We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in the countryside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little gem in the countryside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

When the access road from Highway 60 is completed, this will be a very easy place to get to. Until then, call ahead for directions and you will be well rewarded. We had a very pleasant 2 nights stay and liked the spacious room, comfortable bed, outside space, pool and views in a very peaceful location. Service and food were of a high standard. I think the access issues have had an impact on occupancy, which is a shame. We liked the spa, which offered a good range of treatments. and excellent value. We highly recommend Rosendal as a place to stay in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Alisonandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    100
    33
    16
    10
See reviews for
56
234
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you want to spoil yourself with 5star service and treatment this is the place to go. Money well worth spent. In the country side, peaceful and beautiful. Rooms have been updated, new manager and chef, they make this place work like a charm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I spent a night at Rosendal and everything, from the the moment we arrived to the way our room was set up and even the serving of the food, had a sense of peace about it. The staff were lovely and always willing to help. The surroundings are incredibly peaceful. My wife is a beauty therapist and she commented on how great their spa treaments were and how reasonably priced they are. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room number 5 is furthest away from the restaurant area and had a particular calm about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avdh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I've stayed at Rosendal many times and had seen it grow a little tired and weary. However, this year the owners had clearly invested in updating the rooms and the new manager - Annelie - and her husband the chef are great assets to Rosendal. We had a lovely stay and literally the only downside I can still find is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. However, part of the charm of Rosendal is the rustic feel of the place, tucked away in such a beautiful valley, so having mod cons such as TVs or airconditioning really isn't top of your mind. Can't wait to be back there soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Floozette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My sister and I had a wonderful night at Rosendal. Our room looked out onto a field of very contented cows which was exceptionally peaceful. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was most delicious.... egg, bacon, tomato and mushrooms after a lovely fruit salad. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and they looked after us superbly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had an amazing time at Rosendal. We stayed 3 nights and loved every second of it.
We were a bit apprehensive when we got there and saw no TV, however with the restaurant, spa and a lovely pool area we did not miss watching TV at all.
The location is great if you like wine tasting and this will keep you busy during the day.
I would highly recommend Rosendal to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night on a trip up the wine route. Beautiful and relaxing location and setting, the rooms were in very good taste. Had massage, wine tasting, dinner and breakfast. The dinner was certainly the best meal of our trip, and we ate at some rather nice places! The dishes were elegant and obviously very carefully thought out. Enjoyed the wine and massage too, brought a couple of bottles home. Would definitely stay here again, probably for 2 or 3 days next time as apparently you can rent bikes from just down the road and would be a great place for some riding.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0liver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
7.7 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
12.1 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
3.9 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.8 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 24 in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Property: Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Address: Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosendal wine farm has a four star wellness retreat with accommodation, spa and a french country restaurant by day and fine dining by night.The facilities are located on the Rosendal Winery farm just outside Robertson in the Western Cape.We offer five spa suites, three farm rooms and one family room. All with en-suite bathrooms, private patio and facilities you would expect to find in a four star establishment.The Thervine-focued spa has three separate treatment rooms with qualified spa therapists. We specialize in treatments based on the skin and pit of a wine grapes, high in antioxidants.The property also hold a fantastic rim-flow swimming pool with bar service steam room, a wine tasting area, a private tasting area in the cellar on request of staying guests.Our farm offer wine tasting for free from our wide range of red and white wines. Together with Lindt we also offer a wine and chocolate tasting. The restaurant by David Godin, a michelin awarded chef, serve french inspired country food. Lunches are lighter while the restaurant are transferred into fine dining by night. Our signature 5 course meal with wine pairing is a high light for most visitors.Activities in the area include more than 50 wine farms in the area, mountain biking, game drives, river cruise, art and craft and exciting cuisine. The farm got new management and chef in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing