at a typical cape temperature so it feels a bit useless. The spa was excellent and the prices are quite good. They have a nice steam room as well.

The personalised service is great, it was like having a PA, and goes a long way to making up for the other shortfalls.

Basically, if its a super tranquil simple stay you want, with great food,wine and spa facility - then this place is for you. If you like some things in your room like quietness and a nice bed, be warned.

Fix the room, breakfast issues and this place would be excellent in my books.

Room Tip: Get a room in a corner - you will have only 1 neighbour making noise then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    105
    36
    16
    10
See reviews for
60
248
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money with friendly and efficient staff and outstanding culinary experience. The setting is tranquil and a country style. The Spa is well appointed and therapists are well trainrd an pleasant. Rosendal merlot was a great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent for a night at this wonderful boutique wine estate away from the buzzing city life style as a stop along to the Garden Route. It is as stunning as it looks on the pics and the warmth we received as you park you car in front of the building assured us that we have come to the right place. Their Spa treatments are out of the ordinary, the masseuse knows her job. They have a big range of wine and they make you feel you at home at all times. Their bedroom are comfortable with a centre bathtub, since it's surrounded by mountains, it becomes cold in winter and spring at night, it's the 1st 4* place I have been to that have a electric blanket, oil heater, wall mounted heater and under floor heating, what else could you u ask for really :-). Food is wonderful also. I'll recommend anyone who needs a break, honeymooners, and wine lovers as there's lots of wine estates within short driving distances. To get a packages for here I can be contacted via www.instyletravel.co.za as I'm a travel agent and quality comes first for clients

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yobanesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very nice place for a weekend break. We went during winter cold spell. Rooms are tastefully decorated but you should know they are rustic: No television, no phone, no air con, cement floors, small, well behaved spiders in shower. Very clean. The staff is very likeable, friendly and attentive. Allan P is correct: Annelie is a sweetheart. The food was good and well presented. The restaurant is small and cosy and inviting. The room was a little (actually very) cold at this time of year (August). The smallish fin heater, wall pad, and heated blanket (inexplicably extending half way across the bed (you could view this as romantic or a bad toss to lose!) battled the cold, but weren't entirely successful.
I think that the professional pictures I had seen (and reports) create a bit of an unrealistic expectation - the pool and pond beyond are picturesque but small (lots of birds though), the view is nice but average for this area etc. This is a nice place with very good staff. A good choice for a weekend break and base to explore the surrounding area. However, it is not an unbelievable, awesome, wow kind of place, and services are limited.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 have best views. Rooms 4 and 5 share a hot water cylinder, so you are a bit dependant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for kind words of Rosendal. You surely arrived mid-winter here; we as everyone else in the Cape should all learn that winter get cold - and colder than we would like to admit! So extending heating for the rooms is a real issue for us these days.

We do appreciate the feedback of Rosendal being a nice place with great staff. I think the during the summer months we often transform into a haven when it comes to views and atmosphere - so I welcome you back to visit us later in the year.

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Beautiful, clean and simply decorated rooms and really wonderful service from the hotel staff and great food at the restaurant. Lovely quiet area with everything you need to fully relax. And great wine too!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Ferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you for kind words of Rosendal. It is truly inspiring for us to see that our guests enjoy our service and location. We hope to see you soon again, or maybe we could help you with some wine delivered straight to your door?

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Rosendal is in a lovely location up in the vineyards with stunning views of the mountains around Robertson.

The room was very nice, open plan bathroom and doors opened onto a patio with lovely views. The swimming pool looked gorgeous but too cold at this time of year! Annalies gave great tips for what to do in Robertson and we really enjoyed our lunchtime boat trip from Viljoensdrift.

We had our evening meals there both nights and the food was really excellent. William provided great service and got the balance just right between being there when needed but not too much, which must have been difficult as we were the only guests.

The steam room was a great facility to have - definitely a good place to come to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRB_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much for the review and kind words for Rosendal and its staff. We hope to see you soon again here at the tip of Africa!

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The staff were wonderful. Many thanks to Annalie, she is a sweetheart. The food was very good and well served. The rooms were a little "cold", The spa therapy was excellent as well. Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much for the review and kind words for Rosendal and its staff. Our winters are cold from time to time, and its truly a challenge for us to keep up the heating during night, thought we do try our best ! I hope to be able to welcome you back during summer, and you can feel the heat and relaxed atmosphere this brings with.

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
7.7 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
12.1 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
3.9 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.9 mi away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#13 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Property: Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Address: Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosendal wine farm has a four star wellness retreat with accommodation, spa and a french country restaurant by day and fine dining by night.The facilities are located on the Rosendal Winery farm just outside Robertson in the Western Cape.We offer five spa suites, three farm rooms and one family room. All with en-suite bathrooms, private patio and facilities you would expect to find in a four star establishment.The Thervine-focued spa has three separate treatment rooms with qualified spa therapists. We specialize in treatments based on the skin and pit of a wine grapes, high in antioxidants.The property also hold a fantastic rim-flow swimming pool with bar service steam room, a wine tasting area, a private tasting area in the cellar on request of staying guests.Our farm offer wine tasting for free from our wide range of red and white wines. Together with Lindt we also offer a wine and chocolate tasting. The restaurant by David Godin, a michelin awarded chef, serve french inspired country food. Lunches are lighter while the restaurant are transferred into fine dining by night. Our signature 5 course meal with wine pairing is a high light for most visitors.Activities in the area include more than 50 wine farms in the area, mountain biking, game drives, river cruise, art and craft and exciting cuisine. The farm got new management and chef in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing